wazua Wed, Jul 23, 2025

5 Pages123>»
Gichuru and Okemo extradiction
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:41:38 AM

...in exchange for Devani. Does it have to be a trade between the governments? Arrest warrants submitted by AW...the drama unfolds...this might just be the first bigshot casualties..
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 8:48:43 AM

I have not heard about kenya's soveirnity this time round, guess it's coming!!!!!
Burning Spear
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:15:23 AM

I have not heard about kenya's soveirnity this time round, guess it's coming!!!!!

you are right but the fact that Okemo has been pro-hague crusader means silent extradiction to face justice.

My own opinion though is we are not supposed to hand over anyone to a foreign land to face trial whether its related to corruption or post election violence.This is simply beacause the western cannot do that when it touches their sacred people whether they kill africans or freeze.On that note,Okemo and Gichuru should be tried here in kenya.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:23:45 AM

Burning Spear wrote:

you are right but the fact that Okemo has been pro-hague crusader means silent extradiction to face justice.

My own opinion though is we are not supposed to hand over anyone to a foreign land to face trial whether its related to corruption or post election violence.This is simply beacause the western cannot do that when it touches their sacred people whether they kill africans or freeze.On that note,Okemo and Gichuru should be tried here in kenya.

Would you care to give an example to support this allegation?
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:29:48 AM

@ burning spear

the way i see it is that the two tycoons committed some money laundering in jersy not in kenya...they will be tried for these crimes right in jersy under the laws of the UK...

next, they will be facing crimes of corrupt pratices, abuse of office and stealing public money...

we should actually thank the Uk government for letting us know what these two idiots were doing all along and our government could do nothing...

remember how hard it was to get connected to electricity supply even after paying the connection capital costs in 1990s...

Spend.thrift
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:37:30 AM

Burning Spear wrote:

Spear burning, I could be wrong, but isn't it that you just want to be seen to be consistent with you your earlier stand on the ICC case? Wacha hawa watu wapelekwe Jersey and Devani arudishwe.

Look what fate has befallen DSK at Rikers Island.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 9:37:41 AM

@McDoba, hiyo ni chini ya belt...It is only sovereignty when it affects "our" people and it seems these two don't fit that...
Ngalaka
#8 Posted : Tuesday, May 24, 2011 7:04:41 PM

Now now now!

Some basic issues!

When a person commits a wrong/breaks law within a certain jurisdiction, or targets interests/installation of a certain Country, the Country in question is justified to pursue that person.

Of course if the person happens to be a national/resident of/in another country, or escapes to another country, the aggrieved country is expected to use the extradition avenues to pursue the fugitive.

This is loosely what happened in the cases of suspected terrorist who bombed Uganda during a World cup Match and ran back to Kenya.

In the case of Okemo and Gichuru, the alleged crime (that of money laundering) were committed in Jersey.

The Authorities in Jersey are hence pursuing them to face justice on that alleged crime in Jersey.

Kenya cannot try them on that crime as it was not committed here.

However Kenya may use the details to push a case of corruption and conspiracy to defraud KPLC.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
B.Timer
#9 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 1:04:04 PM

Expect Okemo and Gichuru to go to Kenyan court to challenge extradiction.

That case may take a while to determine.

Remember Assange and Deya's cases.
Dunia ni msongamano..
#10 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 3:14:15 PM

B.Timer wrote:

The cases could take another 13 years for all I care. What matters is the Principle being established here..

.. One day, utajibu!!

It does not matter who you are. Once the mommentum kicks, I can foresee enough of the current top kahunas get to pay dearly in the new regime in the next two years. One step at a time good people.
#11 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 3:16:08 PM

deleted.
#12 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 3:17:35 PM

bwenyenye wrote:
B.Timer wrote:

The cases could take another 13 years for all I care. What matter to me is the Principle being established here..

.. One day, utajibu!!

It does not matter who you are. Once the mommentum kicks, I can ofresee enough of the current top kahunas will get to pay dearly in the new regime in the nest two years.

like....
#13 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:12:42 PM

Yagnesh Devani arrested and remanded in London for extradition to Kenya for the Ksh 7.6 billion Triton fraud on KPC.

source:Mars group kenya

Gichuru and Okemo should get more worried the ball is in our side now and Govt has no excuse to delay their extradition now.
#14 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:22:31 PM

selah wrote:
Yagnesh Devani arrested and remanded in London for extradition to Kenya for the Ksh 7.6 billion Triton fraud on KPC.

Gichuru and Okemo should get more worried the ball is in our side now and Govt has no excuse to delay their extradition now.

This is great news...
#15 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:39:45 PM

selah wrote:

Tweet from KTNKenya confirming the same.
#16 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:42:45 PM

Good, but it does not have to be trade offs for thugs to be arrested!!!!
Dod
#17 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:43:56 PM

Yeah, KTN has it on breaking News.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#18 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:45:24 PM

B.Timer wrote:

They cannot appeal. Keraiko just has to clarify whether money laundering is a crime in Kenya. How can they appeal that it is not a crime in kenya?
#19 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:49:27 PM

selah wrote:

Someone said it is an exchange... G & O in YD out? ama ni porojo?
#20 Posted : Thursday, May 26, 2011 4:52:35 PM

Bwana Chris...I hope he doesn't have little children, kwanza vile bibi hayuko...this is going to have crazy repercussions to his family