Culture
quiet library
Rank: Member Joined: 11/10/2010 Posts: 281 Location: Nairobi
Hi Wazuans,
I'm looking for a quiet public library in Nairobi, Any ideas are welcome.
Rank: Member Joined: 2/24/2010 Posts: 637 Location: Nairobi
Quiet public=none The only thing necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing.
lol kwani what happened to them cz in my days they used to be quiet?? "The true measure of a man is how he treats someone who can do him absolutely no good.
Thez this one at reinsurance plaza ama whatever that building is called 13 or 14 th floor for capital market authority very quiet and decenit am not sure if they moved though I used to go read there for most of my exams just sign in and take a seat... possunt quia posse videntur
World bank upperhill - entrance on the side - not main gate. And I think they still give free internet access but have blocked certain sites for obvious reasons. you need only sign in and look like you are doing some bona fide research. meant to strengthen SMME capacity and have research backed business. Also lots of useful resources.
If Buru Buru is your neighbourhood - KNLS is right there after kenol near Phase II. Happened to pass by a few weeks ago and I must say I was impressed - both with the content, the modernity and most of all that the kids floors were full of kids on a Saturday.
Checked out their fiction section and was pleased to see some of my favourite authors like Stephen King and Wilbur Smith.
Not sure if British Council still operate their library...somewhere in upperhill? I suppose because of al qaeda and al kebab some things might be frozen...
Try AMREF (not the headquarters but the training place along Langata Road)...
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
JKML, uon, Top floor, so silent that its almost macabre. “small step for man”
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/7/2009 Posts: 1,032 Location: Sea of Transquility
Djinn wrote: al kebab ... lol, aki una nichekesha. “small step for man”
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/31/2008 Posts: 7,081 Location: Kenya
madhaquer wrote:Hi Wazuans,
I'm looking for a quiet public library in Nairobi, Any ideas are welcome.
...Thought a library is a place where people go to converse with books...Ama watu wameanza kupandana, sorry, kupendana huko?
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
mcmillan library on banda street.near nation centre next to the mosque punda amecheka
newfarer wrote:mcmillan library on banda street.near nation centre next to the mosque That place is always full getting space is a night mare chelewa kidogo and your done for...btw we should be having more libraries in this town. possunt quia posse videntur
Rank: New-farer Joined: 4/1/2010 Posts: 86 Location: Kenya
I think there are very good and quiet libraries in town. Try Satima.
Culture
quiet library