wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Rogue Clearing & Forwarding Agent
kliff
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:06:56 PM

Hi Wazuans,

I imported a vehicle from Japan and it arrived in Mombasa on the 13th of June. The vehicle has been at the Port/CFS for the last 18 days, I paid duty on the 21st of June and ever since then the clearing and forwarding company has been saying the car will be out tomorrow. Is there any way out of this or am I at the agent’s mercy since they have my documents?
milken
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 2:25:41 PM

Do the following:
1. Determine whether the taxes have been paid.(Did you pay the taxes directly to KRA or to the clearing agent)
2. Determine whether the vehicle is still in the CFS?
3. See what additional charges are outstanding.
4. If the agent is still difficult call KRA Customs licensing Section and report.
Itari muting'oe ihuragwo ngi ni Ngai
kliff
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 3:09:31 PM

milken wrote:
Do the following:
1. Determine whether the taxes have been paid.(Did you pay the taxes directly to KRA or to the clearing agent)
4. If the agent is still difficult call KRA Customs licensing Section and report.

@milken thanks for the reply.

1. I paid directly to KRA using a bankers cheque.
Is there a way to find out if it is paid? The agent sent me a pdf containing the Customs Entry into Simba however I have no way of verifying its authenticity.
2. Is there a way to find out the CFS without asking the agent?
3. Additional charges would be Port Charges, is there a way of finding how much this is?
4. How fast would the licensing section act?
mnjoro
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 3:20:40 PM

Give the shipping details.Ships name and voyage no.That will help assist the CFS yard.As per bankers cheque did you write payable to Commissioner Customs Services dept A/C your name? If yes you are safe tax may have been paid.Give us the C63 no. and vehicle model to determine port charges.
kliff
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 3:48:01 PM

mnjoro wrote:
Give the shipping details.Ships name and voyage no.That will help assist the CFS yard.As per bankers cheque did you write payable to Commissioner Customs Services dept A/C your name? If yes you are safe tax may have been paid.Give us the C63 no. and vehicle model to determine port charges.

@mnjoro, yes I wrote the cheque payable to Commissioner Customs Services dept A/C my name.

What is the C63 no? The vehicle model is a Subaru Impreza Wagon GG2.

I have just checked the custom entry document again and I see it says the "Place of Discharge" is MCT. So I would assume that is the CFS
mnjoro
#6 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 4:36:46 PM

Yap sorry C17B is the customs entry.A number starting with 2011MSA.....top left corner.
MCT is the CFS call them they should help if you give them the Bill of Lading no.Thinks its under Transami.
FancyFace
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 30, 2011 4:52:49 PM

milken wrote:
Do the following:
4. [size=7]If the agent is still difficult call KRA Customs licensing Section and report.[/size]

this will NOT help at all and you can take that to the bank or wherever...#fromexperience

If you paid to the agent wewe kwisa..again from experience...Sad Sad

Problems can get out of proportion, and not only in the wee small hours. Don't let the problems eclipse the Master. Let the Master eclipse the problems.
kliff
#8 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 12:05:49 PM

mnjoro wrote:
Yap sorry C17B is the customs entry.A number starting with 2011MSA.....top left corner.
MCT is the CFS call them they should help if you give them the Bill of Lading no.Thinks its under Transami.

@mnjoro I have confirmed that the car is still at the CFS, however number plates have not been issued. Is there a way to clear the car without the agency?
mnjoro
#9 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 4:12:11 PM

@Kliff
There is no way to clear without the agent/agency.Hope you are communicating with the agent now.
Pole lakini.
kliff
#10 Posted : Thursday, July 07, 2011 8:57:45 AM

mnjoro wrote:
@Kliff
There is no way to clear without the agent/agency.Hope you are communicating with the agent now.
Pole lakini.

@mnjoro thanks for all your help. Finally got the car. Managed to get the guy they use in Mombasa to do it for me. Apparently the agency owed someone at KRA money so they used the Delivery Order fee I had paid to settle it and then couldn't come up with the cash to pay for my D/O.

Know any good lawyers? smile