wazua Mon, Sep 22, 2025

Decline in T Bill & T Bond Rates
Kirika
#1 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 4:47:49 PM

With the Garment keen to source a syndicate loan of upto $ 600M overseas to plug a yawning deficit, the Garment's appetite for Domestic Borrowing will drastically decline.

Its rather sad that i boarded the T-Bills gravy train at circa 10%, and now at 20% with such impending news...

My only bet is if the financiers can shy away due to the election fever this year,the ICC bombshell and offcourse the deeping Euro zone crisis later on..
Cde Monomotapa
#2 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 5:02:14 PM

Wow..yaani we'd rather sacrifice 30M Kenyans just to earn 20% Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly #capitalism
cnn
#3 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 5:19:54 PM

Kirika wrote:
With the Garment keen to source a syndicate loan of upto $ 600M overseas to plug a yawning deficit, the Garment's appetite for Domestic Borrowing will drastically decline.

Its rather sad that i boarded the T-Bills gravy train at circa 10%, and now at 20% with such impending news...

My only bet is if the financiers can shy away due to the election fever this year,the ICC bombshell and offcourse the deeping Euro zone crisis later on..

The targeted financiers are local boys,Stanchart,Cfc and Citi...http://af.reuters.com/article/kenyaNews/idAFL6E8CH32X20120117
Cde Monomotapa
#4 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 5:34:36 PM

NB: Local boys representing their international parents (where the finance will come from).
hisah
#5 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 6:36:05 PM

Until this yield curve inverts (i.e. 30yr has higher interest pay than 2yr) forget declines in tbill/tbonds. I don't see the $600M fixing the gok debt gap. The June 2012 budget will be interesting esp the KDF part... Waiting with baited breath...

And when is CBK throwing away those archaic forex controls... FX traders outside KE want to get back to biz bwana...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
cnn
#6 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 6:44:32 PM

@hisah,the rate for the 3 month t-bill has dropped today as compared to last week albeit by a small fraction,that could be a pointer to the direction the rates will take.
chikonde
#7 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 8:35:20 PM

cnn, what was today's rate? The CBK website has not been updated yet. Thanks.
Gadaffi
#8 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:22:13 PM

I applied 4 a cds a/c in dec yet the n.o has not bin generated. Every otha wk i go thea am told 2 check th following wk since th 'systems' had bin down...i think bank is sleepin on th job
githundi
#9 Posted : Thursday, January 19, 2012 10:35:56 PM

Gadaffi wrote:
I applied 4 a cds a/c in dec yet the n.o has not bin generated. Every otha wk i go thea am told 2 check th following wk since th 'systems' had bin down...i think bank is sleepin on th job

what is required and how long to get a cbk cdsc a/c.
Democracy does not belong to the dead
mwekez@ji
#10 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 8:38:40 AM

chikonde wrote:

It declined by 1bps to 20.769 from 20.799.

Read on africa reuters, then hit country kenya.

lemmi help

http://af.reuters.com/article/k...ws/idAFN6E7N700Y20120119
#11 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 10:15:49 AM

mwekez@ji wrote:
chikonde wrote:

It declined by 1bps to 20.769 from 20.799.

lemmi help

The results for the 182 days T/bill are always advertised on Thursdays daily nation and the rate was 20.914% up by 0.134% unless you are referring to 91 day t/bill.
#12 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 10:26:05 AM

Gadaffi wrote:

Yes there was a problem with their system on that month I overheard the clerk explain it to some one else about the system breakdown.

About sleeping on the Job yesterday I was there they opened quite late 15mins late for a bank like that I think someone is not doing his job.

#13 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 10:29:54 AM

Gadaffi wrote:

Yes there was a problem with their system on that month I overheard the clerk explain it to some one else about the system breakdown.

About sleeping on the Job yesterday I was there they opened quite late 15mins late for a bank like that I think someone is not doing his job.

Mkimwa
#14 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 11:51:40 AM

Results of treasury bills and bonds are always posted on the CBK website.

http://www.centralbank.g...ills/manualresults.aspx

On thursday morning for the 182-day, and friday morning for the 91 day.

lovely2010
#15 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 12:06:48 PM

Mkimwa wrote:

I prefer using www.af.reuters.com they are really first releasing tbills results and other important business news...just pick a country e.g kenya and u'll see all important info you need to know
hisah
#16 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 4:25:41 PM

lovely2010 wrote:
Mkimwa wrote:

I prefer using www.af.reuters.com they are really first releasing tbills results and other important business news...just pick a country e.g kenya and u'll see all important info you need to know

The URL is - http://af.reuters.com/ - The one you provided does not exist.
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
mwekez@ji
#17 Posted : Friday, January 20, 2012 5:04:03 PM

selah wrote:
mwekez@ji wrote:
chikonde wrote:

It declined by 3bps to 20.769 from 20.799.

lemmi help

The results for the 182 days T/bill are always advertised on Thursdays daily nation and the rate was 20.914% up by 0.134% unless you are referring to 91 day t/bill.

@Selah, that refers to 91 day T Bill. You can also read the results in Todays (Friday) Daily Nation