wazua Wed, Aug 6, 2025

Donkey Butchers
#1 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:04:35 PM

From what i saw in yesterdays news these fellows must be really experienced butchers.. how do they remove all the meat and just leave ribs and bones..

Na kwani hakuna watu hununua hoooves and kichwa(MDIHE) for making soup..
#2 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:46:41 PM

chemos wrote:
From what i saw in yesterdays news these fellows must be really experienced butchers.. how do they remove all the meat and just leave ribs and bones..

And they do it the dark of the night.
Pitch dark.
Pray

Bettertry
#3 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 12:55:07 PM

@chemos, nakuambia ata ng'ombe ama mbuzi hazichinjwa'ngi ivyo!!!

And about making surwa from the beast of burden matharigos (hooves) & head(s)... this would be a dead give away & gladily inviting a prison sentence for dealing in an illegal biz!!! Imagine going to ur usual base for a cup of soup -kutoa hii jeve- alfu lo... mwenye kuuza akifungua sufuria kuchota surwa... badala ya kichwa ya ng'ombe unakutana na ... si utapigwa na butuwa twa hapo hapo!!!
We Will Either Find a Way or Create One - HANNIBAL
#4 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 1:59:28 PM

To those who love the roadside mutura, buyer beware
panomaz
#5 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:05:00 PM

Robinhood wrote:

and samosasShame on you
Don't limit your challenges, but challenge your limits
#6 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:19:22 PM

chemos wrote:

...Soup ya hizo hooves is good for a man who is looking for a baby boy!
#7 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 2:26:34 PM

[quote=Magigi
...Soup ya hizo hooves is good for a man who is looking for a baby boy![/quote]

Wacha mbangi kiyana.
chikita
#8 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 3:43:06 PM

[quote=Magigi

Wacha mbangi kiyana.
[/quote]
hehehe Guka, Magigi probaly thinks his kicking ability will improve from the matharigos!! smile
StatMeister
#9 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 3:56:18 PM

chemos wrote:

Zi, hiyo ni horn ya chameleon (and sometimes ya rhino)
A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
StatMeister
#10 Posted : Thursday, August 18, 2011 4:02:14 PM

Robinhood wrote:

Kwanza mutura zingine kubwa, ni ka ya elephant alafu ni 5 bob,doesn't add up
Spend.thrift
#11 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 3:32:21 PM

I believe many have eaten donkey meat or worse without knowing it, going by the many stories highlighted in the media since 2000.

Why else would beef taste differently if all came from cows? Warning signs include lower than usual prices.

I have seen butchers in my place leave the hoovepart of the cow as evidence that its beef. Avoid those tunyama twa kuongezwa....I'm talking of those tired pieces of flesh that the butcher adds to the ratili to balance the weight desired...Then pre roasted nyam chom....

Why do differnt brands of beef sausages or beef products taste distinctly different yet they are s upposed to have come from the same cow.

On a different note, someone asked a question in Daily Nation yesterday that begs for an answer...The question was "Where are the dead dogs buried in Nairobi?"
MCHUNA
#12 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 4:10:02 PM

chemos wrote:

Donkey carcass meat doesn't stick to the bone like the way cows/goats etc does.It just pills off kama nguo,due to its dryness.thats makes it very easy to slaughter.also know that the Ass doesn't resist or struggle much during the process.
One thing guyz have to know is that its meat has many nutritional value and is recommended to those who have issues za sugar,gout etc
#13 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 4:15:36 PM

MCHUNA wrote:
who have issues za sugar,gout etc

AiiiiiiH!!....Is this real or you heard it from the snake oil man?smile

StatMeister
#14 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 4:27:51 PM

MCHUNA wrote:
chemos wrote:

Donkey carcass meat doesn't stick to the bone like the way cows/goats etc does.It just pills off kama nguo,due to its dryness.thats makes it very easy to slaughter.also know that the Ass doesn't resist or struggle much during the process.
One thing guyz have to know is that its meat has many nutritional value and is recommended to those who have issues za sugar,gout etc

Haiya, you have above average knowledge of donkeys

Eh? Eh? Eh? Eh? Eh?
#15 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 5:02:06 PM

MCHUNA wrote:
chemos wrote:

Fungua roho...umechinja ngapi? ati it doesn't struggle much...such irony considering its life is full of struggles! This kind of deep insight can only come with experience

BTW, once when these stories were all over the press a butcher was heard saying:'sioni ubaya wa nyama ya funda, si hata nimesomesha watoto wangu nayo?

How many years are those?!

Tafakari hayo...

Spend.thrift
#16 Posted : Friday, August 19, 2011 5:08:27 PM

MCHUNA wrote:
chemos wrote:

Donkey carcass meat doesn't stick to the bone like the way cows/goats etc does.It just pills off kama nguo,due to its dryness.thats makes it very easy to slaughter.also know that the Ass doesn't resist or struggle much during the process.One thing guyz have to know is that its meat has many nutritional value and is recommended to those who have issues za sugar,gout etc

Wewe Mchuna. How did you find this out. I hope you don't run a butchery.

I believe you could be wrong. One there was this ass that had refused to get out of the way to the gate to my place. I decided to shtua it kidogo. My hardbody car still has the dent todate, and the kick must have been 200kgs plus because I thought the car would tip over.
#17 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2012 5:33:14 AM

MCHUNA wrote:
chemos wrote:

hii kijana ni suspect inakaa imechuna enough donkeys where are iteere mboys!! Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

anyway as we omba serikali iangalie hii mambo ya donkey meat, Tanzanian's are demanding zebra meat else no census
#18 Posted : Tuesday, May 16, 2017 2:09:21 PM

MCHUNA wrote:
who have issues za sugar,gout etc

AiiiiiiH!!....Is this real or you heard it from the snake oil man?smile

It is REAL...

https://www.theguardian....edicine-slaughter-price

https://www.theguardian....ng-communities-tanzania

C&P
Thousands of donkeys in developing countries are being killed and their skins sold to China for use in traditional medicine, reveals a report published today by the Donkey Sanctuary.

Demand for donkey hide, which is boiled to produce gelatine – the key ingredient in a medicine called ejiao – has raised the price and the rate of slaughter of the animals, threatening the livelihoods of poor communities who rely on the them.

The emergence of the global trade in donkey hide is attributed to the rise of China’s middle class and increased perception of the medicine’s efficacy. Ejiao can sell for up to £300 per kilo.

“It’s what we refer to as a blood tonic. It’s good for building up the body and helps with what is known in Chinese medicine as ‘blood deficiency’, for conditions such as anaemia and heavy periods, as well as irritating dry coughs,” says Emma Farrant, president of the Register of Chinese Herbal Medicine. “It usually comes in blocks of dried pieces which are melted down into a decoction of herbal mixture to drink.”