wazua Fri, Mar 27, 2026

Airtel's bonus airtime scam
Magnetic Touch
#1 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 8:58:36 PM

Two weeks ago, I got an SMS from Airtel indicating that I would receive 150 shillings bonus airtime, over the weekend, if I spent a certain amount by a specific date during the week. The weekend came and I did not "see" any of the bonus airtime, when I checked my balance even though I had spent the qualifying amount.

The same thing happened last week. The only difference this time is that I called Airtel's customer care. They informed me that my bonus airtime would be credited to my account on Saturday from about 12.00 p.m. By 1.30 p.m. this had still not been done. They asked me to be patient and it would be credited at 2.00 p.m. At about 3, I checked (*133*7#) and the amount had been credited. This amount was valid for airtel-airtel calls and was to expire at midnight on Sunday.

Due to some topups during the week, I also had an additional 46 shs bonus airtime (confirmed via *133*1#). This is to expire today (validity for 3 days on airtel-airtel calls).

The problem is that virtually all the calls I made over the weekend and today were charged to my main balance with only about 3 shs in total having been deducted from my bonus airtime. I called Airtel again today and made a complaint and they have promised to get back to me. They have given me a reference number for that purpose.

Has anyone else reviewed their bonus airtime and experienced the same? If not, I suggest that you try and monitor and confirm whether the whole promotion is just a scam. From my experience, this appears to be the case.
Prime
#2 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 9:35:15 PM

Have experienced something similar. First, different spending targets are given. I do most of my calling from airtel. I have always qualified but have never received any bonus. I contacted their customer care and they told me that their IT guys would look into the issue. Till today I have never received anything. So I just lenga those SMSes they keep sending. Bure kabisa!
mgeman
#3 Posted : Monday, April 04, 2011 10:15:48 PM

nasimhame!
I am an African

-Thambo Mbeki Speech
oteve
#4 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:26:02 AM

Have experncd the same twice not even bothering to call them any mo lakini sihami coz hata safcom ni wezi tu tavumilia
wasee
#5 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:35:00 AM

I had a similar experience.Airtel loaded the bonus airtime at 2pm on sato and they said its valid for airtel to airtel calls upto sunday midnight. That was a rip-off. Now the excitment on those promotional sms ishad.
captainrio
#6 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:49:52 AM

iv been on Club 20 ever since its inception and over the weekend, was charged for texting!!! upon complaining to customer care, was told it will be sorted, even got a txt message that the problem is sorted..but WAPI??im still being charged...and the 'not so friendly' lady at their office here told me to log off Club 20 for the next 5 days,,ATI its a technical issue!!!! kwani how long then will it take to repair if one of their 'red light'booster poles cracks down??? Jinga type
www.giantquicksales.com
#7 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 8:57:47 AM

A rip off it may be but we ought to understand. The fight for customers has lowered costs tremendously - thanks to Zain, now Airtel. So if they promise but cannot deliver, please understand the poor guys. In any case, you have made more than enough savings from their initiative, than any such promotions could ever give you.
www.giantquicksales.com is bringing professionalism and value to car and real estate dealership.

Speed, Trust and Informativeness are our primary selling points. visit us today and sample some of our services!
Magnetic Touch
#8 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 9:33:21 AM

That may be so, but it is no excuse for blatant lying in the name of promotions. Best not to offer what you can't deliver. Even though this will not make me hama from Airtel, it still leaves a bad taste.

www.giantquicksales.com wrote:
A rip off it may be but we ought to understand. The fight for customers has lowered costs tremendously - thanks to Zain, now Airtel. So if they promise but cannot deliver, please understand the poor guys. In any case, you have made more than enough savings from their initiative, than any such promotions could ever give you.

Iborian
#9 Posted : Tuesday, April 05, 2011 10:43:59 AM

It looks like it is not so rosy in the promised land. Just hama or put up and shut up.
#10 Posted : Thursday, April 07, 2011 5:10:04 PM

Iborian wrote:
It looks like it is not so rosy in the promised land. Just hama or put up and shut up.

You should be telling them to "hamua"