wazua Tue, Jan 7, 2025

Butchery in Eatlands
NuM1hAt3r
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 9:23:21 AM

Am thinking of starting a butchery business near the place i live. I haave done my feasibility and market analysis and am confident that all illbe well. There is never such a thing s too much advice and thus seeking the same from anyone who has/or is doing the same business.

This being my first tangible business venture any dos/dont's wd be appreciated.

PS: Ok am not superstitious neither am i tribal but am definatley cautious.....my biggest rival is a kisii guy who has four butcheries in the greater region and is said to use mazingaumbwe to demoralize and crush hi rival....ati now thats why he is so successful. His own employees ogopa him like plague. What do u wazuans think bout this??
Mumember
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 10:27:25 AM

The thing about butchery is that you have to be consistent in two things...Supply and Quality..there are no two ways about this...also remember to have at least two months running(operating) capital before the butchery can start making money for itself.
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 2:14:04 PM

NuM1hAt3r wrote:
Am thinking of starting a butchery business near the place i live. I haave done my feasibility and market analysis and am confident that all illbe well. There is never such a thing s too much advice and thus seeking the same from anyone who has/or is doing the same business.

PS: Ok am not superstitious neither am i tribal but am definatley cautious.....my biggest rival is a kisii guy who has four butcheries in the greater region and is said to use mazingaumbwe to demoralize and crush hi rival....ati now thats why he is so successful. His own employees ogopa him like plague. What do u wazuans think bout this??

Just be careful you do not end up being on your rival's butchery menu.
#4 Posted : Thursday, February 23, 2012 2:29:54 PM

Elder wrote:
NuM1hAt3r wrote:

Just be careful you do not end up being on your rival's butchery menu.
Meat
#5 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 10:22:38 AM

I am selling one of my meats shops. It’s equipped with modern meat handling equipment and could turn out a rewarding business venture for you.

The average walk-in customers for the business is 1,500 people per month. If the business does not grow further the projected annual turnover this year is around KES.6.6 Million. The gross margin is 15 – 30% depending on products and seasons.

The main business assets include;
• Trustworthy & competent staff who I’ve trained in prime-meat cut sales & shop management.
• Refrigerated display counter (2Mtrs)
• Bone-cutting machine - Italian
• Commercial meat mincing machine - Italian
• Intelligent digital weighing scale that can produce receipts & summary reports making it easy for you to manage stocks even when you are not physically at the shop.
• Heavy-duty spring weighing scale (the clock-faced type)
• Deep freezer
• Fixtures which include an office for the owner with internet connection, a green grocery section within the meat shop, and work-top counters.
• Networking with reliable suppliers – including KMC, poultry farmers, goat farmers and fish wholesalers.
• Measuring systems for cash-flow management, stock management and profit tracking.

The business is located in Eastlands, off Outering road.
The ideal buyer would be an investment club or individual with adequate cash-flow stamina to take-up both walk-in & corporate customers.

The place is secure and the business has grown and has a lot of potential to grow – especially in the direction of corporate customers.

The selling price for the business is KES. 1.25 million.

I would be available to make clearer issues that you would probably need clarified for you to make an informed purchase decision.

Sincerely,
Eric
0712 621139smile
TiggerTiggy
#6 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 11:10:10 AM

if its all that why sell??
#7 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 12:09:19 PM

Meat wrote:
I am selling one of my meats shops. It’s equipped with modern meat handling equipment and could turn out a rewarding business venture for you.

The average walk-in customers for the business is 1,500 people per month. If the business does not grow further the projected annual turnover this year is around KES.6.6 Million. The gross margin is 15 – 30% depending on products and seasons.

• Trustworthy & competent staff who I’ve trained in prime-meat cut sales & shop management.
• Intelligent digital weighing scale that can produce receipts & summary reports making it easy for you to manage stocks even when you are not physically at the shop.
• Deep freezer
• Fixtures which include an office for the owner with internet connection, a green grocery section within the meat shop, and work-top counters.
• Networking with reliable suppliers – including KMC, poultry farmers, goat farmers and fish wholesalers.
• Measuring systems for cash-flow management, stock management and profit tracking.

The ideal buyer would be an investment club or individual with adequate cash-flow stamina to take-up both walk-in & corporate customers.

The place is secure and the business has grown and has a lot of potential to grow – especially in the direction of corporate customers.

I would be available to make clearer issues that you would probably need clarified for you to make an informed purchase decision.

Sincerely,
Eric
0712 621139smile

@NuM1hAt3r, tell us whether this is the Kisii guy...
fellifel
#8 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 12:16:31 PM

Meat wrote:

• Deep freezer

Sincerely,
Eric
0712 621139smile

Applause Applause Applause This must be the kisii guy, but if this butchery is all that, after owning this butchery for one year i could be a proud owner of a piece of plot in Konza city; WHY SELL??Shame on you Shame on you
@NuM1hAt3r, tell us whether this is the Kisii guy...

Meat
#9 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 1:19:13 PM

I'm planning to relocate to a place that would make it rather expensive logistically to manage the business.

I understand your fears. Yes, the business is good but not perfect.I'm available to share the good and the ugly side of the business with potential buyers. You can relax - you won't be conned. Anyone who makes the purchase will do so with a clear picture of the business.
luttz
#10 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 2:08:36 PM

Look like a good opportunity if indeed it's true. Share m ore information Luttah@yahoo.com
"You've never lived until you've almost died; for those who have fought for it, life has a flavour the protected will never know."
#11 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 3:45:23 PM

Kwani huku EATLANDS kazi ya watu ni kukula tu... No wonder butchery zimejaa..!!!
Meat
#12 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 5:59:57 PM

Hi Luttz? I've sent you more information as requested.

Sasa Chemos? Yes, people eat a lot in Eastlands.
A square kilometer in Eastlands could potentially have a stronger purchasing power for FMCG than a square kilometer up-market. The bottom of the pyramid opportunity!I have compared my outlet to others around Ngong road and it's true in Mashariki we eat.

Obviously you will do more bulk-breaking in Hon. Waititu's turf than a butcher shop in Westlands but there are still so many comparative advantages of starting a meat shop in Mashariki than along James Gichuru road. While up-market shoppers will generally make their purchases once in a month (or something close to that), quite a number of Eastlanders make purchases almost every other day. Some even come to my shop twice a day - for lunch supplies and then in the evening for dinner supplies. This are just realities of hand to mouth livelihoods. In Eastlands you can reasonably predict what number of customers will come to your shop and stock-up adequately in anticipation of them. Up-market meat shops will generally go through lot's of surprises. You will run-out of stocks on one day when so many people show-up to buy their monthly supplies and throw away decomposing stocks on another day when customers don't show-up.

Just my two cents...
mduara
#13 Posted : Friday, February 24, 2012 6:06:23 PM

@Meat please send me more infor.... mduarapap at gmail dot com
Thanks.
Kaka M
#14 Posted : Saturday, February 25, 2012 12:04:21 PM

[quote=NuM1hAt3r] Am thinking of starting a butchery business near the place i live. I haave done my feasibility and market analysis and am confident that all illbe well. There is never such a thing s too much advice and thus seeking the same from anyone who has/or is doing the same business.

PS: Ok am not superstitious neither am i tribal but am definatley cautious.....my biggest rival is a kisii guy who has four butcheries in the greater region and is said to use mazingaumbwe to demoralize and crush hi rival....ati now thats why he is so successful. His own employees ogopa him like plague. What do u wazuans think bout this??[/quote

See to it that you or your significant other will be there to go buy the meat and to be cashier at the butchery. Hired staff at times deliberately mess up out of malice.About your prospective competitor well, there is a mchawi wa wachawi and Mganga wa Wanganga Who is Our Creator. Turn to Him and all will be well.
urstill1
#15 Posted : Tuesday, March 21, 2017 10:36:12 AM

What are the pros and cons of this business? I have been thinking of starting one around my area(not anywhere close to Nairobi) and I project selling 40-50kgs of meat(goat, beef and chicken) everyday. I'd also add grocery to the business. I'd also like to know the capital(itemized) required to start a small butchery.