wazua Thu, Feb 6, 2025

domestic workers now to work under contracts?
#1 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 7:50:05 AM

The new ILO standards set out that domestic workers around the world who care for families and households, must have the same basic labour rights as those available to other workers: reasonable hours of work, weekly rest of at least 24 consecutive hours, a limit on in-kind payment, clear information on terms and conditions of employment, as well as respect for fundamental principles and rights at work including among others freedom of association and the right to collective bargaining.

#2 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 8:49:20 AM

Na walale,waoge,waku***,na wagonjeke kwao....

#3 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 10:24:05 AM

Na walale,waoge,waku***,na wagonjeke kwao....

Shame on you
#4 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 10:54:21 AM

House girls are some of the most unappreciated human beings on the planet.

There is this lady neigbour of mine who really lectures her house girl so much that I feel like getting out of my house to tell her to shut her mouth up.Last night she was doing it after 11 p.m.and her mouth oooh I tell you she is talented .She rolls it faster than Platos wife .She does 80words per second.Shame on you Shame on you.

I dont know when the lecture stopped.She went on until I slept .Reminds me of sweetie paraparapara song.

She has changed 3 house girls in the last three months.

No wonder she is single mother.I doubt any man can stand her mouth.

And women ask why we run away from them.

In my house , sitaki hiyo kelele and when my wifes overdoes it , I call her Kando and tell her to stop it.

With this neighbour of mine in mind , I support the new law.
2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Ms Mkenya
#5 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 10:57:41 AM

The implementation is going to be hard....

I pay for NHIF for mine & her children, I give her Sundays off (only for the day lakini), 2 weeks off in Dec as i use a temp and i give her a small bonus in Dec.. NSSF bado weka Sad

Beyond that will be hurting me..
....above all, to stand.
Noble
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 11:23:52 AM

'user' wrote:
House girls are some of the most unappreciated human beings on the planet.

There is this lady neigbour of mine who really lectures her house girl so much that I feel like getting out of my house to tell her to shut her mouth up.Last night she was doing it after 11 p.m.and her mouth oooh I tell you she is talented .She rolls it faster than Platos wife .She does 80words per second.Shame on you Shame on you.

I dont know when the lecture stopped.She went on until I slept .Reminds me of sweetie paraparapara song.

She has changed 3 house girls in the last three months.

No wonder she is single mother.I doubt any man can stand her mouth.

And women ask why we run away from them.

In my house , sitaki hiyo kelele and when my wifes overdoes it , I call her Kando and tell her to stop it.

With this neighbour of mine in mind , I support the new law.

Pole ndugu user.
You mean the wall is this thin? You need to change your neighbourhood. At this rate she will even hear what you do in your bedroom and am am sure you can expect a lecture. Something like'these married men....bla, bla bla'
Dash
#7 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 11:40:59 AM

Yes some househelps are mistreated but some things some of them do...wacha tu
@user you cant judge some1 by the number of househelps they change. I will change after every 3days if I have to until I find one who can take care of my child well
#8 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 12:15:55 PM

One thing I have seen and experienced as the head of a young family, If you treat your house girl well she will respond by treating your kids well doing her chores well and willingly and striving to be as perfect as she can.

You know some of these girls come from ushango where there are no flashing toilets .Hata mwingine pahali nilikuwa naishi aliambiwa akalete maji ya kunywa.Akaleta glass ya kwanza kisha akaambiwa alete ya pili.Kwenda akakaa sana .Mama nyumba akamwuliza kwanini amekaa hivyo.

Akamwambia nilikuwa nagoja kisima ijae ndio nichote Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly yaani ile maji ina drip kwa choo.Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly

Many of these girls are just innocent .You just need to train them slowly.

2012 is here.Kenya is Ours.Be Part of The Peace Keeping Mission To Protect Our Motherland.Say No To Violence and Tribal Hatred .If you can read this,wewe ni mtu amesoma, usifikirie kama mtu hajaenda shule .Ni Hayo Tu
Dash
#9 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 12:29:33 PM

@user.. That is hilarious and I have had similar experiences and wholly agree with you. But some girls no matter how you treat them they end up abusing/mistreating the child, stealing from you and other mishaps.
Its a 50/50 situation. Sometimes its the empoyer sometimes its the employee. I am just not for the notion that the housegirls are all angels who are always mistreated by their employers. Many people dont realize there are two sides of the coin
gadj
#10 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 12:52:45 PM

How will Atwoli and Co. make sure this law is implemented to the latter. I doubt if some of this rules can work in Kenya where the demand & supply of housegirls is not at par. So long as we have too many unemployed youths the ILO standards will be hard to implement.
#11 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 1:37:17 PM

What i really dislike is the way Atwoli runs to sign some of these things but has done absolutely nothing for our suffering brothers in industrial area. Some guys earn 10K a month, have no benefits and can be fired at will with no recourse. I dont even want to talk about the workplace safety issues. People still get locked inside factories overnight with no escape route should a fire break. If we cannot enforce employment laws within the formal sector, how will we enforce laws in this highly informal area?
#12 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 2:39:47 PM

Robinhood wrote:
What i really dislike is the way Atwoli runs to sign some of these things but has done absolutely nothing for our suffering brothers in industrial area. Some guys earn 10K a month, have no benefits and can be fired at will with no recourse. I dont even want to talk about the workplace safety issues. People still get locked inside factories overnight with no escape route should a fire break. If we cannot enforce employment laws within the formal sector, how will we enforce laws in this highly informal area?

......and there are thos in inda who are still paid 170/= per day!!!!

Sometimes I tend to think housemaids are some of the most lucky employees, here are people who need not worry about food, shelter, transport and sometimes clothing, what they are paid is net after expenses!!!!
mrs njung'e
#13 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 3:10:51 PM

Generally househelps from hardship areas make good househelps e.g kaos. But generally luhyas also tend to last.....the only thing is they have to go to kawangware every sunday for their offs!
#14 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 3:14:47 PM

The implementation phase will be nice to see how its done.For instance will they come to your house knock and ask if u have a househelp or they will come to ur place of work?
Some laws are better left for the west.