wazua Sat, Aug 2, 2025

What does this mean for Mumias Sugar Company?
#1 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 8:44:29 AM

Found this at bloomberg,

http://www.bloomberg.com...usiness-daily-says.html

That this mean, diabetics like me should buy MSC shares now, to recover insulin expenses?

Cde Monomotapa
#2 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 8:51:46 AM

Found this at bloomberg,

http://www.bloomberg.com...usiness-daily-says.html

That this mean, diabetics like me should buy MSC shares now, to recover insulin expenses?

hahaha...kitu kama hiyo. But I do not see why the panic coz these Co.s close for maintainance annually but they ensure they have adequate stocks to supply during the interim period.
Cde Monomotapa
#3 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 8:55:16 AM

Haiya?! I thought Nakumatt bought out Woolmart or which Woolmart is this? Nkt!
#4 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 9:00:35 AM

The only disadvantage is that the beneficiaries are the Sugar BROKERS (Middlemen) who are hiking the prices, not the Sugar Companies themselves!

I stand to be corrected!

Cde Monomotapa
#5 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 9:09:35 AM

The only disadvantage is that the beneficiaries are the Sugar BROKERS (Middlemen) who are hiking the prices, not the Sugar Companies themselves!

I stand to be corrected!

U make a very valid point there coz I highly doubt the millers would go on routine maintance without adequate stock piles.
the deal
#6 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 9:39:35 AM

Normal routine maintanance btwn MSC has not complained of any stock shortages.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 10:00:36 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

U make a very valid point there coz I highly doubt the millers would go on routine maintance without adequate stock piles.

Does it make business sense to stock simply because you'll be off production??......Fishcake!...Sugar companies do not stock.
GGK
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 2:52:15 PM

My two cents:
factories routinely close for maintenance, which is schedule. If Mumias knew ab-initio that they'll close for 1 month, then they produce for 11 month enough to cover the one month down time. That should never reflect on retail side..
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Cde Monomotapa
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 3:09:48 PM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Does it make business sense to stock simply because you'll be off production??......Fishcake!...Sugar companies do not stock.

Ok.
the deal
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 28, 2011 4:13:58 PM

If you know what you are doing you can make yourself alot of money @ the NSE, clearly most of retail investors just gamble aided by the mediocre Business Daily, not necessarily saying the media is not always right.
Genghis Khan
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:02:46 AM

http://www.africancapita...%80%9Cby-june%E2%80%9D/

What happened?
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
For Sport
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:24:08 AM

Genghis Khan wrote:
http://www.africancapitalmarketsnews.com/338/nse-to-launch-commodity-exchange-%E2%80%9Cby-june%E2%80%9D/

What happened?

"... some sceptics, [.]say the policy framework is not ready and the project is being rushed after the great success of the nextdoor Ethiopian Commodity Exchange (www.ecx.com.et). It cites Mr Daniel Mbithi, the secretary of the Kenya Coffee Planters and Traders (KCPT) association which runs Nairobi Coffee Exchange: “We do not have the necessary legal framework for this market. The current sense of urgency is merely the product of recent reports that a similar market has been established in neighbouring Ethiopia,” he said."

The sceptics were right.
the deal
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 10:27:53 AM

For Sport wrote:
Genghis Khan wrote:
http://www.africancapitalmarketsnews.com/338/nse-to-launch-commodity-exchange-%E2%80%9Cby-june%E2%80%9D/

What happened?

"... some sceptics, [.]say the policy framework is not ready and the project is being rushed after the great success of the nextdoor Ethiopian Commodity Exchange (www.ecx.com.et). It cites Mr Daniel Mbithi, the secretary of the Kenya Coffee Planters and Traders (KCPT) association which runs Nairobi Coffee Exchange: “We do not have the necessary legal framework for this market. The current sense of urgency is merely the product of recent reports that a similar market has been established in neighbouring Ethiopia,” he said."

The sceptics were right.

All talk No Action...its a cancer in Kenyasmile
Genghis Khan
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 29, 2011 12:31:27 PM

For Sport wrote:
Genghis Khan wrote:

What happened?

The sceptics were right.

I think the sceptics were wrong...

We can obviously just copy-paste this "legal framework" thing and tweak it as we go along...

I think its just the lack of someone keen in the drivers seat...

Think ... isn't there money to be made? Where did jimnah Mbaru go?
"I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME
"The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN
"Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
For Sport
#15 Posted : Friday, July 01, 2011 7:57:22 PM

@ Genghis Khan

yes there is money to be made. However, in most cases, the law follows business. Businessmen get in the mud, chart a path...and then the law follows to regulate their activities and facilitate their business. Case in point - MPESA. Remember all those arguments about whether they were offering banking services without proper licencing / regulation by the CBK?

Thinking about agricultural crops in this country, again I think its business that should chart the path. Already in practice, their are aspects of investing, trading or speculation on futures - like in mwea where brokers book the crop as it is being planted.

It may be easy enough to cut and paste the Ethiopian legislation you're referring to but I wonder which investor in their right mind would want to draw up contracts for certain overpoliticized (is that even a word) crops in this country. You hear about maize scandals, sugar scandals etc but never about rice scandals or millet scandals. i would not sit down with a farmer to draw up a contract to buy his harvest this year in November because come that month, some Minister will open his mouth to announce measures that will mess up my contract. (e.g. flood the country with cheap imports).

Having the law in place will be nice....but only if people are engaged in that business.
#16 Posted : Saturday, July 02, 2011 10:38:36 AM

Nzoia and MSC annual stops deffered for another week to help stabilise sugar shelf prices....I doubt it will work.Good thing though is that Nzoia has agreed to sell cane to MSC for the remainder upto stoppage and this should up the annual target...248 K MT of sugar possible......and this brings to fore what i always believe and i wish politicians from Western Kenya were wise enough.They would lobby for Nzoia takeover by MSC without neccessarily going to the tendering process (Competitive bidding).This would ensure continuty since MSC has the money and management capabilities,while Nzoia has the land and outgrowers....This would benefit Western Kenya a lot...but then....!!
#17 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 2:15:34 PM

What does this mean for Mumias Sugar Company?

#18 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 2:17:34 PM

Njung'e, when is he retiring? Or he'll be doubling up the jobs?smile
mwanahisa
#19 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 5:56:20 PM

@YCSUN, is this for real? Kidero wants to set up "shop" in Nai?
#20 Posted : Saturday, July 23, 2011 9:36:10 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
@YCSUN, is this for real? Kidero wants to set up "shop" in Nai?

Yep. Seeing is believing, ain't it?

Plus I've heard it discussed in Wazua before that he is interested in entering politics...