wazua Wed, Jan 8, 2025

Quick Facts Ghana Real Estate
young
#1 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 6:37:09 PM

You have been a member since:: 6/20/2007
. Why Purchase Real Estate Property In Ghana ?

• If you find yourself in the diaspora,or if you are in the foreign land outside, Ghana, and you are considering an investment in a real estate property in Ghana, then you will find this article interesting.

• Africa is the new economic investment destination and Ghana is one of the key major players in this regard as property investors are jostling for space to register their presence in the nation’s real estate sector. The country, Ghana, offers several compelling reasons why any prospective investor would want to purchase a real estate property in Ghana. Today, there are numerous people from all walks of life, including countries such as the United States Of America, United Kingdom, the Middle East, South Africa, and neighboring countries from Nigeria, La Cote Ivoire, Togo, etc looking to purchase properties in Ghana's prime cities - Accra, Tema, Kumasi and Takoradi for residential and commercial purposes. The reason behind such growing interest in the acquisition of landed properties in Ghana is not far fetched.

• Ghana is one of the visibly prominent areas on the African continent. It is usually considered the gateway to the West African Sub region .The city has a rich diverse resource base, with one of the highest Gross Product per capita in Africa. It remains one of the economically sound countries on the African continent, with a lot of attraction for both domestic and international investors.The tourism potential of the country is also enormous, and is one of the largest income earners for the government of the day.

• The financial sector has also witnessed a lot of deep transformation boosted by the government’s policies to partner the private sector through the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) initiative, Ghana’s real estate sector is booming, giving investors value for their money. The metamorphosis in this sector has culminated in the liberalization of the financial sector expanding their portfolio managements. Unlike before, a lot more banking and non banking financial institutions are offering more credit to the private sector. This has contributed to the fast pace in the private sector growth.

• The education sector is also experiencing a jump in its transformation. In Ghana, today, there are more quality schools for people from all walks of life. Universities continue to increase in numbers and more quality junior high and senior high schools continue to emerge. Recently. Ghana has enjoyed the high patronage of their anglophone neighbors into their schools, many thanks to their stable educational system as well as a serene political enviroment.

Many Nigerian investors have relocated to Ghana, no thanks to the unstable power supply in Nigeria over the years, sound and continuity in government policies, adequate security and aggressive development of critical infrastructure by its government.

Most Nigerian industries are operating branches in Ghana, Nigerian banks such as GTB, UBA and ZENITH have already gounded themselves there, and where these institutions and company go, they will definitely require accommodation not only or themslves but for their workers. So this gives opportunity for real estate investors and developers to boost their trade.

The fact that there are currently no restrictions on non-Ghanians to own landed property makes it even more attractive, this is because the government is committed to promoting maximum inward foreign direct investment, and is working with a body called the Ghana Real Estate Developers Association to restructure the entire property sector in the country. Choice areas for real estate investments in Accra include East Legon, North Ridge, Kanda, Airport residential area, Cantonments, West Legons (Westlands), these areas can be safely compared to areas in Lagos like the Ikeja GRA, Anthony Village, choice areas of Surulere, Ikoyi, VI and upper Lekki areas. The return on investment here is very high. Rental income in these areas range from $1,000 to $10,000 per month depending on the type of accomodation. Land values range from $100,000 upwards depending on the areas.
Other areas on the ouskirts include East Legon extension (santoe hills)/ Adjingano, Oyibi, Dodowa, Labone, Medina, Tesano, Dzorwulu etc. Here the land values are much cheaper.

The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
PKoli
#2 Posted : Friday, July 13, 2012 7:07:32 PM

@Young,

Many thanks for sharing info on investments opportunities of the African new kid on the block, Ghana.

Last year, you had given some indicative prices of land. I am curious to know if there has been any signifcant upsurge of land parcels since.
young
#3 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 1:40:37 AM

Mzee Pkoli,

Land prices are dynamic and changes fast so the prices you knew a year ago wound have appreciated at least 25%.
The problem in Accra is that in the real sense Ghana is for sale. This is because an average Ghananian cannot afford the "prohibitive" prices while foreigners find it very cheap.

The current plots I have taken positions is in Millenium City Kasoa, an Accra suburb that is 1 hour drive from central Accra. I can compare it with your Kitengela.

The going prices for serviced plots is 6,200 Ghana Cedis (12 months plan) or 5,000 Ghana Cedis outright purchase. It is a dash because it translates to 261,000 ksh (installment) or 210,000
ksh outright for a 80 X 100 feet plot!!!

Check out

www.milleniumcitygh.com

With this agent you are in safe hands as the promoting company 21st Century Contruction limited
is a member of GREDA (Ghana Real Estate Development Association), the ombusman of Ghana estate developers.

The cheapest developed 2 bedroom bungalow is USD 30,000 that is about 2.5 Million Ksh, which is still a dash (very cheap) when compared to Nigeria or Kenya. 2.5 million ksh can only fetch you an eigth quarter plot in a good location in Kitengela !!!

Regards
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
PKoli
#4 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 9:05:29 AM

young wrote:
Mzee Pkoli,

Land prices are dynamic and changes fast so the prices you knew a year ago wound have appreciated at least 25%.
The problem in Accra is that in the real sense Ghana is for sale. This is because an average Ghananian cannot afford the "prohibitive" prices while foreigners find it very cheap.

The current plots I have taken positions is in Millenium City Kasoa, an Accra suburb that is 1 hour drive from central Accra. I can compare it with your Kitengela.

The going prices for serviced plots is 6,200 Ghana Cedis (12 months plan) or 5,000 Ghana Cedis outright purchase. It is a dash because it translates to 261,000 ksh (installment) or 210,000
ksh outright for a 80 X 100 feet plot!!!

Check out

www.milleniumcitygh.com

With this agent you are in safe hands as the promoting company 21st Century Contruction limited
is a member of GREDA (Ghana Real Estate Development Association), the ombusman of Ghana estate developers.

The cheapest developed 2 bedroom bungalow is USD 30,000 that is about 2.5 Million Ksh, which is still a dash (very cheap) when compared to Nigeria or Kenya. 2.5 million ksh can only fetch you an eigth quarter plot in a good location in Kitengela !!!

Regards

Many thanks, this is exciting indeed, I will check the website.
Bachuma Gate
#5 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 9:38:18 AM

young wrote:
Mzee Pkoli,

Regards

YOUNG - What rent would it fetch and whats the rental tax there.
DOH
Horton
#6 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 9:42:49 AM

Im in Accra at the moment. Theres this place labeach towers. (Labadi beach) which isn't exactly cheap. 3 br on the beach going for 1.3-2m USD

I ubderstand from Kenyan expats here that The problem with plot here is that there are communal land and so a chief represents the ownership and if u buy a plot, there ewill be various people u have to buy from as several people claim ownership.
young
#7 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 10:11:23 AM

Horton wrote:
Im in Accra at the moment. Theres this place labeach towers. (Labadi beach) which isn't exactly cheap. 3 br on the beach going for 1.3-2m USD

I ubderstand from Kenyan expats here that The problem with plot here is that there are communal land and so a chief represents the ownership and if u buy a plot, there ewill be various people u have to buy from as several people claim ownership.

(1) To take you home can yoi compsre plots in westlands / upperhill with that of Kitengela or Thika ?

I was referring to emerging safe and promising suburbs often referred to as NEW FRONTIERS not the heart of Accra city.
Read through my submission again,

(2) Your Kenyan friend in Accra is a typical East African, he relied on hearsay while in Accra and he wants to buy from locals who sale principally stool land and take it from you therafter.
Again you did not read through my post well.
You can see I recommended that you should buy into an ORGANISED estate from reputable estate firms who are members of GREDA.

If I am doing real estare biz in Kenya , you should expect me to do transact business with Hassconsult or Villacare not the numerous penny bob companies or individuals. This is a basic safeguard so as not to be penny wise pound foolish. In real estate matters con men around everywhere, so you have to take basic precsution.

Just for your info let me mention just a few reputable GREDA certified real estate developers in Ghana :-

www.redrowghana.com
www.devtraco.com.gh
www.comethomesgh.biz
www.milleniumcitygh.com
www.noblerealtyghana.com

Comet is listed in Ghana stock exchange.

As a non resident foreigner if you you do any real estate transaction with them you can go to sleep I tell you.
young
#8 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 10:20:15 AM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
young wrote:
Mzee Pkoli,

Regards

YOUNG - What rent would it fetch and whats the rental tax there.

- No rental tax in Ghana
- The Rental income is 5 - 10 percent annually but that translates to USD 125 per month. There are two principal benefits here :-

(i) You earn rental income in USD that is a more stable currency.

(ii) The location is just opening up in terms of infrastructutre so the value of your property and invariably rental income will EXPLODE in the near term (5 years).
Bachuma Gate
#9 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 11:59:06 AM

Young - The info you have provided is good for us investors who wish to invest wide although i have checked the average rate of return in kenya for rent is between 4% to 7%. The plus for Ghana is the tax thing.

I probably would want to invest there to diversify but not for spectacular income given the above example.

DOH
Tokyo
#10 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 1:15:00 PM

Mzee Young,
Thanks very much. The information you shared are indeed helpful especially to those intending to diversify investments.
However , there few queries we need to consider ;
- I have met a number of Ghanaians in diaspora . Majority seems not very enthuasistic , interested or involved. Considering their financial and information advantage compared to those back in Ghana. I guess if real estate is optimistic that group should really be involved.
- Ghana has kind of funny land ownership I once heard. You lack sole ownership and rights.That is even if you buy, the local community has kind of considerable influence. Not sure to what extent.
- many Kenyans have a tendancy to buy idle plots to develop or sell later . In Ghana and cameroon , there is many issues of others settling on your land and eviction not very easy.
-unless you target prime areas like Karen, kileleshwa sought locations, you might have many difficulties if thinking of cheaper areas like kitengela.etc. this is because your target market should be high income category. Unless maybe tenants -landlord issues don't exist. That avoids flying to Accra from Nairobi to demand your $100 of rent arrears.

Will appreciate your inputs regarding above concerns
work to prosper
Horton
#11 Posted : Saturday, July 14, 2012 4:14:04 PM

Tokyo wrote:
Mzee Young,
Thanks very much. The information you shared are indeed helpful especially to those intending to diversify investments.
- I have met a number of Ghanaians in diaspora . Majority seems not very enthuasistic , interested or involved. Considering their financial and information advantage compared to those back in Ghana. I guess if real estate is optimistic that group should really be involved.
- Ghana has kind of funny land ownership I once heard. You lack sole ownership and rights.That is even if you buy, the local community has kind of considerable influence. Not sure to what extent.
- many Kenyans have a tendancy to buy idle plots to develop or sell later . In Ghana and cameroon , there is many issues of others settling on your land and eviction not very easy.
-unless you target prime areas like Karen, kileleshwa sought locations, you might have many difficulties if thinking of cheaper areas like kitengela.etc. this is because your target market should be high income category. Unless maybe tenants -landlord issues don't exist. That avoids flying to Accra from Nairobi to demand your $100 of rent arrears.

Good post Young/Tokyo. (Medase ...Mzee Young)smile

I agree, it's hard enough getting rent from Nairobi's low end, let alone in Ghana. You could give it to an agent but then again....

Maybe you could buy to flip as Ghana's economy was up 20% last year.

Or stick closer to home. Good offers in Kenya thanks to high interest rates..
young
#12 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 11:52:09 AM

Tokyo wrote:
Mzee Young,

@Bwana Tokyo

Please read through the lines again because I have said it all from GREDA to buying into organised estate to the substantiated fact that there is no restrictions to non Ghananians owning real estate etc etc.

If you need further clarification contact the recommended developers or better still take the advice of @Horton ie stick to your environment.
I was not writing theories or hearsay , rather I was sharing from my practical experience
as a non resident non Ghananian investor in emerging and promising Ghana real estate with the deep awakening that non africans like chinese and
americans etc are already taking positions.
My next plot neighbour is a mexican in Millenium city Kasoa, he even loaded his experience in Youtube captioned

White Man Lands in Kasoa

www.youtube.com/watch?v=V1Bkg_rnTG4

Regards
Bachuma Gate
#13 Posted : Monday, July 16, 2012 7:56:40 PM

Young have you tried to determine the rate of property of appreciation generally given that their economy is booming. I know Tullow has also discovered loads of oil there.

Secondly, I am told that aluminium window frames are the prefered window frames and that they are even done by Jua kali people there in plenty unlike Kenya where only big companies like Booth manufactures are manufacturing them. Again I am made to understand that this is because of the various metals that are mined there. Prices are comparable to the our steel casement windows. Given there appealing appearance, I can try to market them here.

Just check around when you have time and get me contacts/websites on some of the mid size firms. I wont mind considering this biz just like we now have Decra tiles coming in.

Thanks
DOH
young
#14 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 3:32:50 PM

Bachuma Gate wrote:
Young have you tried to determine the rate of property of appreciation generally given that their economy is booming. I know Tullow has also discovered loads of oil there.

Secondly, I am told that aluminium window frames are the prefered window frames and that they are even done by Jua kali people there in plenty unlike Kenya where only big companies like Booth manufactures are manufacturing them. Again I am made to understand that this is because of the various metals that are mined there. Prices are comparable to the our steel casement windows. Given there appealing appearance, I can try to market them here.

Just check around when you have time and get me contacts/websites on some of the mid size firms. I wont mind considering this biz just like we now have Decra tiles coming in.

Thanks

Your view is correct but this is a tall dream. The
freight cost will erode all your expected profits because inter african trade is still a problem due to lack of infrastructure.
Until we have a rail line from Lamu to Addis
to CAR (Central African Republic) to Cameroon To Lagos
to Accra, please forget this idea.

The shipping companies as per international Maritime policy will first berth in their home country before the destination. An Indian ship liner from Accra carrying your goods for example will first berth in Bombay before proceeding to Mombassa so you can imagin the cost of shipping for the round trip. Even from Mombassa to Nairobi to haul goods there is still a big cost as the only affordable means of transport is by road.

To feed your eyes further on ghana general interest sites take a look at

www.ghanaweb.com

www.modernghana.com
Murenju
#15 Posted : Friday, July 20, 2012 11:13:09 PM

young wrote:
. Why Purchase Real Estate Property In Ghana ?

• If you find yourself in the diaspora,or if you are in the foreign land outside, Ghana, and you are considering an investment in a real estate property in Ghana, then you will find this article interesting.

• Africa is the new economic investment destination and Ghana is one of the key major players in this regard as property investors are jostling for space to register their presence in the nation’s real estate sector. The country, Ghana, offers several compelling reasons why any prospective investor would want to purchase a real estate property in Ghana. Today, there are numerous people from all walks of life, including countries such as the United States Of America, United Kingdom, the Middle East, South Africa, and neighboring countries from Nigeria, La Cote Ivoire, Togo, etc looking to purchase properties in Ghana's prime cities - Accra, Tema, Kumasi and Takoradi for residential and commercial purposes. The reason behind such growing interest in the acquisition of landed properties in Ghana is not far fetched.

• Ghana is one of the visibly prominent areas on the African continent. It is usually considered the gateway to the West African Sub region .The city has a rich diverse resource base, with one of the highest Gross Product per capita in Africa. It remains one of the economically sound countries on the African continent, with a lot of attraction for both domestic and international investors.The tourism potential of the country is also enormous, and is one of the largest income earners for the government of the day.

• The financial sector has also witnessed a lot of deep transformation boosted by the government’s policies to partner the private sector through the Public-Private Partnership (PPP) initiative, Ghana’s real estate sector is booming, giving investors value for their money. The metamorphosis in this sector has culminated in the liberalization of the financial sector expanding their portfolio managements. Unlike before, a lot more banking and non banking financial institutions are offering more credit to the private sector. This has contributed to the fast pace in the private sector growth.

• The education sector is also experiencing a jump in its transformation. In Ghana, today, there are more quality schools for people from all walks of life. Universities continue to increase in numbers and more quality junior high and senior high schools continue to emerge. Recently. Ghana has enjoyed the high patronage of their anglophone neighbors into their schools, many thanks to their stable educational system as well as a serene political enviroment.

Many Nigerian investors have relocated to Ghana, no thanks to the unstable power supply in Nigeria over the years, sound and continuity in government policies, adequate security and aggressive development of critical infrastructure by its government.

Most Nigerian industries are operating branches in Ghana, Nigerian banks such as GTB, UBA and ZENITH have already gounded themselves there, and where these institutions and company go, they will definitely require accommodation not only or themslves but for their workers. So this gives opportunity for real estate investors and developers to boost their trade.

The fact that there are currently no restrictions on non-Ghanians to own landed property makes it even more attractive, this is because the government is committed to promoting maximum inward foreign direct investment, and is working with a body called the Ghana Real Estate Developers Association to restructure the entire property sector in the country. Choice areas for real estate investments in Accra include East Legon, North Ridge, Kanda, Airport residential area, Cantonments, West Legons (Westlands), these areas can be safely compared to areas in Lagos like the Ikeja GRA, Anthony Village, choice areas of Surulere, Ikoyi, VI and upper Lekki areas. The return on investment here is very high. Rental income in these areas range from $1,000 to $10,000 per month depending on the type of accomodation. Land values range from $100,000 upwards depending on the areas.
Other areas on the ouskirts include East Legon extension (santoe hills)/ Adjingano, Oyibi, Dodowa, Labone, Medina, Tesano, Dzorwulu etc. Here the land values are much cheaper.

I was in Ghana until Thursday and I thought it was a great place to invest. Kenyans of means should try but those of modest means should invest within the country and in the EA region. Happy hunting in the land of Akwaaba.
Knock hard and it will be opened. Ask and you will be answered. Seek and you shall find.
Rapudox
#16 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 1:36:26 PM

This thread is old, but i felt urged to give my input. I am a Kenyan who has bought land in GH. My ghanian relatives have real est. investments, so, i like, Young, have some practical experience. The 6 plots i bought at ca 16K$ in 2010 are valued at 24K$ today. It is actually can build a house for 20K$ in a prime area like Tema & rent it out for 300-400$ monthly.

THose GREDA firms mentioned by Young like Redrow, Devtraco etc are really professional & reliable. Having been in Ghana many times, i can confirm Young's assertion, that the chinese & other foreigners are positioning themselves.As a foreigner buying land, your best surest options are the GrEDA companies. And yes, buying from private individuals is a very very risky venture due to those communal laws. Also the risk of somebody settling on your plot & you being unable to evict them is real, but almost only exists on privately bought plots and not on company plots. Meaning, if you buy a plot from say, Redrow, with whom i have had interactions, then you can sit back & relax.

I think diasporan Ghanians of the old generation are still stuck with presumptions of those communal laws, which many might have bad experiences with. This GREDA-type investment Trend is a relatively new one & its expanding rapidly. Ghanians, i must say, are also not as "hyperpatriotic" as Kenyans and many are comfortable with their mostly successful lives oversees. Therefore, i would understand the lack of enthusiasm. On the other hand, talk to any 20-35 yr old Ghanian oversees & you will note the changing tune.

Ghana is a pretty interesting place. It has a huge successful wealthy diasporan community all over the world, as well as a lot of monied folk back home...but you just never see it. The wealth in Ghana is not as omnipresent as it is in Kenya. They have only one mall compared to NBI, but i would for sure bet that Kenya has more poor people going hungry than in Ghana & Ghana has more Homeowners in relation to Kenya.
You just cant stress enough, the economic potential of Ghana. A slight reform of the communal land laws would unleash explosive growth, on the real estate market, which is already doing very well. Tourism, hasnt even started yet in Ghana. The whole coastal region of sandy clean beaches from Accra-Tema-Prampram-Ada-Keta with good roads, electricity & piped water are still waiting for their time of opportunity. And a flight from central europe to Accra takes about 6-7hrs. All these, combined with the stable politics, diasporan wealth & know-how as well as the natural resources...Ghana is a country to watch very very closely in West Africa.

I think Ghana is in "real estate terms" where Kenya was at the turn of the century, with the major advantage of the things above esp. stable Politics and a very good image.This country is imho about to take off, and when it does..it may just be a little too late for all those potential real estate investors who are still weighing their options.
kripp
#17 Posted : Friday, September 14, 2012 8:07:04 PM

@Rapudox
I disagree with you regarding the "clean beaches". How can they be clean when Accra empties its sewer into the ocean and along the rest of the long coastline the rural folk relieve themselves on the beach?
Rapudox
#18 Posted : Sunday, September 16, 2012 11:22:49 PM

@Kripp, true Accra beach isnt that clean & yes, there are still sanitation issues in rural areas. These are petty variables that can be changed. You need to visit Prampram & Ada, then you will realize that you would require human waste from all of Ghana in order make those beaches filthy. Kenyan beaches dont have these issues coz of the massive investments/hotels along the coast..
young
#19 Posted : Wednesday, October 03, 2012 8:46:33 PM

Millenium City Kasoa Ghana Latest.

March 2012

Plot 5,200 Ghana Cedis or USD 2,600
2 Bedroom Bungalow USD 29,000

MAY 2012
Plot 6,000 Ghana Cedis or USD 3,000
2 Bedroom Bungalow USD 35,000

OCTOBER 2012

Plot 8,000 Ghana Cedis or 4,000USD
2 Bedroom Bungalow USD 40,000

More Info :-

www.milleniumcitygh.com

NOTE:- This not an invitation to buy but an illustration of typical real estate returns in Ghana
young
#20 Posted : Friday, October 19, 2012 1:15:45 AM

Ghana’s real estate investment is drawing millions of dollars into the Ghanaian economy, thereby filling in the infrastructure deficit and providing better prospects for growth.

Supply keeps pace with demands of a burgeoning white collar work force.

As Ghana’s economic growth continues at break-neck speed – fuelled by surging output in the mining and nascent upstream oil industries – the outlook for the office market in Accra is looking extremely bright, according to property management group Broll’s Q2 Office Barometer for Ghana.

Over the past decade, a rise in foreign investment and an expanded white collar workforce has led to a significant increase in the supply of new office space in Accra. Net rentals vary between US$6 and US$36 per m² per month, while tenant service charges range from 10% to 20% of going rates. Lengths of leases run between two and three years.

Office nodes
The effect of increased traffic congestion in the CBD of Accra is compelling many companies to relocate to its periphery, in areas such as West Ridge and Airport, Spintex Road and Adabraka.

CBD
The CBD, covering the Accra Central, Tudu and High Street areas, is home to most financial institutions, large department stores and corporate head offices.

West Ridge
West Ridge, once the first choice of residential area, has metamorphosed into a commercial node. It is now a hub of office properties and the financial district that has come to be known as ‘the Wall Street’ of Accra. Along the major roads – Independence Avenue especially – several notable developments and refurbishments of mid- to high-rise office space are under way or have recently been completed.

Airport City
Airport City is a prime mixed-use area with a variety of high-rise buildings and a high occupancy rate. It is strategically positioned with easy access to Accra, the CBD and Tema, and is likely to be a target area for the relocation of many businesses. The most recently completed high-rise building is Phase II of Manet Towers, with new buildings coming online including Icon House, One Airport Square and SSNIT Emporium.

Spintex Road
Spintex Road was previously zoned as industrial, but has evolved into a mixed-use area offering residential, industrial and commercial buildings. Its upgrade has spurred the development of commercial properties.

Adabraka
Adabraka was originally a residential suburb, but is now a mixed-use area offering mainly offices and retail developments.

Looking ahead
According to all available data, the outlook is extremely positive with more than 150 000 m² office space coming online in Accra in the next 30 months.