wazua Mon, Jul 28, 2025

What to do in 1 acre with minimal capital
Abby
#1 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 8:44:09 AM

Good morning ladies and gentlemen. Hope you are well this Monday morning.

Kindly, I need some ideas.

I have a small farm (one acre) some 40 km from City Centre, at Kitengela.

My neighbours are building semi-permanent structures (I would say temporary structures) to house nearby flower farms' employees, but I really do not like those structures to be on my farm.

Now, I have been thinking of doing some activity on the farm. The farm has the following features:

(a). 700 metres from Namanga Highway
(b). 700 metres from a borehole (water selling for 3/= per 20 litre container)
(b). Touches a fairly busy road that connects to the Highway (Korromboi Area)
(d). Some construction starting to pick up in the area.

I have minimal capital myself and fairly busy at my work place - meaning limited time to manage work on the farm.

Which of the following could do:

(a). Construction materials hardware - starting small

(b). Small farming - using my neighour's water

(c). Food eating place (nyama choma) - starting small and slowly

(c). Poultry and a cow or two

I will greatly appreciate your thoughts; I badly need to get something going to generate some extra income to help me pay some loans.
#2 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 12:37:37 PM

Seems water may be a huge issue so why not dig a borehole as well & sell the water or use it to farm?

3/- for 20 litres when used for farming is very very expensive
Abby
#3 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 4:41:41 PM

Seems water may be a huge issue so why not dig a borehole as well & sell the water or use it to farm?

3/- for 20 litres when used for farming is very very expensive

Thanks. Very useful information; when I did calculations, 10,000 litres cost 1500/= ... not sure how many such tanks (10,000 litre tanks) I might need per month, but if many, then it is costly.

Will look at it indepth.

Thanks.
#4 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 5:01:46 PM

Sinking a borehole in Kitengela is currently at almost 2.5m and getting the permit to do it is another issue all together. My friend wanted to sink one but was told that there's one less than a kilometre away. He's still trying to get approval. Has anyone faced this problem?

#5 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 6:36:28 PM

Abby wrote:

I have minimal capital myself and fairly busy at my work place - meaning limited time to manage work on the farm.

I will greatly appreciate your thoughts; I badly need to get something going to generate some extra income to help me pay some loans.

All the activities you have mentioned above require active management. Why not look for a passive venture like fruit trees. semi-permanent structures not a bad idea. maybe you should reconsider... my 2 cents
Abby
#6 Posted : Monday, June 13, 2011 7:42:49 PM

Interesting thoughts, to say the truth. Perhaps I should make my semi-permanent neater and better - almost low-cost permanent.

I certainly should look at.

Thanks, gentlemen.
sysdevPM
#7 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 11:07:30 AM

Sinking a borehole in Kitengela is currently at almost 2.5m and getting the permit to do it is another issue all together. My friend wanted to sink one but was told that there's one less than a kilometre away. He's still trying to get approval. Has anyone faced this problem?

The 1 km requirement by Min of water . This makes sure that the subterranean water table is not depleted quickly if you and all your neighbors sunk boreholes . actually they saved your 2.5 , imagine sinking a borehole and then it dries after a year or so?
Kaka M
#8 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 12:54:13 PM

Abby wrote:

All the activities you have mentioned above require active management. Why not look for a passive venture like fruit trees. semi-permanent structures not a bad idea. maybe you should reconsider... my 2 cents

I suggest you go for semi permanent structures.
On one acres you could get so many of them like 5 to start with and if you let them out for as little as 600-800 bob you will be assured of 3k income. you will add more as you get more cash. I imagine you could have as many as thirty 10' x 10' or 10' x 12' rooms. They will be less involving in terms of management after construction you will only need to go collect your rent once or twice a month. eventually when cash is available you will destroy them and construct permanent rental structures etc.
You will need to set aside one corner to develop a septic tank and in the meantime make it into pit latrines.
Abby
#9 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 12:59:31 PM

Thanks again, looks like the semi-permanents structure may be sound after all.

Originally I despised them, but needing income and lacking capital, I guess my options are not manysmile

Thanks, I appreciate all the ideas - those mentioned and any others.

Hoping to get water to the land within the next 3 months.
kourtney
#10 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 2:39:58 PM

You can do the small scale farming, but try and use the methods that conserve the water.
raszag
#11 Posted : Tuesday, June 14, 2011 3:09:55 PM

kourtney wrote:
You can do the small scale farming, but try and use the methods that conserve the water.

@Abby...You can look at the prospects of tree farming..Look at the thread below on Eucalyptus Trees farming

http://wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=12181

Cheers
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi