Long school 1 and 2nd term
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 10:36:24 AM

16 weeks for 1st term 2012
15 weeks for 2nd term
8 weeks for 3rd term
Close for 3 months in December exam season.

This is just crazy!!!!

Who did the white haired professor consult?

Idle mateeniz for 3 months .pregnancies , drugs and other antisocietal behaviours are here with us .
Pole to teenage and soon to be teenage parents.

What are the activities that can keep the young kids busy in the 3 months?

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Mpenzi
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 11:04:44 AM

'user' wrote:
16 weeks for 1st term 2012
15 weeks for 2nd term
8 weeks for 3rd term
Close for 3 months in December exam season.

This is just crazy!!!!

Who did the white haired professor consult?

Idle mateeniz for 3 months .pregnancies , drugs and other antisocietal behaviours are here with us .
Pole to teenage and soon to be teenage parents.

What are the activities that can keep the young kids busy in the 3 months?

I just dont like the way the Ministry of Education keeps on changing policies without warning or consultation. Same thing with the Private vs Public schools Form One selections. And Kiyaapi thinks he can be president!
Marty
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 11:09:04 AM

I thought as parents we are stakeholders. Why are we not being consulted???ABK
When I admire the wonder of a sunset or the beauty
of the moon, my soul expands in worship of the Creator.
FancyFace
#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 11:16:35 AM

Has this been confirmed?? Disaster! :(((

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 12:27:52 PM

Do parents send their kids to school to keep them away from trouble? Isn't that an abdication of duty?

The reason fronted by the ministry(curbing cheating) is not convincing though.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 12:42:37 PM

Hold your horses!!!!

This was a proposal.

The minister asked for feedback.

In short; he is consulting before issuing a legal notice to effect the proposal.

Looking at the reactions thus far I don't think it will be gazetted.
Ms Mkenya
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 12:43:31 PM

I actually like this.. More time with the children..

(Do not throw stones)
....above all, to stand.
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 12:54:20 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
I actually like this.. More time with the children..

(Do not throw stones)

me too.... as parents we should be able to find some meaningful things for our children to do every time there is opportunities... not just books books books and more books. that is why most of them cant even make themselves a meal even at the age of 20yrs. We need to get time with these people coz the teacher alone cant manage them. Today every parent cares only about whether the kid has passed exam well and can join national school; not whether the kid could be taking marijuana or having unprotected sex. as long as they can pass all is good. hawa watoto ni wetu, hapana sema professor amewafukuza when he gives you more time to mentor them.... kwani mnaogopa watoto wenu jameni? Or you only have time for work, business and friends?
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 12:55:32 PM

mukiha wrote:
Hold your horses!!!!

This was a proposal.

The minister asked for feedback.

In short; he is consulting before issuing a legal notice to effect the proposal.

Looking at the reactions thus far I don't think it will be gazetted.

My opinion is that it is a bad idea. Research has shown that shorter holidays are actually better than long ones... perhaps we should consider having FOUR terms instead of three, but retaining the same 34 weeks at school - though that will come with additional commuting expenses.

These make interesting reading:
http://blogs.telegraph.c...ins-less-well-off-kids/

http://www.independent.c...od-for-kids-1155233.html
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 03, 2012 1:06:47 PM

kingfisher wrote:
kwani mnaogopa watoto wenu jameni? Or you only have time for work, business and friends?

Applause Applause my point exactly!! Some parents are asking wataleta watoto October tuwapeleke wapi?Shame on you