Culture
Why do we say such...?
1.Clearly misunderstood 2.Exact estimate 3.Small crowd 4.Found missing 5.Fully empty
Add to the list of oxymorons In active retirement Adult children All alone buried alive large sip distant relative escaped inmate etc
Rank: Veteran Joined: 2/3/2010 Posts: 1,797 Location: Kenya
slim possible I may be wrong..but then I could be right
Rank: Member Joined: 11/20/2006 Posts: 75 Location: Nairobi, Kenya
Repeat again Me, I I can do everything through Christ who strengthens me: Phil 4: 13
Them they. Us we Bull sh**t Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
Is sasaseni now an officially recognized salute?
aemathenge wrote:Is sasaseni now an officially recognized salute? sasaseni or saseni...??
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/18/2008 Posts: 3,434 Location: Kerugoya
chemos wrote:aemathenge wrote:Is sasaseni now an officially recognized salute? sasaseni or saseni...?? My, my, my. There is even a correct version?
Peppy wrote:Repeat again Me, I The repetition is as a result of mother-tongue influence especially those spoken by or related to the Bantu community. As in...Mimi nitaenda....=Me I will go Mimi sitaenda....=Me i will not go Note that Kiswahili uses what look like two first person pronouns as in Mimi(ME)....and...Ni(I)or Si. In Kikuyu, Nii nidathie..=Mi Nimeenda= Me i have gone/left We wii Ng'ombe = We ni ng'ombe=Y ou you are cow Examples So there's really no one to blame..like they say It came with the ship.
ms.goody wrote:Peppy wrote:Repeat again Me, I The repetition is as a result of mother-tongue influence especially those spoken by or related to the Bantu community. As in... Mimi nitaenda....=Me I will go Mimi sitaenda....=Me i will not go Note that Kiswahili uses what look like two first person pronouns as in Mimi(ME)....and...Ni(I)or Si.In Kikuyu, Nii nidathie..=Mi Nimeenda= Me i have gone/left We wii Ng'ombe = We ni ng'ombe=Y ou you are cow Examples So there's really no one to blame..like they say It came with the ship. Boss, in lugha ya Kiswahili we say.. Siendi.. not mimi sitaenda...and Nitaenda... not 'mimi nitaenda'...It is still repetition even in Kiswahili Usituharibie lugha ya ndimi zetu bibiye! I Think Therefore I Am
hio inaitagwa double repetition , me I will go....
bwenyenye wrote:
Boss, in lugha ya Kiswahili we say.. Siendi.. not mimi sitaenda...and Nitaenda... not 'mimi nitaenda'...It is still repetition even in Kiswahili
Usituharibie lugha ya ndimi zetu bibiye!
Boss.... am not very good in swahili but you really cant use that word as you've used in this sentence.... bibiye means "bibi wa ....fulani" so how does that come in? May be you should have used "bibi we!" or something like that..... You can see how much am trying NOT to explain the same in swahili...
Wendz wrote:bwenyenye wrote:
Boss, in lugha ya Kiswahili we say.. Siendi.. not mimi sitaenda...and Nitaenda... not 'mimi nitaenda'...It is still repetition even in Kiswahili
Boss.... am not very good in swahili but you really cant use that word as you've used in this sentence.... bibiye means "bibi wa ....fulani" so how does that come in? May be you should have used "bibi we!" or something like that..... You can see how much am trying NOT to explain the same in swahili... in the culture of teh swahili, every woman ( above 16 years) was to be married to someone. so 'bibiye' loosely means wife of someone else or even 'wife to be'.It is an honourable term.. so we refer to any woman whom you do not know ,but is roughly in your ageset, as bibiye... a lass is referred to comfortably as binti.( daughter of) I Think Therefore I Am
Boss, in lugha ya Kiswahili we say.. Siendi.. not mimi sitaenda...and Nitaenda... not 'mimi nitaenda'...It is still repetition even in Kiswahili Usituharibie lugha ya ndimi zetu bibiye![/quote] Kiswahili is not like Engrish. One's expression can be an indication of arrogance or humility, for example in these two sentences "Nimaamua nitaenda mwenyewe kwa hiari" and "Nitaenda" I stand corrected "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Upper eastern, lower eastern
There's this guy from Drunkard's University area who went to Mombasa and was waiting for the ferry, but got impatient at some point and proceeded to ask the lady next to him.
'Wewe mama, ferry hainja kunja'?
She responded,
'Aa mwanangu, sio ferry haijakuja...ferry haijaja!!'
bwenyenye wrote:Wendz wrote:bwenyenye wrote:
Boss.... am not very good in swahili but you really cant use that word as you've used in this sentence.... bibiye means "bibi wa ....fulani" so how does that come in? May be you should have used "bibi we!" or something like that..... You can see how much am trying NOT to explain the same in swahili... in the culture of teh swahili, every woman ( above 16 years) was to be married to someone. so 'bibiye' loosely means wife of someone else or even 'wife to be'.It is an honourable term.. so we refer to any woman whom you do not know ,but is roughly in your ageset, as bibiye... a lass is referred to comfortably as binti.( daughter of) I bow my friend, i respectfully bow out... you good! That we cant debate.
Pierce wrote:
'Aa mwanangu, sio ferry haijakuja...ferry haijaja!!'
And another one Drunkard,"Hii barabara inaenda wapi" Pwani lady,"Uhh mwanangu.Tangu ni ijue hii barabara,haijawahi toka hapa.Leo itakuwa siku yake ya kwanza" Nothing great was ever achieved without enthusiasm.
Pierce wrote:There's this guy from Drunkard's University area who went to Mombasa and was waiting for the ferry, but got impatient at some point and proceeded to ask the lady next to him.
'Wewe mama, ferry hainja kunja'?
She responded,
'Aa mwanangu, sio ferry haijakuja...ferry haijaja!!' A guy once asked an old man while on a visit to Mombasa - "Hii njia inaenda Kibarani?" And here was the reply - "Samahani, vile ninavyotazama hii njia haiendi popote, Labda ukiniuliza huelekeza wapi ndio naweza kukupatia jibu." "Never regret, if its good, its wonderful. If its bad, its experience."
Scene: Pub in westlands Time: 4am
Boy: Si umalize pombe twende Girl: Mimi sitwendi na wewe!
Culture
Why do we say such...?