5 Pages123>»
britak undersubscription?
kagazia
#1 Posted : Friday, July 15, 2011 6:32:55 PM

is this possible?just from sib dint see any activity of an ipo there
josiah33
#2 Posted : Friday, July 15, 2011 7:01:09 PM

Well! blame it on the price of unga. I am struggling to put ugali on the table and i even forgot there was an IPO that's why u didn't see me at SIB.
#3 Posted : Friday, July 15, 2011 7:03:18 PM

The timing for this offer is very poor i tell you. I am not a financial analyst but i would not float my shares in such an environment, the worst being a company that made a turnaround to profit making just before the IPO. I would touch this with a very long pole, lads.
QW25071985
#4 Posted : Friday, July 15, 2011 8:50:52 PM

well. i will just keep to myself....i said now is the time to put your money away and let the bargains come to you.But still i am seeing people buying stocks like its a fish market...
This IPO is a NO NO NO NO NO NO NO for me...
i just donot understand whats the rush in listing ??? kwani kuna zawadi ???
#5 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 11:03:17 AM

Benson Wairegi: "I'm very impressed about the numbers coming in about our IPO"

Soon we'll know if he's telling us the truth...
#6 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 11:17:08 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

This IPO has highly been marketed in foreign markets... his guys have been to SA and several countries in the UK... he may not entirely be telling half truths... he could actually be telling the truth but we'll get to know as time goes by.
Kenyan Oracle
#7 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 11:50:00 AM

I agree with QW & Sober. I don't know what the rush is for to list. I wouldn't go for it. Just look at TCL where its heading, after so much hype. It's heading southwards. This is a sure sign of the stock market direction. With the rush it reminds me so much of the Kengen, Kenya Re IPO & Mumias saga, just before and after 2007 elections. Most investors were left holding monkeys in their hands. If this is something to go by.
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#8 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 11:50:19 AM

The guy talked so confidently on telly yesterday.
#9 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 11:59:03 AM

Kenyan Oracle wrote:
I agree with QW & Sober. I don't know what the rush is for to list. I wouldn't go for it. Just look at TCL where its heading, after so much hype. It's heading southwards. This is a sure sign of the stock market direction. With the rush it reminds me so much of the Kengen, Kenya Re IPO & Mumias saga, just before and after 2007 elections. Most investors were left holding monkeys in their hands. If this is something to go by.

Interesting how all investors here keep claiming that cash is king when the market is on the low... because you are able to get bargains etc.... I dont know what makes it different for companies... they are trying to position themselves before everything hits rock bottom and starts to rise again..... that way, even if you were a shareholder, you'd commend them for the job they have done... not waiting until the tide is up in the sky for them to start "investing"... if one way of raising that cash for expansion and getting into real estate is by way of IPO, then the management is doing a great job to their shareholders.... dont you agree?
Kenyan Oracle
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 12:25:16 PM

Interesting how all investors here keep claiming that cash is king when the market is on the low... because you are able to get bargains etc.... I dont know what makes it different for companies... they are trying to position themselves before everything hits rock bottom and starts to rise again..... that way, even if you were a shareholder, you'd commend them for the job they have done... not waiting until the tide is up in the sky for them to start "investing"... if one way of raising that cash for expansion and getting into real estate is by way of IPO, then the management is doing a great job to their shareholders.... dont you agree?

For an IPO I'd rather invest in an upward moving market than otherwise. Yeah cash is King. For the other stocks you are able to get a bargain since u have a track record + fundamentals as a guideline. Their timing is just wrong. Also with so many companies rushing to offload to the public is there something fishy (using the Kengen, Mumias & Kenya Re examples) just before 2012? I know some might say the examples given were Gova shareholding but the same IPO's & listing are cronies for the same Gok.
You lose money chasing women, but you never lose women chasing money - NAS
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 12:28:48 PM

@Wendz is right the company knows the market is on a bear run,just like COOP IPO which was under-subscribed but they are so enthusiastic about the offer is as if we are not seeing what they are seeing...Looking at the numbers Britak actually rivals and sometime outpace jubilee when you look at some metrics so Even though there are skepticism on the future of its share price we might get a rude shock when we fail to get the shares below the 9/= mark.
Gadaffi
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 12:30:56 PM

one thing u nid 2 understand is that quite a n.o of pple-mostly in rural areas n th illiterate- only hv access 2 info from britak via media which is tellin pple 2 buy. even if u were 2 give them th prospectus, they cant even do a basic analyses of the financial stmts, they simply rely on hearsay(adverts frm britax).
so one way or another, th IPO will have its takers. i do nt hav any facts bt i think most wanjikus own shares via ipo..
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 12:46:53 PM

Can the negativity expressed in all wazua forums on britak change anything.i wait to see...i assume many pple are selling to buy britak.
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 1:00:13 PM

This IPO will be fully subscribed +-10% but the tricky bit will be when it resumes trading.
With such environment for sure it will not pull a kengen as most villagers are convinced it may do.
I will be hoping it trades at 6bob day three for me to lock my cash in there.
It may sound weird, but that is the general mood/trend in the market.
Dod
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 1:01:06 PM

I was at my broker's office on Tuesday and noticed that a majority of the clients were there for the IPO.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 1:15:25 PM

@sober we are sailing in the same boat....so you wont see me on the last day standing on a 3km queue waiting for my application to be processed like we will witness come the deadline date.
#17 Posted : Thursday, July 28, 2011 2:26:47 PM

Who will you sell to?
#18 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 10:59:57 AM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Laughing out loudly Another reasom that proves management will say anything
JabaBoeku
#19 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 11:04:32 AM

thats why its called Management
#20 Posted : Tuesday, August 23, 2011 12:10:56 PM

It has been under subscribed...