wazua Fri, Aug 1, 2025

Standard Group FY2010 results Dissapoint.
the deal
#1 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:14:17 PM

http://af.reuters.com/ar...s/idAFLDE72F1R120110316

EPS Up only 4%
Dividend unchanged
Outlook Bleeak

Conclusion: DissapointingSad
#2 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 10:26:40 PM

Will it be a scrip dividend like they did last year?
vestor
#3 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 11:27:37 PM

And last year their chief strategist promised an increase in dividend pay out this year. Didnt honor their word.not good at all
Cde Monomotapa
#4 Posted : Wednesday, March 16, 2011 11:57:06 PM

I am on record having stated SNG lacks any record of taking good care of its share-holders. This has just been reconfirmed. They can save money by ceasing to honor the past of the "Standard raid" to pay dividends. That strategist is more of a politician IMHO. Staff exodus was enough red-flag.
#5 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 9:38:11 AM

This one nunueni,am not there.even the share stagnates at same levels since i joined the nse unless things change now.
mwanahisa
#6 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 11:22:33 AM

Bure Kabisa. Deluded guys into buying based on very opaque Half year numbers!!
the deal
#7 Posted : Thursday, March 17, 2011 2:04:16 PM

LMAO Standard Group to hell...i dont know why i bought their shares yet have never even dared buy their newspaper.
mwanahisa
#8 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:25:32 PM

Listening to Cynthia Nyamai on KTN Financial Live. When it came to mentioning the shares that have dropped most so far today, she adroitly avoided mentioning Standard Group which has today shed 9.52%. Has Melly given an edict that SGL should never be mentioned in poor light even when it is true?
#9 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:34:15 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
Listening to Cynthia Nyamai on KTN Financial Live. When it came to mentioning the shares that have dropped most so far today, she adroitly avoided mentioning Standard Group which has today shed 9.52%. Has Melly given an edict that SGL should never be mentioned in poor light even when it is true?

Either Cynthia does that or she loses her job. Hehe
the deal
#10 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:38:57 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mwanahisa wrote:

Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Everyone you see in Nairobi carrying a NEWSPAPER...its Nation...even though they say those who carry newspapers around don't buy toilet paper i'm sure life is hard being SGL..to advertise on KTN PRIME only costs Sh79K yet citizen its Sh143Ksmile
Renegade
#11 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:41:14 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mwanahisa wrote:

No prizes for guessing what you would choose if you were Cynthia.
Renegade
#12 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:43:46 PM

the deal wrote:
Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Everyone you see in Nairobi carrying a NEWSPAPER...its Nation...even though they say those who carry newspapers around don't buy toilet paper i'm sure life is hard being SGL..to advertise on KTN PRIME only costs Sh79K yet citizen its Sh143Ksmile

Of course The Nation is better value even as tissue paper. There is a lot more of it for the same price.
#13 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:47:41 PM

This is a poor performance given that they had increased their prices.

Anyway I think where they are going wrong is over reliance on mainstream media to generate revenue if you look at royal media and nation media these guys are raking millions from digital platforms.

Take royal media for instance it has at least a lotto/lottery in each of its product segment where you text through a premium number.

nation media has been very strong in pushing its digital edition which requires little investment when compared to newsprint.I am sure this digital segment is generating some sizable revenue to its bottom line.

KTN or otherwise the standard group is a confused brand it doesnt know its audience/target market if I was the MD I would get first a niche for the paper which currently I dont know who it targets anymore.

FUNKY
#14 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 2:49:15 PM

@ mwanahisa - According to rich live it shows Standard Group has gained 50 cts..it is 32/- currenty. I am wondering which website can you see the price down by 9.52%.
mwanahisa
#15 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:10:18 PM

FUNKY wrote:
@ mwanahisa - According to rich live it shows Standard Group has gained 50 cts..it is 32/- currenty. I am wondering which website can you see the price down by 9.52%.

At the point of my posting, Standard Group had traded at a low of 28.50. 3,600 shares traded at 32, after I posted. Perhaps the Chief of Strategy was alerted and made a strategic move.
#16 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:13:25 PM

mwanahisa wrote:
FUNKY wrote:

At the point of my posting, Standard Group had traded at a low of 28.50. 3,600 shares traded at 32, after I posted. Perhaps the Chief of Strategy was alerted and made a strategic move.

Apparently in a matter of a few minutes.
#17 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 3:37:06 PM

Standard Group stocks and media content sucks!

Roundie hii Nation ndio inatawala!

#18 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 7:32:43 PM

Renegade wrote:
the deal wrote:

Of course The Nation is better value even as tissue paper. There is a lot more of it for the same price.

#19 Posted : Monday, July 18, 2011 7:35:10 PM

Renegade wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
mwanahisa wrote:

No prizes for guessing what you would choose if you were Cynthia.

No prizes indeed!