wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

Wedding
Bishop
#1 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 10:04:00 AM

If all goes well,I'm planning to have a wedding early Dec 2009.

I do not have have any money at the moment and I'm able to save 10K monthly starting Jun 2009.

Please give your contribution on how I can realize the dream.

Thank you

Take Risk & Never Regret !
Chaka
#2 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 10:13:00 AM

@Bishop,

A wedding the AG's costs almost nothing !
jammo
#3 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 10:29:00 AM

Congrats r in order. I do hope u r affiliated to some church thus hav some premarital counsellin..

I must say..gettin a weddin committee and tying people to contribute is the most expensive,selfish,extortion practice in most churches today!..and abuse of friendship! Arm twisting guys to finance your happiness! Your own happiness?

If u can't afford the weddin u want..don't thro a lavish stressfull thing..

talk to ur pastor about ur financial status..
After all..a wedding needs only the marryin couple..officiating pastor..2witnesses..u can get married in the church offices and hav lunch after that!

If ur wife to be is well aware n understands ur financial situation..get a small...SMALL wedding in church office then later on in life throw out a HUGE 'weddin ceremony'!!..when u can afford it bila hustle.

DISCLAIMER: This is the opinion of one Jammo,CFA,CPA,Opinionated and Loud,based in nairobi. Whilst care has been taken in compiling the data to be as most factual n logical,he doesn't accept any responsibility of accuracy or completeness of info contained herein..neither does he purport to be a genius!
Djinn
#4 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 10:58:00 AM

@Jammo,so hot sir?

Bishop is not looking for money,rather some gems on what he can do,given that he will save 10K per month. Anyway Bishop,kudos on that - keep it small and sweet - quality not quantity. Involve as few people as possible (your respective parents,bride and priest/pastor/vicar...period).

I've seen wedding plans take on a life of their own - caution your bride about seeking advice from her friends - maybe just her best maid - for the pit of advice is both bottomless and infinite smile

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
#5 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 10:58:00 AM

@chaka.......We dont hold weddings at AG chambers,we get married there.(wedding is a party!)

@Bishop.....You cant realise your dream by Dec 2009,at 10K per month and in Nairobi my advice to you is to continue dreaming aleast for the next 30 Months starting June 2009.Kudos..

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

Djinn
#6 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:14:00 AM

@Impunity - really? Someone's really conceited here. Bishop,here is the deal - you do NOT want to spend more than you can afford and for your honeymoon have DEBT. You also want to live and get married within your means. I have seen people raise 500k for a wedding,go to Lamu on a honeymoon and return to a bed sitter. Screw that! I have seen people fork out nearly a million on a wedding and because that heightens expectations,esp on the bride's part - who,after the fairy tale wedding - expects a fairytale happily ever after (also to keep up impressions with all the guests who were 'wowed' by the wedding),then they get in marital issues within six months.

Small and sweet Bishop - its YOUR life. Not Impunity's. Not mine. Screw this issue of pleasing everyone for you will end up miserable and having pleased NO ONE.

The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
Mr.Tea
#7 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:23:00 AM

@ Bishop,

That is a nice way to go.....but even as you put things together always keep in mind that simple is sophisticated.

Patience Pays in Guaranteed Checks
Patience Pays In Guaranteed Checks.
The Real Shaft
#8 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:26:00 AM

best advise......

raise what you can.......then budget on that...

bare minimum....

Wedding gown........... 10,000/-......

Groom's outfit...... look for a nice colourful kitenge shirt....... 1500/-

rings.... 5,000/-...

church...... 7,000/-

wedding grounds....... 15,000/-

chakula..... 30,000/-.......

total.... 68,500/-...

you would have raised 70,000/-

you will have enough to go round....

for extras....

ask your partner to chip in kidogo......say 20,000/-

family...... 30,000/-....

and your pals......50,000/-.....

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
#9 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:37:00 AM

@TSR,last time I checked .... gold was creeping towards US$950 an ounce .... where are Ksh 5,000 rings to be found?
The Real Shaft
#10 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:44:00 AM

wewe GG...

wacha stress....

were you born to wear gold...

or was gold molded for you....???

I'm the real Massey F.....shut your mouth
I'm the real Massey Fergu...... Shut your mouth....
Sasha
#11 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:53:00 AM

LOL Shaft! Ati Kitenge suit? And where in Nairobi will you find nice grounds for 15k?

Immorality: The morality of those who are having a better time!
#12 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:54:00 AM

@Gekko...how many people out there wear gold rings?All that you see are gold plated stuff from India/china going for as much /little as 500 shillings.

Which is more dirty,the pig or Kenyan mp?

Jalofg
#13 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 11:58:00 AM

@Bishop

Hoping that you have already paid dowry,you can still make it with 60k.

First,plan to wed late Dec. At least you can use Dec saving for you honeymoon#

Wed in you church and have you reception at the same venue. Thus,no venue charges and minimal transport costs.

A simple cake will do.

Go for silver coated rings. You can still buy golden ones later in you marriage.

Food- Budget about 20000.

Decorations- Just enough.. DONT hire someone to do it. Buy materials and invite friends to do it.

You can make it.

Jalofg
Blackberry
#14 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 12:11:00 PM

wee Imp* what rings cost 500ksh? Bishop at the very least get Gold rings!

Opinion is free, truth is sacred.

Achiever
#15 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 12:12:00 PM

bishop

the most important is to clear with in-laws...

Everthing else......can be as cheap/expensive....

as your pocket......

don't worry....be happy
eli
#16 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 12:42:00 PM

Bishop,I feel you. I really do. As I speak,a friend of mine is wedding in June 20th,2009. The guy has only a salary for the month of May,which is like 25K,to pump into the wedding. Well,he has taken dowry and parents have given him an OK( almost 100K spent). According to the culture where I belong,the guy is now considered married. Infact,the woman should be in his house by now!

Now,with the coming of Christianity,the guy now wants to do a wedding. His budget,235,000. His contribution is 25,000 and the chic contributes 15,000.

To realize his aim,the guy has collected all 'friends' and friends plus all the acquitances,not forgeting the collegeas at work. Church members are there in plenty,and for close buddies like me,its a must to be part of the committe. If I refuse,then I could see fire. Call it bloodless robbery . He has employed the game of numbers. Invite everybody,let them pledge like 1K,2K,3K,or even 10K. Collect this cash in a period of like 2 months and have the thing done!

In the church where I go to: The pastor allows a church wedding,in the same manner an alter call is made. After the church service,you walk to the alter,with you wife,the whole church prays for you and blesses you and then people can jienjoy with some pilau. Believe me,the total cost will not go beyond 30K. This is also an option.

Kuzaa sio kazi,kazi ni kulea mwana! Wahenga husema hivyo. I can tell you that wedding is not everything,marriage is! Talk with the chile. Talk really well. Its very hard I know. All chics want a floss-mode kind of wedding. I wonder why.

When all is said and done,brother,I wish u well,in your marriage life. My blessing to u bro!

But you shall remember the LORD your God,for it is He who is giving you power to make wealth,that He may confirm His covenant which He swore to your fathers,as it is this day. Deu 8:18
Faida Hasara
#17 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 12:46:00 PM

@TRS nice budget. Tight but that's what budget is for living/planning within your means.
Jalofg
#18 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 1:05:00 PM

To reduce on transport i pledge my car for the day.

Free within Nairobi. But u hav to remind me in time.

If interested post ua address,i'll send u my details.

Jalofg
Bishop
#19 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 1:12:00 PM

My wife is a members of our local church chore ( about 40 of them) and we leave in outskirts of Nai.

I'm sure she would want a modest wedding though I wouldn't really want to bother people with pledges unless you are really my best friend.

My family and hers are far about 200km from where we stay.

I have already take some dowry and I'm remaining with final touches including asking for the date of the wedding ( though in our custom we believe there is no end in taking the dowry).

We have three young kids so far and planning to have none in future (unless otherwise)

Finances

What is your opinion on taking some loan against my payslip?

Thanks guys for the insight and encouragement.

I'm very much determined to do it.

Thank you

Take Risk & Never Regret !
Jalofg
#20 Posted : Friday, May 22, 2009 1:39:00 PM

@Bishop

I thought you are a young man desperately looking forward to marriage.. Kumbe u r an old Mzee like me.

Anyway,whats the hurry then. You can save until u hv enough b4 u wed.

Why not postpone the wedding until next year. u will hv saved enough and will hv less stress.

Jalofg