wazua Thu, Mar 26, 2026

Which Kenyan electronic cards can you use on Ebay, Paypal?
lisaox
#1 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 11:48:33 AM

Hallos,
I've tried using my Equity debit visa card on paypal lakini it just cant get verified, and without verification, i cant use it. Can someone please advise which Kenyan bank's debit cards can be used on paypal? I've read a thread here about equity visa cards not being usable in many visa atms. I've also found a thread on paypal and using KCB debit and Coop debit cards. Any others please? Stanchart?
captainrio
#2 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 11:59:22 AM

i could not do online transactions using debit cards. most online sellers/websites prefer credit cards, though not sure about paypal... some banks also secure credit card transactions to allow just one transaction a day, unless you call them and request to be unblocked..you can therefore check with your bank first
#3 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 12:07:06 PM

NIC card works.
#4 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 1:29:19 PM

I have used my coop debit card on PayPal.

1. Call you bank and ask them to active card. Mostly they will active it for a day.

2. Go to PayPal and fill in you card details. PayPal will deduct some amount from your account and they will require you to enter code in the account statement some to confirm you own the card.

Sadly by the time you are done, your bank might have deactivated your card!
bird_man
#5 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 4:11:42 PM

@lisaox & all....I don't work for Safcom or I&M but the Safaricom I&M prepaid card is the best thing on earth for online shopping.

I had been using the Coop Bank debit visa card and had issues with it from time to time especially on security since your account can easily be cleaned out.

With the Safcom/I&M card I am able to view all my online transactions & get statements via their FREE internet banking, get SMS notices every time my card is used & top it up via MPESA paybill.Whats more you can decide when to activate it for online transactions/block it thus better security.

The charges are almost the same as when I was using Coop Bank but the convenience and security is great.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.
#6 Posted : Monday, March 21, 2011 4:30:31 PM

The Debit Card for Imperial Bank works too.
lisaox
#7 Posted : Tuesday, March 22, 2011 1:57:08 PM

bird_man wrote:
@lisaox & all....I don't work for Safcom or I&M but the Safaricom I&M prepaid card is the best thing on earth for online shopping.

I had been using the Coop Bank debit visa card and had issues with it from time to time especially on security since your account can easily be cleaned out.

With the Safcom/I&M card I am able to view all my online transactions & get statements via their FREE internet banking, get SMS notices every time my card is used & top it up via MPESA paybill.Whats more you can decide when to activate it for online transactions/block it thus better security.

The charges are almost the same as when I was using Coop Bank but the convenience and security is great.

Thanks, this seems quite sound. I 'll apply for one.
bird_man
#8 Posted : Tuesday, March 22, 2011 2:14:53 PM

And Safcom/I&M should pay me a commission for all re-loads you make!Hehe!
Enjoy!
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.