wazua Sat, Nov 16, 2024

KNH battles with cancer crisis
Pastor M
#1 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 5:14:50 PM

http://www.nation.co.ke/...6/-/8p1fc4/-/index.html

When James Mwangi’s father was taken to Kenyatta National Hospital’s cancer unit for radiotherapy last month, he was shocked to learn that the treatment could only be offered in July, six months down the line.
They went to a private doctor who insisted that the radiotherapy had to be done at an alternative hospital to manage the old man’s cancer of the oesophagus. He referred them to a private hospital where they were told a two-week dose would cost Sh80,000.
“The doctor told us that the only cheaper hospital was Kenyatta but with their radiotherapy machine fully booked, we had no option but to go to the private hospital,” recalls Mr Mwangi.
Through fund-raising, they managed to get Sh45,000 that they used as a down payment for the treatment. Many cancer patients are facing the same problem.
They have to wait for months to use the only machine that performs radiotherapy treatment at the biggest health facility in East and Central Africa.
The hospital has to turn away patients needing radiotherapy, except for emergency cases, because it cannot cope with the demand.
So far, there are 400 patients on the waiting list. The machine can handle only 100 patients in six weeks, after which another 100 patients utilise it for a similar period.
Each patient needs six weeks of intense radiotherapy treatment, leaving no room for a new patient to be admitted. Those on the waiting list can also hope that there will be few emergencies to disrupt the schedule.
This means that, other factors being constant, the 400th patient on the waiting list is likely to get radiotherapy treatment on June 15 to July 31.

High mortality

Patients who tried to get treatment at the hospital in January and February have been advised to go to MP Shah Hospital, the next cheaper option offering radiotherapy treatment. The problem, however, is the cost.
At Kenyatta National Hospital (KNH), patients pay Sh1, 500 per week for radiotherapy treatment while at MP Shah Hospital, the cost is Sh40,000 for the same duration.
#2 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 5:29:28 PM

This is a real problem. How much does this machine cost? Dont we have enterprenuers in this medical field who can bail us out? Am sure with a reasonable fee like 10k, it would pick.... well, not that it is any cheaper but if the next option is 40k, then this is reasonable for now... until we get another competition..... Am sure banks would be willing to fund that!
Pastor M
#3 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 5:30:32 PM

@Wendz Ever being at KNH Cancer ward...its hell on earth pain is the only word I can describe the place...After visiting the ward i usually encourage my family and friends to eat a lot of raw tomatoes. and do away with processed food as possible as they can ...allow me to share this.
cp
"Although fruits and vegetables are known to have anti-cancer properties, not all of them are created equal. One of the most important ways to prevent cancer through dietary habits is eating the humble tomato.
The tomato, however, is king in the food fight against cancer. It contains large quantities of a carotenoid called lycopene. This is the vegetable pigment that gives the tomato its red colour. Lycopene, unlike beta carotene, does not transform to vitamin A in the body – it has a much more important and useful effect.
Regular tomato consumption, in theory, should protect against cancer. And this was proven in a landmark study on cancer and diet in Italy conducted by a group of scientists led by Franceschi. The study showed that eating tomato prevents cancers, especially prostate cancer."
http://www.suite101.com/...cancer-tomatoes-a324544

#4 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 6:02:41 PM

Pray

#5 Posted : Monday, February 21, 2011 6:44:18 PM

This is really sad. Infact each provincial hospital should have a machine.
#6 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 9:21:07 AM

Pastor M wrote:
@Wendz Ever being at KNH Cancer ward...its hell on earth pain is the only word I can describe the place...After visiting the ward i usually encourage my family and friends to eat a lot of raw tomatoes. and do away with processed food as possible as they can ...allow me to share this.

No, i havent been there. i think i should make it a point of visiting the patients once in a while..... just to give them hope and let them know people think about them..Or how else can we help? I think we talk our God given health for granted so much. And we are still spending money on 'diplomatic' missions to save the who's who's skin..... We really have special a breed in this country!

I didnt know all that about tomatoes! Thanks for sharing.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 10:35:21 AM

It is a pity that their machine are also using very old technology. Three private hospital have insalled or are in the process of installing modern equipment.
Pastor M
#8 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 11:46:45 AM

@Wendz please pay a visit there...you will find a place where everybody is equal they are in so much pain that the pain has united them Rich and poor,young and old most of them believe they are in their deathbed.We prayed together with the relatives that the Minister for Health Anyang Nyongo recovers from cancer and we believed that from what he is going through now when he comes back to Kenya he will be in the forefront in the fight against cancer in terms of treatment,availing the right machines to public hospitals...Lets pray for quick recovery of our minister for health.PLEASE WHATEVER CHALLENGES YOU ARE GOING THROUGH AND YOU ARE HEALTHY...BE JUST THANKFULLY.
Ms Mkenya
#9 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 4:12:58 PM

@Wendz, please do NOT go to the children's cancer ward first. Go to an adult cancer ward. Then if you are up to it, go to the children's ward. It is a very sad ward (for you, the children play anyway when they can).
Alternatively, you can volunteer to help at the Nairobi Hospice, also located in KNH.

@Fundamentali, there is a cancer centre near M.P Shah but its damn expensive. And i can assure you even the others will be. What we need is these ones that are supposed cheaper being availed. Those who can afford are being treated anyway and are not subjected to waiting.

On another note, i think people really do need to buy good health insurance!
....above all, to stand.
Pastor M
#10 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 4:21:09 PM

@Ms Kenya..."On another note, i think people really do need to buy good health insurance! [/quote]

I m shopping for a good health insurance to buy for my parents...which insurance do you think will fit my budget of between 10k -15 k per year.
#11 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 4:28:45 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:
@Wendz, please do NOT go to the children's cancer ward first. Go to an adult cancer ward. Then if you are up to it, go to the children's ward. It is a very sad ward (for you, the children play anyway when they can).
Alternatively, you can volunteer to help at the Nairobi Hospice, also located in KNH.

@Fundamentali, there is a cancer centre near M.P Shah but its damn expensive. And i can assure you eben the others will be. What we need is these ones that are supposed cheaper being availed. Those who can afford are being treated anyway and are not subjected to waiting.

@ Ms Kenya,

Even the private hospital have been making a cry to the government. Nairobi Hospital CEO asked for subsidies to make treatment affordable. If government cannot provisde such a service, it should to work with others.

As for health insurance and proposed national insurance, imagine what mess there will be if we trust GoK. GoK has to put its house in order first. Nyongo must be using BUPA hence his afforded stay in the US. Telling us wananchi to pay national insurance and our senior members having international covers is cheating mwananchi. After all, they only want a bigger kitty to steal from. As PLO puts it, corruption levels in this country are worrying.
Ms Mkenya
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 5:16:20 PM

Pastor M wrote:
@Ms Kenya..."On another note, i think people really do need to buy good health insurance!

I m shopping for a good health insurance to buy for my parents...which insurance do you think will fit my budget of between 10k -15 k per year.[/quote]

@Pasi, it depends on how old they are. Most insurances do not take people above 60 years, max 65 as new entrants. And the premiums are high as one gets older, i suspect 15k is not enough. You can ask @Guka how much he pays smile
But NHIF is a good place to start.

@Fundamentali, of cos Nyongo is using BUPA! Or your taxes.. The rest of us need to 'jipanga'.
....above all, to stand.
#13 Posted : Tuesday, February 22, 2011 5:19:34 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

@Fundamentali, there is a cancer centre near M.P Shah but its damn expensive. And i can assure you even the others will be. What we need is these ones that are supposed cheaper being availed. Those who can afford are being treated anyway and are not subjected to waiting.

Thanks for the heads-up.... i know my heart is not very strong with some things and have a very very soft spot for children..... I know even the grown ups wards are not easy place to be but I will brace myself.
#14 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 12:38:48 PM

Pastor M 15k is on the lower side. The older you get, the more expensive it gets. Try APA, they cover old people.
Mpenzi
#15 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 12:54:11 PM

I read somewhere that with a total of about 1 Billion shillings the country should be able to equip all the major districts hospitals with at least one of these machines. Since this is now a crisis what is stopping the govt from allocating such an amount for this purpose immediately?

I realise there are other issues - eg lack of enough trained personnel to operate the machines, cost of drugs - but surely training of the necessary personnel can be fast-tracked, for a start.
Mpenzi
#16 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 12:59:50 PM

Euge wrote:
Pastor M 15k is on the lower side. The older you get, the more expensive it gets. Try APA, they cover old people.

Even APA doesnt appear useful if you are over 58:

"Individual Health

The APA individual and family health cover insurance is designed to provide total peace of mind for you and your family in case of hospitalization .......

the cover provides a comprehensive and flexible hospitalization (inpatient) cover.

Special Conditions ......

* Age Limit -3 months - 70 years (Maximum joining age 58 years)"

http://www.apainsurance....lth_insurance/index.php
Pastor M
#17 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 2:15:12 PM

Anybody who have might have bought this policy CIC insurance.
Kindly advise how it is.....

http://www.cic.co.ke/Our-Policies/Micro-Insurance

BIMA YA JAMII - A revolutionary comprehensive insurance package at only 3,650 KSH per family per year, which is 10 KSH per day.

Benefits:
• No upper age limit
• Ensures there are no deposits required at admission to hospital
• Covers principal member and family members
• Pays all doctor fees, bed charges, including food, X-ray and laboratory costs, all prescribed drugs, dressings, ICU charges and any other in-patient procedure
• Pays maternity costs for normal and caesarean births
• Pays for treatment of chronic and pre-existing medical conditions
• All surgeries carried out in government hospitals (Category A) are fully covered. For surgeries carried out in Category B hospitals i.e. mission hospitals, Kenyatta Hospital and Moi Referral, there will be a charge of 1 KSH to a maximum of 15,000 KSH depending on the nature of the surgery
• Guaranteed quality treatment
• Rebates at high-cost private hospitals
#18 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 3:47:05 PM

Pastor, I haven't bought it but I know it covers those who are not in formal employment and its for mainly public ( and I think mission) hospitals.
tajiri
#19 Posted : Wednesday, February 23, 2011 9:30:48 PM

Cancer care in Kenya is extremely poor. The pain, lack of support and expense makes it really difficult. The big C as it's called, knows no class from Steve Jobs to the patient lying in KNH. While we advocate for radiotherapy equipment we should be realistic about our goals and capabilities. Radiotherapy is just one of the forms of treatment and most patients need some form of chemotherapy. Kenya has very few well trained cancer specialists. We have radiotherapy equipment at New Nyanza Hospital that was never used.
Chemotherapy drugs are also very expensive and patients need to be free from infections during treatment with good laboratory support, which is absent in Kenya.
Using health economics, it would be a futile mission trying to set up radiotherapy centres yet patients still die of malaria, diarrhoea and pneumonia. These problems have a greater burden of disease in Kenya and need sorting. I suppose we should improve survival from common ailments first. It reminds me of Prof Nyongo talking of centres of excellence while district hospitals have no medication, supplies and staff. Visit thika district hospital, kisii level 5 and kisumu district hospitals; tears will drop from your eyes as you witness poverty and disease. We can all make a difference by supporting any charity involved in health care.. Not necessarily financial but expertise in accounting, procurement, health education, environmental safety,HR.
No form of pain or loss is desirable. Maybe some preventative medicine with lifestyle changes could also help.
Pastor M
#20 Posted : Thursday, February 24, 2011 9:00:22 AM

@tajiri well said sir....I think in Kenya healthy has never being a priority to our leaders and also to the normal kenyan.It only becomes a priority when a sickness strikes when one of your family member or a friend is diagnosed with a major diseases we run all over blaming satan.How many of us just go to hospital just for regular medical check up?how many of us take our families medical check up ? and we all know that its recommended you go for check up once a year.I once attended a breast cancer check up and despite the many advertising that were all over the town the attendance was very low, mind you it was free.why do we take our healthy for granted when told stop eating that kind of food,stop drinking,stop smoking....