wazua Mon, Feb 3, 2025

Understanding dowry terms in intermarriages
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 20, 2012 9:17:59 PM

Just read and learn please.

A good friend called to inform me that his relative from Bukusu Land was getting married to a Kyuk lady from Gachie

Friend:my pal is marryin from Gachie we were told 2 tek thea 40 goats 1st.nilifikiri uko nazo utu uzie,Plus 10 ltrs of honey.
Me: We have many goats in shags and cheap!
Friend: Good.Nirahisi kununua karibu hapo than kutoka nazo huku western.
Me: why carry 40 goats from western? That's insane!am placing orders.I know where to get 40 mbuzis!!
Friend:kikuyu na biashara! They want 30 he goats and 10 za kike!.
Me: The cheapest goat is around 3 to 4 k.
Friend:Please buy in wholesale!

So I get down to the biz of searching for live goats and Honey,without disclosing the purpose.
Of course it would have made sense to transport the goats from shags to Gachie than from western.
I even had my commission worked outsmile smile
Well,finally I called this kyuk friend of mine asking for a Lorry to transport the 40 Goats to Gachie on that great day!
I mean the logistics had to be perfect.
After asking me what they were for, I spilled the beans

Sad Sad If you are a kyuk you would understand that 'goats' meant CASH MONEY.

Even my bukusu friend was a dunderhead! smh.

Still embarrased

kamundu
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 5:51:18 AM

To calculate kikuyu dowry use the formula also known as kamundu's theorem
(N+p2xw)d
Where n= number of kids the chick has, n is also called a fine
p= birth order from the last born ie if she has 5 siblings and she is 2nd born p=4
w=degree of flyness of the chick. Beautiful ones are expensive. Flyness is from 0 to 5. Zero flyness = 0 dowry
d=inflation pegged on the dollar
Peace in our Homeland.
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 6:32:37 AM

@essyk, Now that the goats are bought and no one wants them, can we've one for wazua mbuzi seven?

We can use the occasion to indulge you in this good old traditions.
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 7:21:14 AM

kamundu wrote:
(N+p2xw)d
p= birth order from the last born ie if she has 5 siblings and she is 2nd born p=4
w=degree of flyness of the chick. Beautiful ones are expensive. Flyness is from 0 to 5. Zero flyness = 0 dowry

uuwi,have you asked urself why there is a rising no. of come we try relationships?
its coz of these complexities.

@radio.mbuzi nilicancel order haraka sana.Thank God it was a relas.
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 8:51:37 AM

kamundu wrote:
(N+p2xw)d

if N > 0 then no dowry - just a fine
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 9:06:22 AM

If they ask for Ngombe Saba, then just go buy Molo milk packets and tell them "Usiseme hii ni maziwa sema Ng'ombe!!!"smile smile smile

Anyway standard at my community is;

One Bull
One Cow with a calf and still being milked
One Heifer of an age ready for calving
One heifer
Sheep or Goats .... or a heifer if these are not available
Cash...(Negotiable depending on the education, etc)
Token for the mother for bringing up the girl (Approximately Kshs 5,000)

Remember the order of the animals is simbolic of the family unit of father, mother, children and family resources (Cash payment)Drool

#7 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 9:21:30 AM

@essyk, you are not serious are you?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The Agikuyu bride price practice has deviated from gratitude to a rip off scheme by the girl's side.
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 9:46:40 AM

@essyk, you are not serious are you?Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

The Agikuyu bride price practice has deviated from gratitude to a rip off scheme by the girl's side.

Ditto! Na bado hujateswa siku ya harusi! Msichana atafungiwa kwa nyumba mpaka uongezee dowry kidogo smile
abdulrahman
#9 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 9:46:59 AM

from Gachie. Thats why the price is that high. Chances are this wont last. Afadhali Nyeri sasa.

JMT
#10 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 9:52:16 AM

People should just learn how to hit the nail on the head when dealing with other communities.

Those bukunyes (my friend was kwa grooms party) left in search of live goats and honey.

lemmie see. 40 goats@4k= sh.160,000.

Hapo ningelipa rent ya one month
#11 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 9:55:50 AM

This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni"Pray smile ....Simply said,the "uncircumspected" are not to be sent to dowry negotiations....Literally... and i do not mean any offence or disrespect pliz!......First,Gachie is almost in the middle of Nairobi.Why pray would you want to take goats to your in-laws who live in the city?Here,common sense should have prevailed.Second,the Agikuyu dowry laws allow for part payment and the rest can be done in instalments,thus 10 goats would have sufficed and the remaining 30 paid over a life time.Third and most important,estimates for goats given here are for those sourced from Kia-Maiko.....The Agikuyu (And i know it also happens to many other communities) have a different benchmark for pricing of "animals of blood" (Indo cia thakame).........At current a goat wouldn't be more than Kshs 1500.

And so it's easy.Kshs 60,000.00 was probably the asking price and an initial 15K would have been good enough......You blew it for your friendLaughing out loudly .
#12 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:08:39 AM

Every community has its own terminology and euphemisms for events. Its good to know them if one wants to do an event.
#13 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:08:52 AM

@essyk, be careful. As @Lolest says, some people made it a rip off scheme.
Did you know every trip to in-laws costs you something?
Let those who know the culture advice, but I think you can convert the 'goats' into cash.

This guy @Tebes looks like he's from my community.
I paid: 1 Bull, 1 Cow with calf (still suckling), 1 Heifer (ready for landing), 1 heifer (still pending smile) and 1 sheep for her mother.

I see your 40 goats is approx the same as 'ours'.

Also you need to be smart here. Have you not heard people who borrow loans for this venture?
Do not tell your fiancee straight to the face that you cannot accept this, but find a smart way to win her sympathy and spend less.

@Robinhood when they play games, you threaten to take off because you don not have time to waste.
#14 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:09:39 AM

lemmie see. 40 goats@4k= sh.160,000.

Hapo ningelipa rent ya one month

But you don't say!!!smileNo wonder you are begging @kaigangio's landlord group to go slow on tenants!

Seriously, I thought that it is standard that you will get someone from the bride's side to guide you in understanding the requirements. The value of 1 goat in Gachie might be much higher than Kanderendu, Ngurubani, Mutwe wa Thi or Wanjohi. You need to know how much they need per goat.

#15 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:23:25 AM

But you don't say!!!smileNo wonder you are begging @kaigangio's landlord group to go slow on tenants!
Seriously, I thought that it is standard that you will get someone from the bride's side to guide you in understanding the requirements. The value of 1 goat in Gachie might be much higher than Kanderendu, Ngurubani, Mutwe wa Thi or Wanjohi. You need to know how much they need per goat.

No no,LOL am a wanjiku.
I meant my commission from that figure would have paid my rent.smile

The whole party was from Bukusu and my friend called me on Monday after the 'weekend of ruracio'
Hata mimi Pray If it weren't for my 'lorry friend I wouldn't have known.
The pic on my mind was of those lorries carrying goats from northern kenya with wolalos on top.

God knows how hard the guy laughed after I told him I needed a lorry to ferry goats for dowry to gachie.
Alinikemea tu.
#16 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:24:00 AM

@ guka fungua consultancy ya hii mambo. People have been paying the amount asked for and even plan on bringing 40 goats to Nairobi literary. I know someone from lakeside who paid 1.2million when they were to pay 50k.
A New Kenya
#17 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:28:50 AM

This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni"Pray smile ....Simply said,the "uncircumspected" are not to be sent to dowry negotiations....Literally... and i do not mean any offence or disrespect pliz!......First,Gachie is almost in the middle of Nairobi.Why pray would you want to take goats to your in-laws who live in the city?Here,common sense should have prevailed.Second,the Agikuyu dowry laws allow for part payment and the rest can be done in instalments,thus 10 goats would have sufficed and the remaining 30 paid over a life time.Third and most important,estimates for goats given here are for those sourced from Kia-Maiko.....The Agikuyu (And i know it also happens to many other communities) have a different benchmark for pricing of "animals of blood" (Indo cia thakame).........At current a goat wouldn't be more than Kshs 1500.

And so it's easy.Kshs 60,000.00 was probably the asking price and an initial 15K would have been good enough......You blew it for your friendLaughing out loudly .

Ouchhhh !!!!!
cmk
#18 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:31:19 AM

@ njung'e..ditto
advise essik well..she must have been in the wrong bus!!
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#19 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:34:37 AM

This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni"

You guys don't know Bukunyes well then
I have lived among them and calling one a 'Kihii' is an insult of the highest degree.
The groom party didn't consist of 'ihiis'
They are fully grown ndurumes
cmk
#20 Posted : Thursday, June 21, 2012 10:38:54 AM

This is where i say "Ihii ititumaguo uthoni"

You guys don't know Bukunyes well then
I have lived among them and calling one a 'Kihii' is an insult of the highest degree.
The groom party didn't consist of 'ihiis'
They are fully grown ndurumes

you are yet to get the point??ask njung'e to translate for you..kihii here means unexperienced
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire