Culture
Changing my names
Goodday wazuans,
i happen to have a name tht i dont lyk, n would like to change it, how is the process for this?
can KNEC also change the names tht appear on my certificates? hw ernomous is this task?
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name.
wilyum wrote:Goodday wazuans,
i happen to have a name tht i dont lyk, n would like to change it, how is the process for this?
can KNEC also change the names tht appear on my certificates? hw ernomous is this task?
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. I have a buddy who changed his as in he did it just to drop his baptism name because he felt that having an English name was kasumba ya ukoloni. Anyways,the process took long but apparently what they give you is a document showing that you are the same person as appears on all other documents...
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/7/2010 Posts: 2,148 Location: elderville
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. Deed Poll. He who can express in words the ardour of his love, has but little love to express. - Petrach, Son. (That men by various ways arrive at the same end. - Montaigne, The Essays of.)
Quote:Quote: wilyum wrote: Goodday wazuans,
I have a buddy who changed his as in he did it just to drop his baptism name because he felt that having an English name was kasumba ya ukoloni. Anyways,the process took long but apparently what they give you is a document showing that you are the same person as appears on all other documents... thanks, does it mean, the names will still appear as they r currently and not change completely?
Prince Rogers Nelson Prince The artist formerly known as Prince The artist without a name
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/2/2012 Posts: 1,134 Location: Nairobi
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. What's in a name? Orpah was mispelt OPRAH; now see how far she has gone with it...
Quote:wilyum wrote: Goodday wazuans, i happen to have a name tht i dont lyk, n would like to change it, how is the process for this? can KNEC also change the names tht appear on my certificates? hw ernomous is this task? i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. Quote:
What's in a name?
Orpah was mispelt OPRAH; now see how far she has gone with it...
r u helping ama not? u cant understand!
chiaroscuro wrote:wilyum wrote:Goodday wazuans,
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. What's in a name? Orpah was mispelt OPRAH; now see how far she has gone with it... @ chiaroscuro, you just arrived recently, WELCOME @ wilyum It is called an affidavit You swear, then all the names become yours. Look for a lawyer. again.. What's in a name? Didn’t you hear the rumor.. that the daughter of Mbeki is called HATO?
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. @Wilyum, so your name ought to have been William, huh? Anyway, like @ Elder says, the answer is a Deed Poll. In other words, get a lawyer to do one for you. And yeah, I believe you can change your names completely e.g. from Francis Wanjohi to Farah Mo Maalim, etc.
Quote:Quote:wilyum wrote: Goodday wazuans,
@Wilyum, so your name ought to have been William, huh?smile Anyway, like @ Elder says, the answer is a Deed Poll. In other words, get a lawyer to do one for you. And yeah, I believe you can change your names completely e.g. from Francis Wanjohi to Farah Mo Maalim, etc. @ kiriita, kitu kama hiyo ,thanks for tht,atleast,lemi try tht
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. Change your name if you will. Your certificates wont be changed but the name change will be gazetted and the gazette notice is available so your bank, employer, school will have access to the info on your name change. Lord, thank you!
makadara MP wants to officially change his name to Mike Sonko. link the star corridors section
Euge wrote:wilyum wrote:Goodday wazuans,
i wanna change my name coz my original was mispelt and nid to get bck my name. Change your name if you will. Your certificates wont be changed but the name change will be gazetted and the gazette notice is available so your bank, employer, school will have access to the info on your name change. If my official papers and certs wont change so what is the advantage? Every-time you like apply to a new job and you are told the papers are fake. What about being issued with a new ID and fasfort? Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
@wilyum,just like impunity says,if i were you i would think and think very hard before going for the name change...i can imagine you having applied for a job and people have to keep on reffering to your several papers for your real name and when it comes to the bank issues dont even mention it,who knows your cash could go missing just becoz of an error.....this is kenya my friend things just go missing...i suggets you keep your name just as it is,after all,hakuna jina hailei mtoto
Rank: Veteran Joined: 12/4/2009 Posts: 1,982 Location: matano manne
specky wrote:@wilyum,just like impunity says,if i were you i would think and think very hard before going for the name change...i can imagine you having applied for a job and people have to keep on reffering to your several papers for your real name and when it comes to the bank issues dont even mention it,who knows your cash could go missing just becoz of an error.....this is kenya my friend things just go missing...i suggets you keep your name just as it is,after all,hakuna jina hailei mtoto The answer is deed poll. This ensures that the person changing his/her name (Identity) is identified as the former as well as the later identity. Fraud and ID theft are a common feature now a days. Figure these: From: To:Joginder Singh Quincy Zuma Timberlake Rogers Neo Roggi Rogern Branson The deep poll is a cumbersome process that involves gazetment of the names and searing of affidavits. Thereafter A.K.A becomes a common middle feature in your series of names for avoidance of doubt. However, most documents issued in the previous names never change e.g certificate of birth the names remain as were given by parents at time of birth. Education certificates also don't change since the person issued the certificate was known by the former identity. Kitambulisho may change.
@rahatupu,thts an eye opener.lemi weigh my options
Rank: Elder Joined: 12/9/2009 Posts: 1,491 Location: Nairobi
Heard that Mike Sonko changed his name from Gideon Mbuvi. @wilyum ama wewe ni Mike sonko? Kenya ni yetu sisi sote
if Dick cheney or Tyson Gay didn't change their name, why would I bother to change mine, my name is Drunkard 10k Rollout, call me Drunkard if you're my friend, call me 10K if you're my family or Rollout for business.
@Wilyum, is your name something like Nataka Kumamoto?
wilyum wrote:Quote:Quote:wilyum wrote: Goodday wazuans,
@Wilyum, so your name ought to have been William, huh?smile Anyway, like @ Elder says, the answer is a Deed Poll. In other words, get a lawyer to do one for you. And yeah, I believe you can change your names completely e.g. from Francis Wanjohi to Farah Mo Maalim, etc. @ kiriita, kitu kama hiyo ,thanks for tht,atleast,lemi try tht While at it, I hope you do not have a kid who carries the name you are changing because it will give them grief in future! My advise, change before you have wilyumlets who will carry the name! If not, keep those documents very very safely.
Culture
Changing my names