Investor
Stocks
KQ goes back to budget airline
http://www.businessdaily...4/-/5gxr6f/-/index.html
Interesting when you remember that Naikuni's first major strategic move was to dismantle Flamingo. But the closing comment from F540's Ops Director is telling: “When an Airline like Kenya airways enters the business you are in, you must be prepared or risk being pushed out of business,”Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
mukiha wrote:http://www.businessdailyafrica.com/Corporate+News/KQ+opens+new+battlefront+with+low+cost+arm/-/539550/1216214/-/5gxr6f/-/index.html
Interesting when you remember that Naikuni's first major strategic move was to dismantle Flamingo.
But the closing comment from F540's Ops Director is telling: “When an Airline like Kenya airways enters the business you are in, you must be prepared or risk being pushed out of business,” This is in refernce to the short domestic routes that KQ plies i. e Malindi, Mombasa, kisumu. En more so it's not from KQ's management but a director experiencing competition. The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence
kq is approaching that confusing state where you are just too big to fight the small guys who have little operation overheads yet at the same time not enough muscle to battle it out with the big boys like qatar or quantas airline African parents don't know how to say sorry.. the closest you will get to a sorry is a 'have you eaten'
KQ is increasingly biting more than it can chew. They Want to do everything at the same time with little reagard to their major weaknesses.
Be operating to all African Cities within 2 years, Having Dedicated cargo planes and now a low cost subsidiary?.
Lets wait and see.
F540 is struggling to stay afloat. Having difficulties paying suppliers... Nothing is real unless it can be named; nothing has value unless it can be sold; money is worthless unless you spend it.
but where does JetLink fare in all this - surely they are also a contender for a fair share of the market ?
In terms of strategy, this is a bright idea although already tried out. Evey major airline has gone this way especially in Europe where we have KLM City Hopper, Lufthansa Regional, Austrian Arrows (for Austrian Airlines) and many more.
KQ initially used services of Eagle Aviation to do Kisumu and MSA flights then formed Flamingo, dismantled it and now Jambo jet is in the offing.
My wish is that they stop treating this as a rumour. I would rather they announced the inaugural jambo jet flight to Lodwar, Kisumu or Kakamega, where we hear the news and see the regional jet.
They should consider getting some crop dusters (turbo props) like the de Havilland Dash, SAAB or the ATR on their fleet to comb areas like Lodwar, Loki e.t.c because this is the only way to ensure the ultimate safe connection, say for a traveller from Geneva via Nairobi to Kakuma refugee camp.
Rank: Chief Joined: 1/3/2007 Posts: 18,223 Location: Nairobi
LCCs are common but need to be well-run i.e. like an entrepreneur! Yaani, NIMBLE... On the Nairobi-Mombasa flight, I do not need a sandwich or soda. What I want is a 'late' check-in i.e. For a 10am flight I want to check in as late as 9.45am not 9am. I want a 'cheap' fare & I am happy with 'tight' seating for a 1 hour flight! If you are fat then buy 2 seats or fly in cargo. I want multiple flights daily & flexibility. Like a matatu service lakini a Double M not City Hoppa! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
I thought KQ already has domestic flights at very competitive flights vis a vis F540 and others? Sehemu ndio nyumba
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
VituVingiSana wrote:LCCs are common but need to be well-run i.e. like an entrepreneur!
On the Nairobi-Mombasa flight, I do not need a sandwich or soda. What I want is a 'late' check-in i.e. For a 10am flight I want to check in as late as 9.45am not 9am.
I want a 'cheap' fare & I am happy with 'tight' seating for a 1 hour flight! If you are fat then buy 2 seats or fly in cargo.
I want multiple flights daily & flexibility. Like a matatu service lakini a Double M not City Hoppa! Surely! Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Mainat wrote:I thought KQ already has domestic flights at very competitive flights vis a vis F540 and others? ....yeah but they wanna reduce the costs in maintaining these flights ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Will make sense to me if they use Wilson as the hub, but transfer-to-intl pax will be a challenge.
Gordon Gekko wrote:Will make sense to me if they use Wilson as the hub, but transfer-to-intl pax will be a challenge. Int'l can fly KQ from JKIA... the others might use Wilson. Lakini, I think it will be from JKIA. Or just preparing to get ready to use the new terminal. Also huge plus if KQ pax can use the CBD-JKIA line asap! Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
BTW, who remembers onejetone? http://www.onejetone.com/
They are currently recruiting.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/23/2010 Posts: 868 Location: La Islas Galápagos
VituVingiSana wrote:Gordon Gekko wrote:Will make sense to me if they use Wilson as the hub, but transfer-to-intl pax will be a challenge. Int'l can fly KQ from JKIA... the others might use Wilson. Lakini, I think it will be from JKIA. Or just preparing to get ready to use the new terminal. Also huge plus if KQ pax can use the CBD-JKIA line asap! All depends on the aircraft to be used for these flights. Some stats: * Wilson runway length = 1,440m * JKIA runway length = 4,000m The runway requirements for some aircraft: * 737 = 2,000m * 747 = 3,200m * Embraer = 1,400m To these runway lengths, add requirements for complications e.g. wind, rain, difficult landing, visibility, engine failure, flaps, etc etc. KQ will only operate from Wilson if they operate Cessna or something small A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Also remember that when power goes out at JKIA, flights are diverted to Entebbe and not Wilson, mostly since the airplanes cannot land at Wilson except for emergency landings. A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
@statmeister - Interesting info. So there is a chance KQ may use the Embraers at Wilson if the 1,440m is sufficient? [tho isn't the safety margin of 40m too little?] Greedy when others are fearful. Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase Warren Buffett
Rank: Veteran Joined: 8/30/2007 Posts: 1,558 Location: Nairobi
Runway length require is quite a relative term. The shorter the runway, the more limited the payload. I doubt Wilson is on the cards. Majorly because: 1. Wilson has no IAPs- no instrument approaches 2. Will severly affect payload uplift 3. Too many obstacles on takeoff path further limiting climb limited weight. 4. Too much traffic in Wilson. Too many training flights, charters etc. Infact, the guys who are supposed to be using Wilson are moving to Ololoitikosh(Orly) Airport. 5. Too tight for an airliner, albeit even for the ERJ
VituVingiSana wrote:@statmeister - Interesting info. So there is a chance KQ may use the Embraers at Wilson if the 1,440m is sufficient? [tho isn't the safety margin of 40m too little?] Willy has 2 runways, 07/25 (1,462) & 14/32 (1,540), while Embraer runway requirements are E170 (1,644), E175 (2,244m), E190 (2,056), E190 (2,179). A headwind reduces these lengths, meaning take-off on 07 of 07/25 (take-off from Willy towards South B, highly unadvisable) Too much against Embraer or Boeing at Willy A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Horton wrote:Runway length require is quite a relative term. The shorter the runway, the more limited the payload. I doubt Wilson is on the cards. Majorly because: 1. Wilson has no IAPs- no instrument approaches 2. Will severly affect payload uplift 3. Too many obstacles on takeoff path further limiting climb limited weight. 4. Too much traffic in Wilson. Too many training flights, charters etc. Infact, the guys who are supposed to be using Wilson are moving to Ololoitikosh(Orly) Airport. 5. Too tight for an airliner, albeit even for the ERJ
@Horton, without ILS, planes will require larger separations, with the larger Embraers out-competing the smaller planes. One E190 taking off will mean no takeoffs by small craft for up to 10 minutes on the same runway. The Es should just go to JKIA Also, if a plane has faulty flaps, slats or landing gear, you add on runway length. A bad day fishing is better than a good day at work
Investor
Stocks
KQ goes back to budget airline