wazua Sun, Jan 26, 2025

PEACOCK EGGS/ CHICKS
incognito
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:49:50 PM

Anyone know where i can buy peacock (Peafowl) eggs or chicks? Is there a dealer in Kenya?
Excelsior
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 5:35:06 PM

@incognito,

I once saw an advert for a guy dealing with ornamental birds. Try this number 0722 173068. Best of luck
Foz00
#3 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 11:50:26 AM

with a confirmed order i can import and hatch the eggs for you then deliver live health birds then you pay.
incognito
#4 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 1:11:17 PM

Gathige ahsante sana! Let me try the number then will let you know how it goes.
Excelsior
incognito
#5 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 1:12:50 PM

Foz00 Please contact me at kenyanmerchant@live.com so that we go into details.
Excelsior
incognito
#6 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 4:57:17 PM

Foz00 what give me an indicative cost for a pair of peacocks.
Excelsior
Querry
#7 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 7:19:25 PM

pea(e) COCK!
#8 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 5:23:19 PM

Foz00 wrote:
with a confirmed order i can import and hatch the eggs for you then deliver live health birds then you pay.

Translation is anaweza kukuzalishia pea cockLaughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly
Foz00
#9 Posted : Wednesday, July 06, 2011 8:09:38 PM

sorry for delay in response,
@ incognito - i have never done this so no pricing but around 30k, i plan to have peacocks and this led to research. successfully hatched guinea fowl from wild eggs.

jasonhill
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 1:05:51 AM

Are these for pets, zoos, research, or for eating? What/who is the market for these birds?

Best,

Hill
cmk
#11 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 7:41:43 AM

30k is too costly..a mature bird goes for kitu 4-5k
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
incognito
#12 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 1:53:57 PM

FoZ00 that price is high. Could you review it downwards, seeing as you have no experience in hatching peafowl?

CMK, do you have an idea where i can the birds/

Hill: They are pets; Basically.

Querry...i get the joke. I meant the bird. The one with feathers and two eyes. :)

Dossy...the end justifies the means, doesn't it? Hata kama lugha inatatanisha...akizalisha ni sawa. lol
Excelsior
Barrywhite
#13 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 2:31:26 PM

I once tried my hand in parrots and their eggs. Amazingly profitable trade with high risks though. For one, KWS had no known regulations about their trade, even going against CITES certification many times. Every time l imported, requirements would vary depending on which KWS officer came for inspections. That would cause massive delays as sometimes the documents required would be processed from countries of origin (rwanda or congo, deep in forests in the village, which meant l had to travel myself and start documentation). Secondly, a list of tests that the birds undergo upon arrival in Dubai (my destination then). Believe you me, l once lost half the flock out of stress after they were culled in Dubai because the vet in Rwanda mis-spelt some parrot disease name, which the parrot was free off. Six grown parrots died after being caged for two weeks awaiting correction of wrong spelling only, but in terms of cost, it was huge. I hang my boots and said what the hell. So guys if you want to export or import ornamental birds, you'd better prepare for a long, rough, uncertain ride and highly profitable/loss making journey. When it pays, you laugh all the way to your dollar account. When it doesnt, you will gnash and grind your teeth, just to quote the good book!
The laudable is more often than not rendered laughable by overclaim
GM
#14 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 3:03:25 PM

@incognito

There is a place in Karen that deals with all types of birds. Peakocks, parrots, etc. Don't have exact location details but it is near Faith Evanglistic Ministry Church on Langata road

I guess you could get the eggs/chicks from there

GM
incognito
#15 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 5:07:51 PM

Barrywhite. thanks for the insightful comment. Sounds depressing yet lucrative. I guess most good things are like that!

GM will check the place out. I just need some indicative prices to work with
Excelsior
Foz00
#16 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 9:37:00 PM

4-5k for peacocks i will buy them off you at double that. grown pair goes for 60-70k
incognito
#17 Posted : Friday, July 08, 2011 12:19:34 PM

Foz00 a grown pair is 60K?
Excelsior
Kabird
#18 Posted : Tuesday, July 26, 2011 8:49:52 PM

Is there stiff regulations/ custom inspection on importing peacock eggs? what is it that is required..
Kabird
#19 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 4:50:34 AM

incognito wrote:
Anyone know where i can buy peacock (Peafowl) eggs or chicks? Is there a dealer in Kenya?

Did you get these birds yet?
#20 Posted : Wednesday, January 22, 2014 9:10:28 AM

IS peacock the new quail? If so I want in