Sameer Africa FY2010 results disappointing
madebe
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:01:54 AM

nani ameona?
Maumau
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:25:00 AM

Sameer Africa 2010 results are out:

Profit after tax down to 57 M (158M in 2009)
EPS Kshs. 0.21 (Kshs. 0.57 in 2009)
No dividend

http://www.nse.co.ke/new...ements/Sameerafrica.pdf
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:49:18 AM

Maumau wrote:
Sameer Africa 2010 results are out:

Profit after tax down to 57 M (158M in 2009)
EPS Kshs. 0.21 (Kshs. 0.57 in 2009)
No dividend

Wololo... this counter will fall to 2bob.

amolo
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:00:19 PM

I think you meant it will fall to 20 cents!
#5 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 12:24:44 PM

Men I think as shareholders we are getting Screwed bigtime I envy those who jumped ship earlier-I cant jump now am so Burnt to move.
amolo
#6 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 1:40:31 PM

Sometimes it is better to cut your losses and use the money to invest in a better counter and many times you will actually recover your losses. In the Gambler Kenny Rogers says there is a time to hold on, a time to walk away and a time to RUN. I run from Access at around 12.60 (at a loss)and recovered by buying and selling ARM (when it was good)
I used to use Access for home Internet, was paying 4,640/- pm for services (or rather for not getting servicers). Now I use Wananchi, I pay 999/= p.m. the services are better.
Please let us all carry rotten eggs for Access AGM!
Surealligator
#7 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 1:48:11 PM

selah wrote:
Men I think as shareholders we are getting Screwed bigtime I envy those who jumped ship earlier-I cant jump now am so Burnt to move.

@Selah

Thought I told guys here about Merali's accounting policy - I even quoted Kai Wolff. You never took heed. Access Kenya's case is a no brainer. NMG will blow you away, super profits.
Go overdrive in purchasing the goods when there's blood on the streets, expecially if the blood is your own
#8 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 1:54:54 PM

@amolo I support that Idea Rotten eggs it is @sure if wishes were horses.
#9 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 1:59:52 PM

@surealligator - What did Kai Wulff say?

I do not trust merali as most wazuans know... No matter how low the prices fall, there is always room for a further fall...
#10 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 3:08:18 PM

Ukiona Sameer, WEKA TYRE! Yaani wakaangwe na mafuta yao wenyewe
Cde Monomotapa
#11 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 3:23:11 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

LOL!!! Back in the day I used to own Firestone(Sameer). I was so attachd to it, even when things started getting thick, that i'd be around tao checkng on all GoK vehicle tyres to confirm that they were still Firestone just to console thyself. Lol! Nikaja nikachoka, bit the bullet n' scatterd!
jerry
#12 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 3:35:15 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

>>I'm almost 100% sure noone expected such results even with the warning. Do we expect 2.50-3/= morrow?
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
mwanahisa
#13 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 3:36:31 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:

Well said!
the deal
#14 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 5:14:16 PM

Olympia is another one its slowly slipping into a coma...LOL.
githundi
#15 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:40:54 PM

....no comment...
Democracy does not belong to the dead
qw25041985
#16 Posted : Wednesday, March 23, 2011 11:45:42 PM

and i thought such industrial companies ride w/ the economy so well....whats goin on here ????????
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
Wondergirl
#17 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2011 8:12:50 AM

the deal wrote:
Olympia is another one its slowly slipping into a coma...LOL.

I don't own Sammer neither Olimpia, but I do own Express, and its another one that is joining that club. Whats ailing Express, I thought transport business in Kenya is booming?
Wa_ithaka
#18 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2011 8:21:51 AM

Express lost a major deal with EABL.
Its one of those whose success has been twinned with Kibz era.
The Governor of Nyeri - 2017
mkonomtupu
#19 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2011 8:52:08 AM

qw25041985 wrote:
and i thought such industrial companies ride w/ the economy so well....whats goin on here ????????

we are in an economy with a lot of motion but no movement so i wouldn't go with industrials but rather financials when the economy begins to move then the industrials just before the elections next year. Whoever has cash is king right now
ProverB
#20 Posted : Thursday, March 24, 2011 9:10:14 AM

mkonomtupu wrote:
we are in an economy with a lot of motion but no movement so i wouldn't go with industrials but rather financials when the economy begins to move then the industrials just before the elections next year. Whoever has cash is king right now

Agreed.

Financials..sieve/glove of all cash in economy.. every coin in currency must go through a bank..get's in cheaply..loaned out expensively..and drawn back in cheaply..regardless where economy is headed..even in chaos... thus the wider the reach of the bank especially on account of where money is rather than population..the greater the bank's profitability..ere go BBK, Stanchart..

vandalism in 2008 was financed by cash..drawn over the counter and ATMS..in droves..(cash for banks)..distributed to greedy guys who couldn't trust homes/informal deposit spots..butDEPOSITED in there bank accounts... smile
it was amazing that banks did on average 15% better in a chaos/turmoil filled year than previous year!!!
How now? Applause
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version