wazua Mon, May 4, 2026

Ka-kitu ka stima nkt
brav
#1 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 2:44:10 PM

d'oh! ...kananipea stress,

There is this a ka-thing the KPLC are replacing the old meters with, where the stima is prepaid, they did replace mine on sato with sijui 30 units by monday the kathing is at 16 and beeping like hell, its making me so very conscious when jamii is using electricity, Im even contemplating to switch off every electric appliance in the house then switch off one by one putting it off again to see "..ni gani inatumia stima mingi" I get rid of it pap, hoping my elec bills will go down Pray
#2 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 3:10:44 PM

@Brav, i think it is a good gadget..however, i think the increase in fuel prices has affected the prepaid services, nowadays it beeps so soon after loading units!...

Has anyone had experience with loading it with alot of cash, say 2000Kshs? I'm told it refuses, and i hesitate to try because I see myself loosing money kwa MPESA....
grolut
#3 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 3:45:50 PM

I've had it for over a year now. We normally do about 1k a week, by that time it has started beeping. The house has fridge and computer running 24/7 and tv maybe for 6hrs/day.

What I want to know is what the admin fee they ask for every now and then is for? Sometimes when you send cash you get a text back saying "Add xxx/= to receive credit".

@nostoppingthis do you get any message from them? I've done 2k in the past with no problems.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#4 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 3:57:40 PM

When the units are below 20...it starts to beep......you can load as much as 10K worth of units.....grolut, 1k a week for the appliances you mentioned for me is on the higher side!!!
grolut
#5 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 4:10:57 PM

Really? I used to pay 4k a month before prepaid so it didn't worry me. It could always be because of other appliances such as instant shower, iron, blow dryer and most likely the oven.
In a place where thought is abandoned, freedom can become a curse.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, May 10, 2011 5:03:02 PM

Na haka ka saitan hata hakana Okoa Jahazi...
#7 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 8:07:38 AM

@brav; all you have to do is compare your consumption [in units, NOT shillings] before and after. If there is difference [+ve or -ve], then you know that your older mechanical meter was faulty!!
danas10
#8 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 8:47:03 AM

Intelligentsia wrote:

Querry
#9 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 11:32:04 AM

I have had it for over an year now and for me a thousand is ok for the month. There is usually 120 fee charged per month (FC Charge)

If you want a break down of the charges kindly pay in the Uchumi Hypers or Electricity house
gohill
#10 Posted : Wednesday, May 11, 2011 2:23:31 PM

Intelligentsia wrote:

smile smile smile