wazua Fri, Jan 10, 2025

Upscale Bar/Club/Lounge a la SkyLux - Worth It?
jasonhill
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:30:49 AM

Hi Guys,

Is it worth it to invest in such a venture now that Muthotho controls the tap?

I was thinking about sinking 2 million KES into a nice club/bar/lounge in the Karen area, as a side business, not a primary money-maker.

1. Is that enough money to start the venture?
2. Would it make money after Muthotho?
3. What are rents like in that area? Can you recommend a better area?

I do have a person that I can trust to run and monitor it, but I will not be able to tend to it regularly- too many other things going on.

Thoughts?

Thanks all!

Best,

Hill
QW25071985
#2 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 9:50:25 AM

Wow ! 2 million for a bar ? Wow. Mututho laws will definatly impact ur business even before you start.
Remember in the start up face you need to be able to recover ur investment and the last thing you need is prohibitive laws.
Its definatly not a gud venture.
Why not put your money into gud use by investing in the real estate boom.
Then come next year august invest in our local stock market .
accelriskconsult
#3 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 10:47:26 AM

JH, I doubt that Sh 2m will be enough if you want to set up a lounge bar. Both Rafikiz on Langata rd and Legend on Baricho Road cost in excess of Sh 4 m to set up
jasonhill
#4 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 11:00:01 AM

The Legend looks like it would cost around 40 million KES to build. Rafiki's maybe about 25. I was thinking of something considerably smaller and less upscale than that. Maybe take over an old restaurant setup and hire fundis to refurbish it. The Legend looks like a custom build out.

Mind you, I don't need sound, video, and lighting. I've already got that.

It seems, though, that without an entire restaurant, or without an attached hotel, the club business in Nairobi might not be a great investment- you guys tell me. That's why I wanted to shoot low with something small but nice for a few mil so that if it failed, no big deal.

I guess I could seek out plots like everyone else, but that's more of a primary business than a side one. I have family who are interested in running a club, and I wanted to see if it was feasible.

Thanks for the comments.

Best,

Hill
Ric dees
#5 Posted : Thursday, June 16, 2011 12:29:34 PM

Hill,

I think this could work with good research, see below an actual email of a similar venture i got myself involved in Kilimani/Kileleshwa area!

Dear xxxxx,
Thanks for your interest in partnering in running xxxxx and i hope you
come on board and that we will have a mutually beneficial business
relationship.

Here is the info you asked:
1. The annual turnover is between 8-10m
2. So far the profits have not been substantial
3. We dont have any loans
4. Staff salaries are btn 70-80k and i have a salary of 60k per month. The
salaries may fluctuate depending on the number of employees i have.
5. Future projections if we start the steak house and the other income
centres are as follows:
a. Cheeky bull steak house - Ksh. 50,000 daily or 1.5m per month.
b. Bar - Ksh 40,000 daily or 1.2m per month
c. Thufu(soup) corner - Ksh. 15,000 daily or ksh. 450,000 per month
d. Carwash - Ksh. 2,200 daily or ksh. 75,000 per month
e. Mpesa - rent out space for 10k per month
Total monthly income ksh. 3,235,000.
6. We are willing to sell a minimum of 20% shareholding for 2m. But if you
want more shares we can discuss.
I should point out that the last 2 years have been a learning process for
me because i had never ran a similar business before. I have made a few
mistakes but i think with a partner who can run the kitchen, then the
business can take of.
Let me know what you think about this asap so that i can make a decision.
I hope to hear from you soon.
Thanks,
xxxxx

- What i have learnt so far, to succeed in business in Kenya, avoid elitist theories, target the common man, you will laugh all the way to the bank (The simpler it is the better for you).
- I know the owner of Divinio and his biggest issue was "Kenyans should learn to PAY for ambience" Lesson he is not making money his target market is miniscule after investing so much esp his wine selection, but his strategy is a story for another day - this brings me to Skylux, was there to survey when was home and well hard to tell if their making money din't really see guys "spending" they seem to have attracted the wrong crowd those guys who rave in groups of 5-10 (no money there) went to the VIP area for good measure (bought the bottle of Whisky) thats what needed to get to the VIP, again din't see real spenders full of wannabees again pockets of large goups, CAVEAT this is just my obeservation on a very limited time.
- I don't know much bout Legends but had a cuppa with the guy who designed Rafikiz and he told me the interior cost inexcess of 8M, one of the partners told me there indeed they been making cash i think this was in the initial 1 year or so with this whole "Lounge" concept and flashy interior design something which was not as common in the market then however my gut says things are different now. Went to the sports bar in Karen (Nakumatt complex forget the name) first of it's kind and in my opinion the only real sports bar however they have been struggling to pull in numbers so i begin to imagine the lots of human traffic experienced in Westlands are college wannabees hence the large precence of matatus in the area and are they BIG spenders? well Jury is out!!

The greatest danger in times of turbulence is not the turbulence; it is to act with yesterday's logic.
jasonhill
#6 Posted : Wednesday, June 22, 2011 3:51:00 AM

Thanks for the tips guys.

Best,

Hill
#7 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 12:56:34 PM

@Ric dees its called Blanco sports grill it has all the ambience but on the few occassion ve been there its never full and the pricing is another issue
gathinga
#8 Posted : Thursday, June 23, 2011 1:11:41 PM

This bar/lounge business scares the sh*** out of me. I recently went to survey this place on TMALL (is it called infinity?). Huge investment. Lots of space, much more than Legend. and zero customers! On the same day, passed by Nrb west and place was bursting with wathii even on the rd.
Querry
#9 Posted : Friday, June 24, 2011 9:02:12 AM

From the above posts; i think the priority is identifying a target market; study their habits and offer them what they want.

Rafikiz is very popular and in all occassions i have been there it is usually full.

My two zim Cents reasons for its popularity is : when it was launched it became the in-thing.

everyone wanted to pass by Rafikiz at some point during the night out.
mapozi
#10 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 2:56:12 PM

@Hill, have you settled on anything yet?
jasonhill
#11 Posted : Saturday, September 03, 2011 3:10:15 PM

@mapozi, thanks for asking.

I'm going to build a PR and corporate communications firm, with in-house graphic design, a recording studio, and video editing suites next year. This will be a "side" business to my main computer consulting firm, to which my wife is taking the lead role in its expansion into East Africa.

The club business doesn't seem to have the return on investment that I'm looking for.

Best,

Hill
mapozi
#12 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 10:39:46 AM

@Hill, I think its commendable that you will be providing jobs for Kenyans. What is your take on how next year's plitical climate will affect your expansion plans into Kenya?
jasonhill
#13 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 12:08:29 PM

mapozi wrote:
@Hill, I think its commendable that you will be providing jobs for Kenyans. What is your take on how next year's plitical climate will affect your expansion plans into Kenya?

Thank you for the kinds words Mapozi. Though I know who the power players in Kenyan politics are, I try to stay completely out of it. No matter what happens or who gets elected, it doesn't affect my plans to eventually be taxpayer of the year. The Brits and Muhindis haven't been scared away; neither shall I be.

Any possible (God forbid) infighting or political unrest, in reality, doesn't affect my business plans much; it's a stain on the country's reputation for timid investors in the US, who have no idea that there are even concrete buildings in any of Africa, and of course devastating to the poor class, but to the knowledgeable, worldly businessperson, as sad and disruptive as such events may be, Kenya will always be a functioning, growing, stable business hub. That hasn't, and won't change.

And yes, my plans will always call for an all-Kenyan staff, save for a few international salespeople located in their respective markets.

Best,

Hill
jasonhill
#14 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 12:23:25 PM

One more thing about the bar/club business... Once I started getting the ball rolling on it, I started getting the distinct feeling that the family member that I was looking at having run it just wanted to use it to show off and have his buddies around to drink premium liquor, eat Nyama Choma, and for muclimbano purposes, on an unlimited bar tab- my tab. That gave it an eventual thumbs-down from my PM and from myself. For me, personally, it's just not worth the trouble and time for me to have to manage it and have to keep my boot on his neck in order to get a few shillings each month, and if I want a place to have a few drinks, there's always Sarova, Tribe, Karen CC, Muthaiga CC, and the multitude of restaurants, etc. etc. which are upscale, and are a good way to meet good people.
mapozi
#15 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 2:03:41 PM

My primary purpose of asking about your upscale club idea was that i wanted to connect you to a DJ friend of mine who specialises in house and rock music the kind that your would be target market really enjoys, though he also plays other types of music. Anyway all the best! I really find your advice on the various threads in wazua factual straight to the point and helpful. All the best when you expand into Kenya. We may even meet on some business front!
GGK
#16 Posted : Sunday, September 04, 2011 3:08:26 PM

I once had a shot at bar as a side business. Not so much of a hassle to run especially stock control... but you need an honest manager. My bar was eventually killed by the manager... but its something I'll try again later in life
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
cmk
#17 Posted : Thursday, September 08, 2011 8:40:03 AM

GGK wrote:
I once had a shot at bar as a side business. Not so much of a hassle to run especially stock control... but you need an honest manager. My bar was eventually killed by the manager... but its something I'll try again later in life

hope you didn't allow him to walk scot free..
bar biz is chaotic,and mututho and his cronies-nema,health and chiefs are making it the worst venture to engage in,but whoever survives these turbulent times will surely reap big
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 12:25:17 PM

I opened a small local bar with a sitting capacity of 30 pax after my encounter with alcoblow.So far am making gross sales of 5K-6K(on monday's i make sales of even 3K, of which 1K is my bill sometimes) per day and 20-25K for on Friday and Saturday combined.

My mark up is 35%
daily expenses are as below
Police(AP,chief,Nacada, OCPD)-500
Cleaning-200
Mislenous-500

Monthly expenses
Rent-25K
Waiter-17K
Water-1K
Electricity-2K

The bar operates from 5-11pm

I will be able to cut down on the police costs once i obtain the NACADA license which goes for 50K.

I anticipate the bar to breakeven by end of April 2014 and make some little profit if the daily sales steadily increase to 8-10k per day and 25-30k on Fridays and Saturdays

I hope and pray that more alcoblows to be introduced on the roads to encourage people to drink in their locals.
Chaka
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 4:00:14 PM

@Swenani,
Is this in the estate?Are you saying that the cops will ask for the Nacada licence failing which you then part with 500?
Did you pay goodwill?
What of the following:
Liqour Licence(Is this the same as the Nacada one?)
Business Licence(from City Hall) if in Nairobi
Health Certificate for the waiter
Music Copyright licence
kizee1
#20 Posted : Wednesday, February 26, 2014 7:34:12 PM

I opened a small local bar with a sitting capacity of 30 pax after my encounter with alcoblow.So far am making gross sales of 5K-6K(on monday's i make sales of even 3K, of which 1K is my bill sometimes) per day and 20-25K for on Friday and Saturday combined.

My mark up is 35%
daily expenses are as below
Police(AP,chief,Nacada, OCPD)-500
Cleaning-200
Mislenous-500

Monthly expenses
Rent-25K
Waiter-17K
Water-1K
Electricity-2K

The bar operates from 5-11pm

I will be able to cut down on the police costs once i obtain the NACADA license which goes for 50K.

I anticipate the bar to breakeven by end of April 2014 and make some little profit if the daily sales steadily increase to 8-10k per day and 25-30k on Fridays and Saturdays

I hope and pray that more alcoblows to be introduced on the roads to encourage people to drink in their locals.

whats your sitting capacity, gross margin of 35% is low,but guess its a neighborhood bar so that figures

what was your initial capital outlay?