wazua Mon, Jul 21, 2025

matatu saccos all over Kenya....even in North Eastern???
Fyatu
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 10:29:29 PM

I have just noticed that most matatus in Kenya are now part of some sacco....What is the logic behind this??? What impact will it have to the Co-op bank counter say in two years time??

"I'm a bear of little brains and long words bother me"
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money
tmatekwa
#2 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 6:42:50 AM

Some thing to do with new traffic rules. To save for big busses and maintain discipljne
Coop bank the. Major beneficiary IZZY

tmatekwa
#3 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 6:45:00 AM

are you the only stranger in Kenya? it's the revamped michuki rules. getting cartels out of the routes and handing over control to owners. the saccos have power to decipline erant members, touts and drivers. most are opening accounts with

coop .......
Y
#4 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:15:00 AM

Why Co-op? Why not KCB or Equity?
Dod
#5 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:37:53 AM

Why Co-op? Why not KCB or Equity?

It is the law.
Saccos are supposed to open ac/s with Co-op.
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
Tommy
#6 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:38:47 AM

tmatekwa wrote:
are you the only stranger in Kenya? it's the revamped michuki rules. getting cartels out of the routes and handing over control to owners. the saccos have power to decipline erant members, touts and drivers. most are opening accounts with

coop .......
Y

this is just a speculation, or do u have facts to back your allegations
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
Layman
#7 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:41:15 AM

@ Dod, Correction: Theres no law that asks saccos to operate accounts with Co-op bank, the sacco act says a sacco can operate an account with any licenced bank in the land..... Do your research before talking about laws, bure wewe, do you belong to any sacco? My Sacco has two accounts, one withh KCB and another with Co-op bank, all these by choice.

Most saccos prefer Co-p bank because they are like sisters/brothers because majority shareholding in Co-op bank (and CIC Insurance) happen to be the saccos
murenj
#8 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:49:39 AM

Tommy wrote:
tmatekwa wrote:

coop .......
Y

this is just a speculation, or do u have facts to back your allegations

the cooperatives officers are agresively marketing the coop bank to the saccos. appears that the coop bank has a deeper understanding about the cooperative movement.i also expect cmc share to take a further beating. their nissan busses are over priced than those of GM.
Ceinz
#9 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 10:26:16 AM

Common sense dictates that saccos will give the members better bargaining power since they are acting as a group and not individually, say for instance less harrassment from the police. As tmatekwa pointed out, will also act as a way of enforcing self regulation/discipline, like ensuring that fair fares are levied to the passenger. Saccos will also ensure that most vehicles(regardless of age) have equal competiveness for passangers through the queing system and similar body colour for all member vehicles.
“small step for man”
maina20
#10 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 11:15:22 AM

Drool Also GK will easily tame them via sacco as well as widen the tax bracket....more discipline and revenue to GK....Drool
..desire to succeed is always fighting with fear of failure..
#11 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 11:38:45 AM

maina20 wrote:
Drool Also GK will easily tame them via sacco as well as widen the tax bracket....more discipline and revenue to GK....Drool
That is a huge plus! I think the 'ownership' of these matatus will be more transparent. After all someone has to register them at the Sacco unlike in the past...
Fyatu
#12 Posted : Tuesday, February 15, 2011 9:52:20 PM

Fyatu wrote:
I have just noticed that most matatus in Kenya are now part of some sacco....What is the logic behind this??? What impact will it have to the Co-op bank counter say in two years time??

"I'm a bear of little brains and long words bother me"

today saw the registration of 500 matatu saccos...in other news....NIC and COOP bank wameweka mikakati kuvuna haya matunda:

http://www.businessdaily...n/-/f9uwig/-/index.html
Dumb money becomes dumb only when it listens to smart money