wazua Sat, Jan 25, 2025

Effects of mobile phone money transfer to the Kenyan Economy?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 4:37:28 PM

Just trying to think, what are the effects that were brought about in the Kenyan Economy due to M-PESA and the likes?

Positive Effects
i. Local economic expansion - You don't need to travel to the district headquarters to recieve or send money.
ii. Security - Money on my sim card would definitely keep away a useless pickpocket.
iii. Employment - The local Otieno/Wanjiku need not have degrees to be employed as an agent

Negative Effects
i. None
ii. NONE
iii. NOTHING

What do you think?

#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 6:04:25 PM

Negatives...some of the unbanked will remain unbanked. They have MPesa anyway!
FUNKY
#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 8:56:45 AM

If i am not wrong M-KESHO acts like a bank account.
Omenaz
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 9:10:42 AM

@ Funky M-Kesho sure acts like a bank account where u can even get a loan depending on the transactions in ur M-KESHO account. The product now has been reloaded that is its now online. Read below
We are very pleased to inform you that after a long wait we have finally completed the development, testing, piloting and finally successful migration of the interim M-KESHO to M-KESHO online.
What does this mean:
1) For M-KESHO transactions initiated from the handset by the customers there will be no waiting . The movement of funds is now real-time – online and funds are moved instantly.
2) For Linking of Equity M-KESHO account to M-PESA account, these function is now fully automated with no human intervention and the turnaround time for linking if all validations are successful has now been reduced to instant. i.e. as soon as the account is verified the linking happens immediately and customers receive the M-KESHO SMS to update menu immediately.
3) The bank has three more added functionalities to assist with reconciliation i.e. a) Can debit customer M-PESA account, b) Can credit customer M-PESA account and c) Can send the final payment to M-PESA during closure of account. This services will be referred to as “M-KESHO Bank initiated request”
4) The M-KESHO emergency loan product M-KOPO has been enabled and all pre-qualified M-KESHO customers can now request for an emergency loan for up to a max of 5000 and the funds will credited to their M-PESA accounts immediately if all the validations are successful .
5) The transcation confirmation SMS to customers have now been reduced to only one confirmation SMS from M-PESA
QD
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:36:53 AM

Mobile money transfer has enabled economic growth in the middle and lower level kenyans.
The problem with the world is that the intelligent people are full of doubts while the stupid ones are full of confidence