Groups
Advice
Change of a degree course
Hi Wazua Family,My kid scored A-(81Pts) in 2010 and JAB has randomly given her B.Sc Hospitality and Tourism management @KU against her passion for B.Sc in ICT.She never changed anything since that was her choice 1a,b&c.Strathmore had offered her a place for the same this year but their charges are unreachable.
Any advice on how change after JAB selections?
Changing is not a problem.
She can report and register for what shes been called for. Then immediately afterwards, within some time allowed in the semester, she can apply for and transfer to any course her marks allow from among the various courses at KU. With 81 points, she will be spoilt for choice.
She will have to take the initiative and follow this up, depending on how badly she wants it.
But first and important, make her become a registered student first.
That is how things were at KU about a decade ago, and might not have changed. Hope it helps.
Rank: Member Joined: 3/24/2010 Posts: 677 Location: Nairobi
She can change as you have been advised but word of caution is that it is a nightmare. A large number give up while in the process. Be aware that while hustling up and down in different offices to change you are missing classes for which you are still expected to sit for cats and exams for the course you were chosen for. However you still have to camp in those offices for any form usaidizi. As yesuwangu has said register 1st and let your child know not to sit back and expect it to happen. It is proper hustling All the best
Problem will be if the course she wants is not offered at KU!!!....some time back there was always a window for changing before reporting date, I don't know if it still exists....you can as well visit JAB offices at Main Campus!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Rank: New-farer Joined: 11/21/2010 Posts: 50 Location: nairobi
if she wants to undertake a different course at a diff uni then she has to apply for a transfer BEFORE the opening date of KU..ama as soon as she gets the calling letter from KU...if she waits mpaka KU opens then she will only be allowed to change courses within KU....bt the process is hectic!
Rank: Member Joined: 12/8/2009 Posts: 274 Location: Ltktk
with an A she should get any course she applied.this is the problem with this double intake. is Bsc ICT offered in KU? whats the capacity in KU? sijui kama there is appealing kwa JAB but you can try. i am sure they have messed many students coz they have done this thing in a hurry.you can imagine a double intake where there is no doubling of lecturers and halls of res. there are some universities yet to admit the 2009 group.hata afathali KU. ...things fall apart...the centre cannot hold..mere anarchy is loosed upon the world...w b yeats
Honestly? This is not YOUR problem! She's over 18 years of age, isn't she? Let her worry about it. You have done your part - supported her up to form 4. If she doesn't ask for help, don't offer it. Assume that she is bright enough to make her own decisions... and seeing the grades she scored, I am quite certain she is very bright. Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
mwakamoja wrote:Hi Wazua Family,My kid scored A-(81Pts) in 2010 and JAB has randomly given her B.Sc Hospitality and Tourism management @KU against her passion for B.Sc in ICT.She never changed anything since that was her choice 1a,b&c.Strathmore had offered her a place for the same this year but their charges are unreachable.
Any advice on how change after JAB selections? Go to UON main campus and ask for the JAB offices. They will tell you what the requirements for BSC IT Comp science are for this intake which you van evaluate against your kid's points (A- does not mean that she qualifies automatically. Her scores in maths, 2 sciences and 1 language are what make up the aggregate score which is the key indicator used during selection). If she qualifies, I would advice transfer to UON or JKUAT as to the best of my knowledge, KU does not offer BSC in comp science and most of its science degrees were rejected by the Engineers registration board. If all fails, try your best and take her to Strath and ask them to help out with whatever scholarships there may be.
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 193 Location: nairobi
I would suggest that she visits JAB and changes her courses before reporting at KU
Before she starts the process of changing, the following should be clear:
1. How many points are required for the course she wants to apply for and which is the required combination.
you might have an A but not qualify for a certain course; this can be due to the required combination subjects for the course e.g.you failed in lets say Physics/mathematics or languages which affects the required aggregate point required for the course. or you might want to apply for Geology and u did n't take Geography which might be mandatory etc. 2. which university offers the course she wants to apply for.
Example:You might discover lets say UoN and Maseno/Moi offers the course but the points of entry for UoN higher or very competitive so she might opt to apply in Maseno/Moi which might not be very competitive. I know my classmates who scored lower points in KCSE were admittted to do BA in MOI but they changed the courses to Law which i could not do at UoN
3. She will then indicate the first choice as the course which she has attained the required points for a particular university.
If lets say UoN has very many applications they will pick the top guys so one might have qualified but not be admmitted. thats when the second choice is considered.
just visit the offices for advise when there is less traffic as the revising period is usually crazy(lots of guys)
I am an Alumni of KU. What i know is that you have to register first for the course admitted and seek transfer to a course of your choice within the University provided you meet the minimum threshhold. For your infomation, the change of courses bureaucracy (it's hectic)is explained in detail during the first week of orientation or you can get details from academic registrar. History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
BGL wrote:I am an Alumni of KU. What i know is that you have to register first for the course admitted and seek transfer to a course of your choice within the University provided you meet the minimum threshhold. For your infomation, the change of courses bureaucracy (it's hectic)is explained in detail during the first week of orientation or you can get details from academic registrar.
I am an alumni of the UON and know that there are 2 ways to do it and option 1 which has the least risk is visiting JAB before registering at KU. She should only attempt that once she has exhausted the first option
There you go Mwakamoja. Now you have more than enough information for your daughter.
mukiha wrote:Honestly? This is not YOUR problem!
She's over 18 years of age, isn't she?
Let her worry about it. You have done your part - supported her up to form 4.
If she doesn't ask for help, don't offer it. Assume that she is bright enough to make her own decisions... and seeing the grades she scored, I am quite certain she is very bright. Mukiha...I concur with you let her follow this up on her own...ama they are those small ladies, when they enter ur office u think it is a class 6 girl?? update president set president = speaker where president is null
accelriskconsult wrote:BGL wrote:I am an Alumni of KU. What i know is that you have to register first for the course admitted and seek transfer to a course of your choice within the University provided you meet the minimum threshhold. For your infomation, the change of courses bureaucracy (it's hectic)is explained in detail during the first week of orientation or you can get details from academic registrar.
I am an alumni of the UON and know that there are 2 ways to do it and option 1 which has the least risk is visiting JAB before registering at KU. She should only attempt that once she has exhausted the first option Agreed!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
My son scored an A- and has been selected to persue BSc. Informatics, Moi University. He does want to persue the course, which after checking is offered in Moi only and Stratmore. He did an interview in Stratmore and was selected but the fee is prohibitive. My question is how good is Moi in offering this course and what is the difference of BSc, Computer Science and BSc. Infomatics Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
KenSaf wrote:My son scored an A- and has been selected to persue BSc. Informatics, Moi University. He does want to persue the course, which after checking is offered in Moi only and Stratmore. He did an interview in Stratmore and was selected but the fee is prohibitive. My question is how good is Moi in offering this course and what is the difference of BSc, Computer Science and BSc. Infomatics Kensaf I am not sure what the difference is BSc informatics sounds like one of the courses that universities started without consulting the appropriate professional body. There was a list in the business daily a while back. I would advice that you check with the engineers Registration Board to confirm that the MU version is accredited.
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
I think there is a lot of ignorance on how JAB admissions work. These days they use weighted clusters. Meaning even if a student scored 48 in the four cluster subjects it is still weighted by what the student got in total 84 being the highest. BSc (Computer Science) has been very competitive requiring 46.8 in 2009. As for changing, at UoN a student need to have qualified for the desired course ab-initio and there needs to be a vacancy at the desired course. Meaning some other student must leave that course... quite difficult but all the best anyway. "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Rank: Member Joined: 7/9/2011 Posts: 730 Location: Nairobi
@Mukiha, as a responsible parent it s still his problem, if my dad didnt intervene back in the day i may have ended up taking up French in KU which was i totally not for but had given up to. @acceril The BSc Information Science in Moi Uni is good, other colleges call the same course Library Science) our goals are best achieved indirectly
Rank: Member Joined: 1/22/2011 Posts: 322 Location: Chicago, IL, USA
A Computer Science degree is more universally accepted as a major for someone that wants to go into ICT.
A Library Science degree will require frequent explanation, that is, IF your resume is chosen and you get a chance to explain it to begin with.
Hospitality and Tourism... unless one is going to OWN a hotel or resort, where your "qualifications" to be an owner are simply having the title to the property and going from there, there isn't as much money to be made, and aren't as many jobs in that as in ICT. In addition, the jobs that are available in hospitality pay much less. Everyone in business now-a-days has computers that need people to operate and administer them. This will only increase with time.
Best,
Hill
Rank: Member Joined: 11/21/2006 Posts: 608 Location: Ruiru
Lots of Universities in Kenya continue to name their courses creatively to give an impression of differentiation but end up confusing the would be consumers, the prospective students. I would urge you to go beyond the name and look at the course content. The best way is to benchmark the content with BSc Computer Science at UoN. IMHO, it is more versatile and really prepares the students for a wider post school grounds. Informatics is just a subset of computer science. "..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Groups
Advice
Change of a degree course