Undermining the new constitution!!
What was the use of passing the new constitution if we still don’t have faith in ourselves and our institutions. Apart from this PEV cases, given our line of thinking, what else would be manipulated in our Courts now and in the future! In view of this, are we awaiting another refusal to go to court after the 2012 elections!!! Over to you Bw. PM! http://www.nation.co.ke/...4/-/7pkyjg/-/index.html
Politicians convinced us that if we didn’t pass the new constitution, then 2012 would be worse than the last elections – we passed it! Now we are hearing different stories! Is the new constitution worth anything then!! Dunia ni msongamano..
Rank: Veteran Joined: 5/13/2010 Posts: 869 Location: Nairobi
Just for the record, i was a strong 'No'. The document has too much room for manipulation and too much vagueness. ....above all, to stand.
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/2/2009 Posts: 26,330 Location: Masada
Ms Mkenya wrote:Just for the record, i was a strong 'No'. The document has too much room for manipulation and too much vagueness. I didnt vote NO, but I EMPHATICALLY voted NO. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,822 Location: Nairobi
Kenyans never read it and now believe everything politicians say All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
Me too. In Kenya, it is extremely difficult to have a logical, unemotional conversation with raia. We simply go into a mental lock down when a politician or newspaper says this is right and this is wrong. End of discussion. Ms Mkenya wrote:Just for the record, i was a strong 'No'. The document has too much room for manipulation and too much vagueness. Katika Jangwa la Jangili ndipo Pwagu hupata Pwaguzi.
I EMPHATICALLY voted YES.... I still believe it was the best thing we did.... right now, we would still be 'fighting' over contentious issues.... if we dont vote in the right people, people who have values, people who are not driven to parliament by greed or to either launder their past, then we cant blame the paper... The constitution was not going to pass the laws and implement them.... Show me one country in this world that has a PERFECT constitution and i will show you a  .... its the men and women of integrity that make the constitutions they have work... we changed the constitution, but we still have the mafuthus we voted with the old one.... with all the 'rigging' and malpractices that they came in with.... not that we expected a miracle to happen.... We have a duty to vote the right kind of people in future...... does parliament have a choice but to implement the laws required for the next general election? isnt it the only way they can find themselves back? me thinks they will pass these laws.... and especially if it is to the disadvantage of the other.... which usually works for us the wananchi...
Rank: Elder Joined: 3/19/2010 Posts: 3,504 Location: Uganda
Wendz wrote:I EMPHATICALLY voted YES.... I still believe it was the best thing we did.... right now, we would still be 'fighting' over contentious issues.... if we dont vote in the right people, people who have values, people who are not driven to parliament by greed or to either launder their past, then we cant blame the paper... The constitution was not going to pass the laws and implement them.... Show me one country in this world that has a PERFECT constitution and i will show you a  .... its the men and women of integrity that make the constitutions they have work... we changed the constitution, but we still have the mafuthus we voted with the old one.... with all the 'rigging' and malpractices that they came in with.... not that we expected a miracle to happen.... We have a duty to vote the right kind of people in future...... does parliament have a choice but to implement the laws required for the next general election? isnt it the only way they can find themselves back? me thinks they will pass these laws.... and especially if it is to the disadvantage of the other.... which usually works for us the wananchi... punda amecheka
Wendz wrote:I EMPHATICALLY voted YES.... I still believe it was the best thing we did.... right now, we would still be 'fighting' over contentious issues.... if we dont vote in the right people, people who have values, people who are not driven to parliament by greed or to either launder their past, then we cant blame the paper... The constitution was not going to pass the laws and implement them.... Show me one country in this world that has a PERFECT constitution and i will show you a  .... its the men and women of integrity that make the constitutions they have work... we changed the constitution, but we still have the mafuthus we voted with the old one.... with all the 'rigging' and malpractices that they came in with.... not that we expected a miracle to happen.... We have a duty to vote the right kind of people in future...... does parliament have a choice but to implement the laws required for the next general election? isnt it the only way they can find themselves back? me thinks they will pass these laws.... and especially if it is to the disadvantage of the other.... which usually works for us the wananchi... So long as we have pigs who do not want to see any positive change in the country we will continue having problems, no constitution is perfect, I voted YES and I got no regrets, at least I have witnessed some positives resulting from the new constitution!!!! ..."Wewe ni mtu mdogo sana....na mwenye amekuandika pia ni mtu mdogo sana!".
Hi, Lets stay with the issue. You are veering off!! Institutions/right people - which way!!! With the right people even the old constitution would do!!!!! May be!!! Back to ther issue; Is what is happening and the positions taken by politicians serving to undermine the new constitution! Dunia ni msongamano..
I was very tempted to vote NO in the katiba but I voted YES. This katiba is good in spirit but was messed up by some quacks. I like the controls on the executive with them I don't need to fear any Presidency. However, the new katiba just like the ICC process is overhyped. The law, however good, does not make good people. This is where I differ with wendz. Our problem is not so much bad leadership as bad citizenry. We are Kenya's worst enemy. Jangwa la Jangili wrote:Me too. In Kenya, it is extremely difficult to have a logical, unemotional conversation with raia. We simply go into a mental lock down when a politician or newspaper says this is right and this is wrong. End of discussion. Ms Mkenya wrote:Just for the record, i was a strong 'No'. The document has too much room for manipulation and too much vagueness. What a wicked man I am!The things I want to do,I don't do.The things I don't want to do I find myself doing
@Btimer, Everyday, we are required to attemp make progress even rudimentary tasks at personal level. Perhaps you should be asking whether we are better off with the new constitution compared to the old one, NOT whether it has solved all our problems -you will never get one.
At least one item- constitutional review, that was sapping alot of our energy and attention is done away with. Now implement all the good parts. any really bad part can be corrected.
alikujia wrote:@Btimer, Everyday, we are required to attemp make progress even rudimentary tasks at personal level. Perhaps you should be asking whether we are better off with the new constitution compared to the old one, NOT whether it has solved all our problems -you will never get one.
At least one item- constitutional review, that was sapping alot of our energy and attention is done away with. Now implement all the good parts. any really bad part can be corrected. Hi, Are you sure you understood my thread! Look at it again. Dunia ni msongamano..
Undermining the new constitution!!