Investor
Stocks
Investor Education: How to Analyse Stocks 1
Rank: Elder Joined: 9/25/2009 Posts: 4,534 Location: Windhoek/Nairobbery
Investor Education: How to Analyse Stocks 1 So you are a newbie in this investing game? You have been reading your brokers research reports ended up getting perplexed by all those figures and jargon your broker presented to you or you have been watching those sharp analysts on financial TV programmes like Nation's PM live and never quiet understood what they said? Look no further in this series of posts i'm going to show you how to analyse a stock like a proffessional using the simplest of all metrics. We are going to start with the Price to Earnings multiple, commonly known as the PE. Whats the PE and how is it calculated? PE stands for price to earnings multiple, its calculated by dividing the trading price by the earnings per share(EPS) i.e Jubilee Holdings is trading at a price of 215 and its EPS is 37 its PE will therefore be 5.8. EPS is the companies profit after tax divided by the number of issued of shares i.e Safaricom has 10 billion outstanding shares. There are two types of PE's 1. Trailing PE ratio like the one we have just calculated 2. Forward PE-normally its used to focast the trailing PE, its calculated the same way as the trailing PE but here you use quarterly or interim financial statements. Rest of the article here http://contrarianinvesti...tion-how-to-analyse.html
Rank: Member Joined: 2/13/2011 Posts: 284 Location: Nairobi
P/E conti.. The price earnings ratio (P/E) anomaly refers to the observation that stocks with extremely low P/E ratios (i.e., lowest decile) earn larger risk-adjusted returns than high P/E stocks..An alternative behavioral explanation for the anomaly based on investor overreaction is called the "price-ratio"hypothesis.Companies with very low P/E's are thought to be temporarily "undervalued" because investors become excessively pessimistic after a series of bad earnings reports or other bad news. Once future earnings turn out to be better than the unreasonably gloomy forecasts, the price adjusts Similarly, the equity of companies with very high P/E's is thought to be "overvalued,"before (predictably) falling in price.
Rank: Veteran Joined: 11/11/2006 Posts: 972 Location: Home
Its never too late to enrol for gumbaro. My investing decisions been based on low P/E, high dividend yield and somehow having an idea what the company does. My questions are listed below. I have an idea(from google) how to calculate ROE, but whats the significance of ROCE and ROE?? Why is an increase in shareholders equity good for the shareholder? Basic and diluted EPS(difference and which is used in computing P/E)? http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=11254http://www.wazua.co.ke/forum.aspx?g=posts&t=7638ProverB wrote:understanding Kenya Airways? ..comparing 2010 to 2009 Average Price March 2010 Kshs 58.50 Revenues 2010 Kshs 70,743,000,000 Revenue Growth -1.51% Price-to-sales March 2010 0.38 Operating Income Growth -54.50 Operating Margin 2010 2.60 Operating Margin 2009 5.63 PBT Growth (paper loss in 09) -147.16% PBT Margin 2010 3.78 PAT Growth 2010 -149.84 ROE (Return on Equity) 10.96 ROCE(Return on Capital Employed) 2.78 P/E @ price of 58.50 13.33 Price to Book 1.46 Div Yield 1.71
before i buy, i ensure; 1. Financial Statements; *Revenues are growing over time *Profits are increasing (operating, before tax, and after tax) and better than peers//and atleast 3 year improving averages *Improving Profit margins over 3 years *Profits as percentage of Assets, Shareholders’ equity better than that of peers..ROA and ROE and ROCE..higher than 15%..over three years
2. Investment Valuation *Low price-to-sales ratio (PSR); preferably below 1..but compared to peers *Low Price-to-Earnings (P/E) ratio *Low price-to-book value especially if company is heavily reliant on physical assets e.g. manufacturing companies or companies operating within heavy capitalization industries.
3. Technical analysis *Share is liquid enough to be easily available or easily sold but also scarce enough to prevent value dilution. *Demand and supply volumes during trading periods. 
Been at the NSE for arnd 4 years now...bt i must say i have learnd a thing or two here.. I have always been contented, but never satisfied. Henry M Flagler.
@holycow diluted EPS includes other outstanding shares i.e preffered shares, stock options and esops...diluted EPS is used to calculate the PE...an increase in shareholder equity is desirable bcos it increases the book value of the company.
Memmy wrote:Asante @the deal u r welcome...part 2 coming soon...the Wazua Spirit lives on.
@ the deal I do read your blog, unfortunately, you don't allow comments from anonymous users.
holycow wrote:@ the deal I do read your blog, unfortunately, you don't allow comments from anonymous users. Kwani wewe ni whistle blower? Mscheew!
Cde Monomotapa wrote:holycow wrote:@ the deal I do read your blog, unfortunately, you don't allow comments from anonymous users. Kwani wewe ni whistle blower? Mscheew! This is not a fish market, i love remaining anonymous to an extent.
holycow wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:holycow wrote:@ the deal I do read your blog, unfortunately, you don't allow comments from anonymous users. Kwani wewe ni whistle blower? Mscheew! This is not a fish market RIGHT?!, i love remaining anonymous to an extent. A good cheer.
Cde Monomotapa wrote:holycow wrote:Cde Monomotapa wrote:holycow wrote:@ the deal I do read your blog, unfortunately, you don't allow comments from anonymous users. Kwani wewe ni whistle blower? Mscheew! This is not a fish market RIGHT?!, i love remaining anonymous to an extent. A good cheer.  Ok Mr Anonymous go ahead and comment i changed the settings
@Deal Thankx for the info. shared. Just enlighten me on the following:- I need to understand the behavior of share volume traded as compared to the share price. Below is an exact market performance. Why is it that some company share prices go up with increase in volume but some go the opposite? Co.** A** B** C** D Volume Today** 187,579 ** 38,079,290** 2,404,902** 1,948,489 ** Vol.Avg 30Days** 172,260 ** 25,289,191 ** 2,302,073 ** 1,698,590 Vol.Avg 30 excl today. ** 171,499 ** 24,998,419 ** 2,245,949** 1,657,309 Today/avg 30 excl today** 1.09** 1.52** 1.07** 1.18 Close price** 45.6** 1.05** 25** 21.15 Open Price** 45.4** 9.95** 25.3** 21.3 Low Today** 45.2** 9.95** 24.8** 21.05 High Today** 45.2** 10.15** 25.3** 21.6 Notes** Vol-Up Price Up-OK** Vol-Up Price Up-OK** Vol-Up Price Down-why?** Vol-Up Price Down-why? Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
kyukkamba wrote:@Deal Thankx for the info. shared.
Just enlighten me on the following:- I need to understand the behavior of share volume traded as compared to the share price. Below is an exact market performance. Why is it that some company share prices go up with increase in volume but some go the opposite?
Co.** A** B** C** D Volume Today** 187,579 ** 38,079,290** 2,404,902** 1,948,489 ** Vol.Avg 30Days** 172,260 ** 25,289,191 ** 2,302,073 ** 1,698,590 Vol.Avg 30 excl today. ** 171,499 ** 24,998,419 ** 2,245,949** 1,657,309 Today/avg 30 excl today** 1.09** 1.52** 1.07** 1.18 Close price** 45.6** 1.05** 25** 21.15 Open Price** 45.4** 9.95** 25.3** 21.3 Low Today** 45.2** 9.95** 24.8** 21.05 High Today** 45.2** 10.15** 25.3** 21.6 Notes** Vol-Up Price Up-OK** Vol-Up Price Up-OK** Vol-Up Price Down-why?** Vol-Up Price Down-why?
well it depends on who is in charge...buyers or sellers...rise in share price coupled with increased in share volume is a bullish signal i.e KCB whereas an increase in volume accompanied by decrease in share price is Bearish i.e KQ on most occassions.
[quote=the deal well it depends on who is in charge...buyers or sellers...rise in share price coupled with increased in share volume is a bullish signal i.e KCB whereas an increase in volume accompanied by decrease in share price is Bearish i.e KQ on most occassions.[/quote] How can one tell "who is in charge"? This is a 2way traffic..for one to sell there should be a willing buyer... in this case how can you tell who's in charge? What u have just stated is a well known statement "rise in share price coupled with increased in share volume is a bullish signal whereas an increase in volume accompanied by decrease in share price is Bearish" This will be known at the end of Trading...Since there is always a fluctuation of the share price Juu/Chini/Juu/Chini how early can you tell who's in charge? Pole kama I sound Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
Rank: Member Joined: 8/5/2010 Posts: 335 Location: Nairobi
kyukkamba wrote:How can one tell "who is in charge"? This is a 2way traffic..for one to sell there should be a willing buyer... in this case how can you tell who's in charge? What u have just stated is a well known statement "rise in share price coupled with increased in share volume is a bullish signal whereas an increase in volume accompanied by decrease in share price is Bearish" This will be known at the end of Trading...Since there is always a fluctuation of the share price Juu/Chini/Juu/Chini how early can you tell who's in charge? Pole kama I sound Think of it like this... (forgive me for being too simple). 1. The market is a group of people who have come to buy (Bids) & another group that has come to sell (Asks). 2. For any trade, a bid & an ask must be matched in price. Here is a basic example. Lets assume we have bids & asks as below: Asks200 at 15 200 at 16 200 at 17 200 at 18 Bids200 at 15 200 at 14 200 at 13 200 at 12 Generally, sellers will ask a higher price than buyers are bidding for. If there is a price intersection (as above) the orders at 15bob are executed and the board now looks like this. Asks200 at 16 200 at 17 200 at 18 Bids200 at 14 200 at 13 200 at 12 Of course more bids and asks are being constantly put on the board and withdrawn. If Genghis comes and he desparately needs to buy at any price for whatever reason, he may look at the board and buy 400 at 16 & 17. Several scenarios may play out.eg. The asker at 18 may get excited since a lot of people want to buy and he is the only one selling. He may raise ask to 19. Asks200 at 19 Bids200 at 14 200 at 13 200 at 12 The bidders at 14 and 12 may see that time is running out and may opt to raise their bids to 18.5 and 18 respectively so that they can get some before close of business. Asks200 at 19 Bids200 at 18.5 200 at 18 200 at 13 Towards the end the bidder at 18 may opt to just buy at 19 and call it a day. When the trade at 19 happens, some sellors may rise from the woodwork and ask for 19.5, 20, 21. The bidder at 18.5 may opt to pay the xtra 1bob and buy at 19.5, the one still at 13 will say he missed the boat and may cancel the order and look for something else. End of day Asks200 at 20 200 at 21 BidsNIL Price has moved from 15 to 19.50 during the day. Only one reason, traders were more willing to raise bids than to lower asks.You ask how early one can tell... You can't read peoples minds but if you look keenly at what they do (and how many they are) you have a fighting chance. "I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME "The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN "Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
@Genghis - Aisay...that was very simple bwanaaaaaaaa.. kuna things I already know...Lakini the last part is cool...."You ask how early one can tell... You can't read peoples minds but if you look keenly at what they do (and how many they are) you have a fighting chance." This was what I was after...I thus have to be very attentive to know who's controlling the market na hiyo time hakunaaaa...Wacha tu I'll do what I've always been doin .....Follow the akina Mwana Hisa and the likes...Bila kumsahau yule mwana dada mkali sana... Ni Uhuru wa Mbesha...Niguo kana tiguo?
Rank: Member Joined: 8/5/2010 Posts: 335 Location: Nairobi
kyukkamba wrote:@Genghis - Aisay...that was very simple bwanaaaaaaaa.. kuna things I already know...Lakini the last part is cool...."You ask how early one can tell... You can't read peoples minds but if you look keenly at what they do (and how many they are) you have a fighting chance." This was what I was after...I thus have to be very attentive to know who's controlling the market na hiyo time hakunaaaa...Wacha tu I'll do what I've always been doin .....Follow the akina Mwana Hisa and the likes...Bila kumsahau yule mwana dada mkali sana... Not necessarily who and not necessarily that much time. Just watch the bid/ask volumes and you can tell what is / will happen. I hope I'm helpful "I'd rather be lucky than clever... every time!" - ME "The problem is not what we don't know... it's what we know for sure that just ain't!" - MARK TWAIN "Space we can recover... time never!" - NAPOLEON BONAPARTE
Rank: Veteran Joined: 3/12/2010 Posts: 1,199 Location: Eastlander
Deal..  i like..  ..we ought to compare notes... when i get seated down long enuff and settled. Nice one. ..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16 - 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
ProverB wrote:Deal..  i like..  ..we ought to compare notes... when i get seated down long enuff and settled. Nice one.  . Thanks...you have some rich material with you there...i have the old version...you send to me last year...when is the 2011 edition coming out.? Kakuzi i fundamentally disagree....hehehe the Fundamentals caught up with them...LOL.
Investor
Stocks
Investor Education: How to Analyse Stocks 1