wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Your Fly540 Experience
young
#1 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2009 12:37:00 PM

Any idea or opinion about this kenya based budget airline ?
Thanks
AFRICAN INVESTOR
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
hello
#2 Posted : Saturday, November 07, 2009 9:27:00 PM

Foker plane,no life saver kit.

good investor,but poor in mathamatakos.
I want to be a millionaire.
Kulchaz
#3 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 3:56:00 AM

Propeler planes,rough and shaky flights
#4 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 8:06:00 AM

I have never understood the fuss about flying in turboprop n jet liners. Its more like the difference in driving an xtrail n a Range Rover to thika. Maybe its the fear of the ht that induces xtra consciousness,hence the difference is magnified....2 cents.

Can silence be misquoted?
banyamulenge
#5 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 8:19:00 AM

You can see the lights on the tarmac coming up to meet you nice and smooth... You are waiting for the assuring 'thud' sound of the undercarriage making contact with the tarmac and thank God to be back on earth. All of a sudden the engines are screaming full throttle and you are in a tail down position taking off into the night.....Haiya!! Fifteen minutes of tension later and high over Gong' Hills the cabin voice tells you the landing had to abort as there was another aircraft too close. The flight comes round to make another attempt and you can't help noticing everyone is peering out of the window [even the jungus who are acustomed to these kind of things,i.e flying ]. You pretend to be 'tough' kumbe you are saying a silent prayer. Your heart is in your mouth as the flight finally lands safely and you are tempted to embrace the ground.......You go home promising yourself to pray more often and appear in church as well.

God for us all.... the rest of you pay cash

"The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
#6 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 9:48:00 AM

@banya,thats normal...Perfectly normal!

#7 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 10:55:00 AM

LOL... I flew a 1 aisle 2 seats per row plane in SA... LOL... ATRs that Fly540 uses are mercs compared to the plane I flew in...
**** Has anyone flown the russian planes?

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#8 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 5:30:00 PM

Flew from nai to entebbe and back. The turbulence was horrible. The plane shook,and kept dipping sharply. Maybe it's because of the size of the plane. Said my last prayers enough times. I've now developed a fear of flying

Carexport
#9 Posted : Sunday, November 08, 2009 9:30:00 PM

if you like bumpy rides hm i meant flights then Fly540 is for you.

Having said that i used them twice and it wasn't a bad experience,just personally i prefer larger aircraft

Maandazi
tony stark
#10 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 3:10:00 AM

For local flights FLY 540 will suffice. Keep time relatively well and the customer service is ok. No food on board though just juice & biscuit/nuts. They used to have magazine on the plane they seemed to have run out,new african & african business.
I prefer jet link though. Its much faster and more often cheaper. Booking late or early. Less turbulence. Have a sanwiches and fruit. No magazines on board.

KQ is the worst. They really dont care about local flights. You can wait for a delayed flight from SA that will take you to mombasa for 3 hours and the people who were to fly an hour you still fly while your earlier flight is being awaited from SA. They always overbook. Staff are the worst. They are expensive. No magazines. Have similar snacks to jet link. Usually have big planes therefore have a smoother ride. Faster than fly 540 if they are on time in the first place.

SK A.L.U.M.N.I (Alcoholic Liason and Undergarments Manager of Nakedness Internationally)
myks
#11 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 4:29:00 AM

btw what happened to 1jet1

face your fears live your dreams
#12 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 5:02:00 AM

@Tony Stark;

I disagree:

KQ is NOT more expensive than Fly540.

I have just booked a return flight to Msa for this Friday.....

KQ costs US$187.88 [inclusive of taxes]

F540 costs US$192 [inclusive of taxes]

This a great fallacy peddled by F540..... they always quote cost before taxes,but when you go to pay,you get a rude shock. E.g.,ati you can get to Msa from Nbi for sh5,400. No such thing. This is a one-way ticket BEFORE taxes! Add the taxes and the cost is almost sh8,000 ONE WAY!!!!

My only beef with KQ is their overbooking.....they are running it like a matatu.....even after the mat is full,the manamba [booking office] contiues touting for more passengers!!!!!

Behind the gardens...Behind the wall...Under the tree (Including: Red...Dark Blue...Yellow)
#13 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 5:14:00 AM

Departing

Nairobi to Mombasa

Flight
No
Departs
Arrives
Date
Aircraft Type

5H0405

18:40

19:40

13 Nov 09

ATR

Returning

Mombasa to Nairobi

Flight
No
Departs
Arrives
Date
Aircraft Type

5H0406

20:10

21:20

14 Nov 09

ATR

Passengers
Price
Tax,fees + charges
Full price

1 Adult
138 USD
54 USD
192 USD

Total price: 192 USD

<< step back

cancel

continue >>

#14 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 8:35:00 AM

The problem KQ faces (not an excuse for them) is that they try to 'match' the NBO-MSA flights with the arrivals from Europe BUT a delay landing in NBO means the Europe passengers are delayed thus the NBO-MSA could be empty. They try to make this up by filling the plane with local passengers.
**** So if the Europe flights land on time (or passengers manage to transfer from the international to domestic) then the local passengers (or 'overbooked' ones) get stranded!

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
#15 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 8:53:00 AM

Mukiha,Nice one,you have clearly dymystified this theory Fly540 is cheap!!!!!

The chief value of money lies in the fact that one lives in a world in which it is overestimated.
Burning Spear
#16 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 9:56:00 AM

Comparison between KQ and F540.

I have used F540 twice and used KQ on several trips.

The worst of F540 of my two times with them was Entebbe and this happened as we were almost L.Victoria (maybe kericho to Kisumu) at 19,000 ft,we almost crashed with the turbulence and here the cabin says 'the pilot has warned that there are difficulty turbulence and at this time,all should remain calm and sitted with seat belts on,please also note that the toilets are unavailable at this time'.
Then the issue of noise,the aircraft almost destroyed my delicate eardrums and ended up visiting an ENT specialist after the flight....bure kabisa!!!!

On KQ am a loyal customer,despite the delays,the planes are good....jump 36,000ft and less turbulence.
Its faster and will always overtake 540 on the way.
No noise and no panic........they only need to professionally style up on delays and overbooking

Disclaimer : This is my opinion and not a recommendation.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
festom
#17 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 10:00:00 AM

On November 1 i used KQ 610 departing JKIA at 1340. The plane was heavily overbooked,so they provided two planes. A boeing 737-300 and Embraer 170. what i do not know is if they were able to fill both planes from Mombasa that afternoon

Don't sit and wait - look for the next opportunity
#18 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 10:10:00 AM

@burning spear,u must b having very sensitive eardrums,bt then,maybe wewe ni 'softie'....what sort of complaining would u make if u fired only 5rounds fm the g3 rifle? Si utadedi...

young
#19 Posted : Monday, November 09, 2009 4:28:00 PM

From the opinions thus far I can infer that

- Flying fly540 may not likely be a pleasant experience as it cannot cruise beyond 19,000 feet since they are using smaller planes

- Their local flights are not economical either but international flight is. For example one way trip entebbe to Nairobi is USD139 wheras KQ is USD237 economy class. A big difference in international flight but it might be costlier to fly fly540 on local route ie within Kenya. For example Mombassa - Nairobi route by Fly540 is more expensive than even bigger KQ.

AFRICAN INVESTOR
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
#20 Posted : Tuesday, November 10, 2009 6:25:00 AM

...what would you be doing at Fly540 when you have shares at KQ? That's how Uchumi crumbled. Bought Uchumi shares and went shopping at Nakumatt... bure kabisa!!!