wazua Mon, Jan 27, 2025

Pictures
Inuendo
#1 Posted : Thursday, June 02, 2011 9:14:34 PM

Going through the social media, Ive noticed quite a number of pictures.....guys with their wives/husbands, girlfriends/boyfriends, kids etc.......
When you post a picture on any social media, who retains the right to copy/use, you or the site and what happens if someone uses "your" picture on the same or another website...

Also does the print media have a right to publish a picture of you without your permission?

Anyone out there with info on this?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
livie
#2 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 12:03:43 PM

you mean like this?

If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#3 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 12:30:13 PM

Inuendo wrote:
Going through the social media, Ive noticed quite a number of pictures.....guys with their wives/husbands, girlfriends/boyfriends, kids etc.......
When you post a picture on any social media, who retains the right to copy/use, you or the site and what happens if someone uses "your" picture on the same or another website...

Also does the print media have a right to publish a picture of you without your permission?

Anyone out there with info on this?
d'oh! d'oh! d'oh!

@Inuendo, I don't know what the law says, but I can tell you once you put your info and images on the web, you have no control on what happens to them... even if you 'delete' its never deleted... ask wazua... they only disable it such that its nor display for you too see!

Inuendo
#4 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 1:49:26 PM

@ livie ..Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly exactly!!

@Radio, that definitely gives me the creeps..kumbe someone can just copy my pic and weka for all and sundry!!!!Sad Sad Sad

What about the print media? Can a newspaper like say nation or the star just print a photo of you without your permission?
Common sense is the most evenly distributed quantity in the world. Everyone thinks he has enough.
tassia
#5 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 1:59:31 PM

You retain the right to use any photo you post on the web and no one should use it on the web without your permission. If you find someone using any photo owned by you, you should write to them and demand that they bring it down. If they do not, you should write to the the company hosting that website and demand that they take action. They are also liable for hosting the photo without your authority.

If nothing is done, you may take other actions among them writing to google who may even remove the offending website from their index.

I could posts more information and links if your are interested in this.

Inuendo
#6 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 4:51:40 PM

Thanx @ Tassia! I haven't yet come across any of my pics yet but was just wondering what i would do if i ever found myself in that position.
#7 Posted : Friday, June 03, 2011 5:44:30 PM

some of us sura zetu ni mbaya zinastua watoto sana so hatuna hii shida eti someone wants to use our photos, it till be a very cold day in hell before that happens...lakini roho ni safi!