wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

Public transport in Kenya: what we need do.
ali
#1 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 7:29:33 AM

One thing i will remember kibaki about, is his refusal to return michuki to transport. It makes me wonder if the guy cares about kenyans..both transport investors and the mwananchi. In my ( real life experience) view, the sector needs gvt's firm hand, both in policy formulation and strict implementation. Policy alone can't help, we need resources. I have even thought of traffic police dpt being under transport docket. Roads, terminals, etc. The govt need invest in the sector as well, be a stakeholder and be involved in day to day affairs. On the part of 'investors', we need proffessionals, customer support, etc. Double M has that and i commend them.
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#2 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 7:26:36 PM

more people are killed by public transport in a month than the total number killed in 2007/8 genocide.kibaki has totally failed on curbing these deaths.why not give the transport ministry job to a person who is interested in bringing order in the sector like michuki
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
ali
#3 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 7:40:52 PM

I have never understood how in his love for kenyans, he put a guy by the name makwere/mwakwere as minister for transport. How? Kimunya is a good policy technocrat bt as i said, policy alone doesnt help, we need someone who goes out there, implements the policy and drives the process.. Thats michuki. Or ruto, i think the guy could do it
For in him (Jesus) we live and move and have our being-Acts 17:28
#4 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 8:47:00 PM

'user' wrote:
more people are killed by public transport in a month than the total number killed in 2007/8 genocide.kibaki has totally failed on curbing these deaths.why not give the transport ministry job to a person who is interested in bringing order in the sector like michuki

1. We drink ourselves silly and get into vehicles and drive
2. We get into overloaded public transport willingly
3. We fail to alert the matatu/bus driver that he is over-speeding
4. We give bribes to cops to look the other side
5.We would rather buy cheap spares than originals which mean the difference between life and death
6. We showboat about our driving skills..."i can do coast in _hours..."
7. We overtake needlessly even when there is a traffic jam
8. We regard other drivers to be less knowledgeable and view ourselves as experts
9.We barely check the condition of the vehicle before driving off and rarely use safety belts
10. We would rather pay for a DL than earn it in a driving school.

So exactly where does Kibaki come in ?? Lets not be a society that looks for scape goats rather than accept responsibility for our actions Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

#5 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 8:59:20 PM

Kratos wrote:
'user' wrote:

5.We would rather buy cheap spares than originals which mean the difference between life and death
8. We regard other drivers to be less knowledgeable and view ourselves as experts
9.We barely check the condition of the vehicle before driving off and rarely use safety belts

So exactly where does Kibaki come in ?? Lets not be a society that looks for scape goats rather than accept responsibility for our actions Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you

we meaning who?you and who? learn to say I.I can confidently say that I don't do any of the above.we saw michuki do a wonderful job in the public transport sector. the above indiscipline was minimal.why hasn't kibaki given michuki the job to streamline the sector because he showed he can do it if kibaki cares for the people he leads

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
#6 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 9:06:20 PM

by the way kibaki has contributed to the madness in the sector by abating corruption from the top.WE NEED A KENYAN SATA TO slay this corruption dragon
#7 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 9:06:48 PM

'user' wrote:
Kratos wrote:
'user' wrote:

we meaning who?you and who? learn to say I.I can confidently say that I don't do any of the above.we saw michuki do a wonderful job in the public transport sector. the above indiscipline was minimal.why hasn't kibaki given michuki the job to streamline the sector because he showed he can do it if kibaki cares for the people he leads

We kenyans. Get off your high horse, no one can prove you don't do any of the above. So you think if there was a tougher transport minister, guys would not be buying DL's,buying cheap spares etc..kwani unaishi kenya gani. Quit pretending huelewi just for the sake of pretending. Kibaki has no control of what you personally do and the same applies to the minister.

#8 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 9:09:57 PM

'user' wrote:
by the way kibaki has contributed to the madness in the sector by abating corruption from the top.WE NEED A KENYAN SATA TO slay this corruption dragon

Yes Kibaki is the cause of all the corruption we have. You are very very rightApplause Applause Applause Applause Applause Kudos for pointing it out.

#9 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 9:17:09 PM

so krato what did michuki do that made kenyans change that the clones after him couldn't do? ama was he dealing with ugandas that time.can't you see lack of political will to streamline the sector and the person who bears the highest responsibility is kibaki himself.why hasn't he given the job to a person who can do it?
#10 Posted : Sunday, October 09, 2011 9:28:02 PM

'user' wrote:
so krato what did michuki do that made kenyans change that the clones after him couldn't do? ama was he dealing with ugandas that time.can't you see lack of political will to streamline the sector and the person who bears the highest responsibility is kibaki himself.why hasn't he given the job to a person who can do it?

Do you have credible data showing deaths/injuries from road accidents then and now ama ni guess work?
What Michuki did is commendable that i agree but you have to look beyond michuki and Kibaki. We Kenyans have to cultivate a culture of being responsible for our actions. The Michukis of this world will not always be there. We need to take responsibility for our actions. Why do we suddenly feel the urge to call upon (in your words) the person who bears the greatest responsibility)Hii ni upus. Take charge of your life and influence others around you positively and you will see the change rather than wait for the government. It starts with YOU!