wazua Wed, Jan 29, 2025

Dubious - Looking to connect with Kenyans who are driven.
Rollout
#1 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 6:19:54 PM

Hello everyone! I am a Kenyan, 28 yrs old, I left the country 10 yrs ago for education and I have lived in USA ever since, I will be making my first trip in 10 yrs not to look for a woman to marry but to visit my family and in process to also try to meet people who can help me understand more about the opportunities in Kenya and atleast have something to take away.
I am not in anyway looking for a job but I am open to investment opportunities, a little of myself; Professionaly, I am a senior Merger and acquisition analyst with a fortune 20 insurance company with just over $2.3 billion(6 companies) complete mergers executed within the last 12 months. Before that, I was a senior financial analyst for a fortune 20 Bank. I would like to meet anyone in healthcare insurance business, Hedge Funds, Private equity funds, IB and start up businesses. I think we can learn from each other. Thanks
#2 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 8:28:35 PM

Why dropping figures like you are talking of your personal fortune and acting all shifty about what you want? Wacha vitisho bwana.
inf8nity
#3 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 8:35:19 PM

Lol! @sparkly kuwa mpole!
KenyanLyrics
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 9:29:11 PM

Hello Rollout. I know foreign investors are all about the billion shilling plays. Right now I'm trying to incite wazuans to come together and build an underground rail for Nairobi. What do you think of that idea?
Rollout
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 26, 2011 10:05:11 PM

Why dropping figures like you are talking of your personal fortune and acting all shifty about what you want? Wacha vitisho bwana.

Hallo Mr Sparkly, I a surprise you even responded, I don't do the little fights because I know success when I see it and it ain't in you! I know potentials when I see and you ain't the one either- being shifty about what I want- shouldn't be something to bother you, I posted a portion of my resume to attract people with the same level of achievements and those people will identify and react differently.
In the world I live in the fortune of the organization you work for is a reflection of people who work there, so it is equally important, and yes, I am liquid too!
jasonhill
#6 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 5:20:54 AM

Hello Rollout,

Please understand that there are people on the forum that, sadly, will act a bit unkind toward you because of such questions, even though they are valid, important questions to be asked. And I'm not pointing fingers here; it's just an observation. Ignore these types of responses, and keep posting. Be persistent. There seems to be some sort of feeling from some folks- not all, but some- that people that went into the diaspora are arrogant, or even "sellouts"- ignore the comments from people that act in this fashion. Your questions are valid; please persist.

Though, I will concede that being in the diaspora can make people cocky- it's just the Western way of interacting, and it can rub off on people, and can then rub people the wrong way, even when it seems to be par-for-the-course when talking business in the US.

Considering your background, I'd say that you should look closely at the prospectuses of the companies on the NSE, and think of all the opportunity that the young, clean exchange has. Other than that, I recommend asking more pointed questions on the forum, about specific industries, businesses, start-up ideas, and you will start to get good responses.

And on that note, there should be a requirement for Kenyans returning from the diaspora to give a brief of their experiences, and to share them with people that are also thinking about going- maybe even a participation requirement before leaving. There should also be a yearly forum to share ideas and thoughts about what ideas can be taken from the diaspora, and what ideas can be taken to the diaspora. This open, honest (that's the key... if you were performing Manoki work, just say so. If you were making tons of money, just say so) dialog is critical.

Best,

Hill
gathinga
#7 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 11:36:49 AM

Rollout wrote:
Hello everyone! I am a Kenyan, 28 yrs old, I left the country 10 yrs ago for education and I have lived in USA ever since, I will be making my first trip in 10 yrs not to look for a woman to marry but to visit my family and in process to also try to meet people who can help me understand more about the opportunities in Kenya and atleast have something to take away.
I am not in anyway looking for a job but I am open to investment opportunities, a little of myself; Professionaly, I am a senior Merger and acquisition analyst with a fortune 20 insurance company with just over $2.3 billion(6 companies) complete mergers executed within the last 12 months. Before that, I was a senior financial analyst for a fortune 20 Bank. I would like to meet anyone in healthcare insurance business, Hedge Funds, Private equity funds, IB and start up businesses. I think we can learn from each other. Thanks

Impressive resume.
Methinks industry needs such now more than ever. Young budding businesses..small cap.. and family businesses in EA need to gain experience on in-organic growth through mergers & acquisitions. and shed off the fear.

For example we have more than 10 small family owned banks with assets below 5b....what are these doing trying to compete with the big 5 who control 80% of the deposits and loan book?

Cant they merge up? Same case in the insurance industry. many companies are unable to meet statutory capital requirements
#8 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 12:05:21 PM

Rollout wrote:

Hallo Mr Sparkly, I a surprise you even responded, I don't do the little fights because I know success when I see it and it ain't in you! I know potentials when I see and you ain't the one either- being shifty about what I want- shouldn't be something to bother you, I posted a portion of my resume to attract people with the same level of achievements and those people will identify and react differently.
In the world I live in the fortune of the organization you work for is a reflection of people who work there, so it is equally important, and yes, I am liquid too!

@Rollout, again you were talking sense right to the point when you said I don't do the little fights because I know... the rest of it is just blah blah, like you are trying to justify your achievements and diaspora status.

Tells me that those are the only achievements you have to your name.

Anyway who introduces himself as ... not looking for a woman to marry and ... not looking for a job.. Just shows your subconscious craving for a woman to marry and feeling that your job is under threat. Yeah and Guess what?... you are in denial!

drake
#9 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 1:32:54 PM

Majority of those you target have
1. An online presence and
2. Place a high value on professional networking

I suggest you try reaching out on LinkedIn and/or www.vc4africa.com

Good luck
Rollout
#10 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 5:39:12 PM

@ Hill.
Thanks for your insight, I think it reflects on personal intellect when someone instead of seeing the opportunity that a situation can bring, start attacking and it does remind me of our politics and why we're poor as a country.
Mr Hill, the idea of Kenyan abroad discussing expriences with those at home I think is a great thing for both parties, there are alot of things I personally can learn from people back home. A lot of Kenyans in diaspora are not arrogant and yes alot of Kenyans work in Manokis and if you ask me why, I will tell you that USA is a country like no other, it is a country where 16 yrs old kids own cars a country where a janitor drive the same car as a CEO, so think about what it can do to a person if you're not driven enough?
Yes most Kenyan came to USA to go to school and alot of them graduated but just like any other country, it is hard to break into professional fields, it is even hard since most companies are specific on who they want to hire and which school they recruit from, and most of those school are out of reach to most pple and people end up graduating and landing on ok jobs, whether it is manoki or working on professional jobs for a company that will never help you be who you wanna be.
On kenyans in kenya, most of them have too much pride, but until you get out of the country it might be hard to understand how underdeveloped we're, how miss educated we could be and how far we have to go as people.
erifloss
#11 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 9:41:03 PM

I'm with Sparly on this, sorry to say this but truly for lack of a better word rollout, you are full of bullshit. We've got brilliant minds around and Wazua is a testimony(check out various threads case in point todays coop and see the analysis done). Trying to praise the US as a tower of greatness and opportunity while you know that their wealth and most of the west came about coz of my sweet motherland Africa.
1. The cars you say they own are on credit, i'm better off living my kids tangible assets rather than a long useless credit history.
2. The country you admire and praise so much is in a 14 trillion dollar debt hole and is only safe coz its currency is the world reserve currency. Even brilliant investors are getting out.
3. They caused the recession.
4. They so much praise capitalist ideology but yet when their institutions are in shit they lean on the Keynesian theory.
I can go on & on coz the list is endless. And just a btw we have the best success stories in Africa.
Kweli mwacha mila ni 'MTUMWA'
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
KenyanLyrics
#12 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:45:51 PM

Yes. Watch when these Americans attack Kenya with holier than thou accusations like the 'sea of corruption' nonsense, kumbe them they stole literally TRILLIONS of dollars from public coffers to cause a full blown recession! You Kenyamericans should also watch with your talk of managing billions in the States and now coming back to humbly serve Kenya. That is a favourite pickup line for con men
erifloss
#13 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 10:58:29 PM

@kenyanlyrics, they got an acceptable word and coined it to fit bribing legislators in LOBBYING. I never understand when an African praises a country that does not even respect the country he hails from.
'They say money cannot buy me happiness but when i compare when i had none and now, i'm happier' Kevin O'leary
Rollout
#14 Posted : Wednesday, April 27, 2011 11:47:17 PM

@Erifloss.
Anyone who finish their statement with- we've the best success story in africa is delusional- I am also surprised by your reaction, I am not here to defend USA, but the thinking that Western countries developed because they stole resource from developing countries is a typical propaganda that have been used by Third world countries tyrants and politicians for generation to distract and therefore steal from their people.If you've not realised that, then you're stupid. Africa in underdeveloped because of poor management of resources, corruption and political instability driven by ignorance. I don't blame you because I know you've never gone out there and see how a country is suppose to treat its citizens.
I am impressed you know how much debt US federal government have, I challenge you to expand your research and find out how much wealth American Corporations have and how that wealth is generated, You'll learn that they make their money by hardwork, constant research, good management and constant drive to success by people who work for them.if you do that, you might be able to help our country
Rollout
#15 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 12:20:47 AM

.. AnywaY I think some people are becoming a distraction here, I am still interest in meeting the kind of people I mention early.
KenyanLyrics
#16 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 12:28:36 AM

@Rollout, that argument is so weak. Africa has very young countries, all less than 100 years old. When your beloved America was still young, the atrocities people were committing in the name of scrambling for wealth are incomparable to what we see in Africa. People were killing each other in the name of gold and oil, hunting the real Native Americans for fun, surely even the land you reside upon is stolen from 'Indians!' Come to Europe, most European countries spent their youth assigning thousands of hectares to kings with the utmost impunity, and killing each other over which chapters should be in the bible for heavens sake! So don't come over here trying to chastise African countries that are young and growing! We have the right to grow and chart our own destinies without external meddling, just like those developed countries did.
kanduma
#17 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 1:55:11 AM

Its true Africa has very young countries but we need to learn from the mistakes this countries made and do better than them.
If you are in U.S or Europe contribute and make Kenya better not just a matter of praising them,be a better citizen and if you cant do that Wachana na sisi na ukae huko.
Lets help one another in solving our problems(tribalism,poverty e.t.c) not just playing the blame game
life is a swinging pendulum,dont stay up too long to forget that you could come down]
#18 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 5:00:16 AM

@Rollout You are fighting a losing battle here. Some people will just smirk at you the moment you say America. Trust me I know.

There is this silly attitude that everyone from the US is "feeling hot". You will get sentence after sentence about how Kenya is the greatest country in the world then 10 minutes later from the same person will come words like mpigs etc. Just read the posts from the fellows who just posted.

So take my advice, avoid mentioning it too much as you will be hurting someone's ego.

As for your ideas, I love ideas and if your resume is what you say it is, then I pity anyone who doesn't take the opportunity to learn. Good luck. Maybe you can tell me a good way to start merging and acquiring a few kiosks in my area.
jasonhill
#19 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 6:18:03 AM

We need a moratorium on this "West" concept.

Let's take a year, and pretend that the "West" doesn't exist and never did.

Western aid, Western NGOs, diplomats, statements, visas, western universities, western jobs, education, movies, music, media, clothing, attitude, beliefs, statistics, expectation, EVERYTHING.

Let's just ignore it all for ONE year.

And lets rely on what WE know, have learned, and have experienced. Know what you know, but just forget where you learned it, and see if it's still worth knowing.

Now, In one month without the West, where are we? We are precisely where we were at. But within a year without hating, loving, admiring, aping, trusting, suspecting, relying on, seeing or listening to this "West" concept, maybe, just maybe we can focus on ourselves and stop this incessant colonial mindset of divide and conquer, back-and-forth, bickering and infighting.

It's painfully obvious that all the issues on the continent seem to all lead back to hating, loving, admiring, aping, trusting, suspecting, relying on, seeing or listening to this "West" thing.

It's the evening, and we are all staring West, blinded hopelessly by the sun. Let's look away for a minute. Now can you see? That man next to you is YOUR brother. You can't win if WE can't win.

Without the West blinding you with bling and bright lights, you could look away and regain clear sight, with all your increased worldly knowledge and capability right at this very moment.

What would you do?

Anything you put your mind to.

Hill

erifloss
#20 Posted : Thursday, April 28, 2011 8:54:33 AM

@Rollout, i do take your challenge on wealth held by American corps.
1. Bear Sterns by every 'wall street's' standard was big.
2. Lehmann filed for bankrulptcy being stripped as we talk selling some of its good businesses at throw away prices.
3. AIG after 60 years in business bailed by govt after taking too much risk in terms of insurance hedges (more than 0.5 trillion dollars)
4. Detroit based motor companies were basically kept alive by the govt so as to have chance while competing with the Toyota's & Nissan's of the world.
5. Wealth through Enron, Worldcom, Madoff c'mon!
6. Merryl Lynch bought by BOA that was saved by the govt.
7. Some of the largest IPO's have been out of the US.
8. Most of GE's operations are in China. Why?
9. Lots of insider trading that go into billions where people lose their pensions take the above and Sri Lankan as an example.
10. WB is even going to India for investment options.
11. Google being investigated for malpractices.
12. Using quants to make CDO's to make money. C'mon.
The list is endless.

Success stories in Africa:
1. Largest diamond co. from SA.
2. First cellphone money transfer safcom Kenya.
3. Mobile commerce. Still Mpesa/Zap Kenya.
4. After Grameen, Equity steps into the building.
5. Ask yourself why funds like soros, banks like HSBC are rushing in?
6. Scangroup. Wpp had to rush in.
7. Eabl. Diageo rushed in.
8. Bamburi. Larfarge came rushin in.
You being the investment banker i think you know why these companies are rushing in!
The list is endless and we do make clean money too even though corruption is here and lobbying is there.