wazua Sun, Jan 26, 2025

SAFARICOM SAYS TO RAISE CALLING RATES BY 1 SHILLING ACROSS TARIFFS ON WEAK SHILLING,
#1 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:19:31 PM

Sept. 30 (Bloomberg) -- Safaricom Ltd., Kenya’s biggest mobile-phone operator, said its increasing call tariffs amid a weakening currency and rising inflation in East Africa’s biggest economy.

The only component of CPI that held steady this month...watch inflation go!
kinoru
#2 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:21:28 PM

yu here i come
#3 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:26:50 PM

kinoru wrote:
yu here i come

You are going nowhere. Given their totally dominant position other players will just follow suit.
kinoru
#4 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:30:39 PM

by the way my bonga points ,mpesa ?!!$%
#5 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:31:49 PM

I'm not sure what you guys on Safcom pay, but I'm assuming this is between 30% to 100% increase on rates.

Imagine what inflation will come in at next month...
Jamani
#6 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:36:04 PM

kinoru wrote:
yu here i come

Afadhali airtel ama telcom..... huko niwapi unataka kuenda? its like going "kokote"
Barrywhite
#7 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:46:21 PM

What commodity or service has had its pricing on a reducing trend consistently for the last ten years? Other than airtime?

The reasons given sound credible ....

"Sept. 30 (Bloomberg) -- Safaricom Ltd., Kenya’s biggest mobile-phone operator, said its increasing call tariffs amid a weakening currency and rising inflation in East Africa’s biggest economy."

The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
FUNKY
#8 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:47:36 PM

No one will leave safaricom because of M-PESA and you will soon see Orange and Airtel increasing their tariffs.
Jamani
#9 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:49:21 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:
kinoru wrote:
yu here i come

You are going nowhere. Given their totally dominant position other players will just follow suit.

They have no option but to follow suit unless they have no plan on roll-out, etc etc............ all equipment, managed service contracts etc are paid for in dollars and transferred to you and me in kshs.
Jamani
#10 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:54:58 PM

interesting even local lease lines are contracted in dollars
#11 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 3:57:08 PM

I'm not sure what you guys on Safcom pay, but I'm assuming this is between 30% to 100% increase on rates.

33%
#12 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:00:45 PM

Ksh 5 off-net, Ksh 4 on-net. Effective tomorrow 1st October
#13 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:00:49 PM

Its now cheaper to call safaricom using other networks than using a safaricom line...lets hope the other networks will hike theirs bcoz if they dont this is disaster in the making.
Layman
#14 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:16:44 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

To hell with Safaricom ........! Am extremely sure that only Orange will follow them......
#15 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:26:14 PM

Time Band:

08h00-22h00
On-net Off-net
4.00/- 5.00/-

22h00-08h00
On-net Off-net
2.00/- 5.00/-

http://www.safaricom.co.ke/index.php?id=146

Nzioka0722 Nzioka Waita
Director, Corporate Affairs, Safaricom
Our decision to adjust tariffs by 1bob was a delicate blend of remaining sensitive to our customers needs & running a sustainable business.

jerry
#16 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:26:52 PM

Gordon Gekko wrote:

2/= on-net 10pm to 8am and 0/= on.net on club 10/=!
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
jerry
#17 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:33:16 PM

And that will not stop the slide in share price. I think 2/70 is a fair price.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#18 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:37:55 PM

Postpay:On net 4 bob 8am-10pm, 2bob 10pm-8am, offnet 4bob!!!
#19 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:38:25 PM

Bambana na Bob dead:
Hi,this will no longer be available from midnight but from 10PM to 11.59PM if you have opted in to the service it will be 1/-^SW

International calling rates 10/= to USA:
http://www.safaricom.co.ke/index.php?id=214

#20 Posted : Friday, September 30, 2011 4:44:51 PM

33%

Interesting. With airtime weighting at 4% of CPI, what effect will it have?