wazua Fri, Jul 25, 2025

SAFARICOM and the BIG announcement
eagle1
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 1:34:52 PM

With the number portability and the intense competition from Zain my bet is that safaricom cannot sustain the heat any longer..the profits have to dip,and its overpriced share will continue performing dismally at the nse..
QW25071985
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 1:40:15 PM

A profit warning.them we collect the stock @ 2.50 where wanjiku loves to sell it. Lol !
bartum
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 1:42:12 PM

where is the big announcement dude
kinyama
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 1:43:57 PM

Well,I doubt if Number Portability will have that effect considering Airtel is yet to IMPROVE ZAP to the same level with M-PESA and as we know,once your "Hama" you cease to enjoy the services. It would have had an impact if Airtel took the time to market their other services the way they have done with voice.
Am yet to see the penetration of their data services as well as mobile money transfer.

#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 1:44:29 PM

Overpriced? @3.90? What's the price supposed to be?
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 2:01:45 PM

If you think Airtel will introduce a price war for its data think again In india the telcos are sharing their 3G networks the era of reducing price to beat ur competitors is about to end...Value addition is the new battle ground.

Once safaricom streamlines its operations and becomes efficient, Airtel will have to come up with ingenious ways to beat saf.Furthermore we will know after tomorrow how this MNP is fairing

If 3.60 is being overpriced just wait for a better price.
Djinn
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 2:16:41 PM

MNP may not necessarily add to churn esp in this market where subscribers have 2-3 SIMS. When you think of the market segment thats likely to be migratory on account of tariffs, its the low end segment. However, the high end segment will only migrate when services and quality become mediocre - and they spend 10-30 times more than the BOTP.

In many markets MNP has not really had an effect. But it is a necessary regulatory measure to allow recourse where subscribers feel the need to change.

And even without MNP, SCOM profits will still plummet.
Agra
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 3:15:37 PM

MNP could have worked sometime back but now with guys with multiple 2 sims cards it wont affect Safcom
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
Salesman
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 6:18:05 PM

@ sellah
101% support. The damage thats already done to safcon is here to stay bt any more wud be unlikely. Let the services rule,not price.
BTW, i understand Mj too did the vuka. He's Mteja vibaya sana.
Peperusha barua to rls.nbo@gmail.com
livie
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 7:59:05 PM

Agra wrote:
MNP could have worked sometime back but now with guys with multiple 2 sims cards it wont affect Safcom

i agree, i am getting a 4-sim phone very soon, MNP wont help me, and ll my numbers are same save for the prefix...!
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 9:30:14 PM

livie wrote:
Agra wrote:

i agree, i am getting a 4-sim phone very soon, MNP wont help me, and ll my numbers are same save for the prefix...!

Also not affected by the mnp as i have three lines and two phones. I still need a saf line for mpesa anyway
aydenjason
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:07:49 PM

As saf prays hard that the ntwk dsnt crash due 2congestion, airtel is upgrading to surpass its limits. Lets jus accept it as it is. Saf has met its match.
Namukhaywa: walk by me & ill take u thea.
Cde Monomotapa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 30, 2011 10:29:11 PM

A profit warning out of Safcom will be the high-light of the year!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 8:47:37 AM

Why is Airtel assuming that people will migrate from SCOM to them? What if their customers migrate to SCOM? Watafanya nini?

Assumption is the mother of all F-ups!
#15 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 9:24:58 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Under what circumstances does the NSE require a profit warning? When profits are projected to drop by what %? How soon before announcement?
Cde Monomotapa
#16 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 9:37:07 AM

Cde Monomotapa wrote:

Under what circumstances does the NSE require a profit warning? When profits are projected to drop by what %? How soon before announcement?

I'm note too certain about the % but could be -25%. Note clear about the time either. Anybody??
the deal
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 9:44:02 AM

Tihihihih Sufferingcom is cutting costs just to avoid a profit warning...they lost me as their 3G customer...Orange 4 real...!
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 10:39:46 AM

the deal wrote:
Tihihihih Sufferingcom is cutting costs just to avoid a profit warning

How do you cut costs to avoid a profit warning? I don't think the savings they would make from cutting costs at this time would make a dent.
All the same I would like to commend all those strong hearted people who are holding on to scom shares, you stand to reap big or lose big either way I'd no longer an adrenaline rush junkie.

#19 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 11:52:32 AM

MNP will have NO effect on Safcom, the same way Airtel's price war had NO effect on Safcom.

No man is happy without a delusion of some kind. Delusions are as necessary to our happiness as realities.

#20 Posted : Thursday, March 31, 2011 12:01:07 PM

Why was there no profit warning and their year ends today?