wazua Fri, Nov 15, 2024

Strokes are rising fast among young, middle-aged
niando
#1 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 1:21:55 PM

Forsyth Medical Center in Winston-Salem, N.C., said her hospital also is seeing more strokes in younger people with risk factors such as :

-smoking,

-obesity,

-high blood pressure,

-alcohol overuse

-diabetes.

http://health.yahoo.net/..._stroke_younger_victims

What is stroke:
http://www.righthealth.c...0f6&section=Summary
For bookkeeping and bank loan interest recalculation try us:niando.becia@gmail.com
K22
#2 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 1:30:05 PM

When i saw strokes my first thought before opening the thread was 'kulima Shamba' aka landing kwa airport...... I need help, i live in the gutter....

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
#3 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 1:57:26 PM

k24..thats not even close to gutter..its something more serious..stroke risk factor number one
- lack of landing...simply never used landing gear.

#4 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:03:55 PM

K22 wrote:
When i saw strokes my first thought before opening the thread was 'kulima Shamba' aka landing kwa airport...... I need help, i live in the gutter....

Bangi will take time to be controlled in this country.
Pray

K22
#5 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:09:51 PM

mlefu wrote:
k24..thats not even close to gutter..its something more serious..stroke risk factor number one

Mlefu, Kei Twendi Two... sio K24... hiyo ni TV station bwana...

Alafu, i don't think there's any landing gear that is nver used, si kuna act of self loving.... yaani kunyonga kuku aka playing with Palmela and her 5 friends.... or that doesn't count?

A successful man is one who makes more money than his wife can spend. A successful woman is one who can find such a man
Karema Hiti
#6 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:14:22 PM

Avoid fake lifestyles. Most middle class Kenyans lead 'plastic' life and they end up perpetually anxious to sustain the same. Solution: Be yourself, be natural and keep healthy.
#7 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:22:35 PM

K22 wrote:

Bangi will take time to be controlled in this country.
Pray

Don't worry, there are mututho laws for Bangi being worked on. For one, it will be illegal to sell bangi with seeds or that has been immersed in petrol!
#8 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:22:41 PM

yaani kunyonga kuku
...i wont make an expression
Dod
#9 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:26:37 PM

K22 wrote:
mlefu wrote:

Mlefu, Kei Twendi Two... sio K24... hiyo ni TV station bwana...

Alafu, i don't think there's any landing gear that is nver used, si kuna act of self loving.... yaani kunyonga kuku aka playing with Palmela and her 5 friends.... or that doesn't count?

Hi bangi iko na mbegu, petroli na glue ya viatu.
Pray Pray Pray Pray
The rich have money working for them; the poor and the middle class are going to work for money.
#10 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:27:49 PM

To help prevent a stroke:

1) Avoid fatty foods. Follow a healthy, low-fat diet.

2) Do not drink more than 1 to 2 alcoholic drinks a day.

3) Exercise regularly: 30 minutes a day if you are not overweight; 60 - 90 minutes a day if you are overweight.

4) Get your blood pressure checked every 1 - 2 years, especially if high blood pressure runs in your family.

5) Have your cholesterol checked. If you are at high risk for stroke, your LDL "bad" cholesterol should be lower than 100 mg/dL. Your doctor may recommend that you try to reduce your LDL cholesterol to 70 mg/dL.

6) Follow your doctor's treatment recommendations if you have high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol, and heart disease.

7) Quit smoking.

From this list, it looks like most Kenyan's are a Stroke waiting to happen!!! How many things in this list apply to you?
#11 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:36:09 PM

3) Exercise regularly: 30 minutes a day if you are not overweight; 60 - 90 minutes a day if you are overweight.

4) Get your blood pressure checked every 1 - 2 years, especially if high blood pressure runs in your family.

5) Have your cholesterol checked. If you are at high risk for stroke, your LDL "bad" cholesterol should be lower than 100 mg/dL. Your doctor may recommend that you try to reduce your LDL cholesterol to 70 mg/dL.

6) Follow your doctor's treatment recommendations if you have high blood pressure, diabetes, high cholesterol, and heart disease.

7) Quit smoking.

From this list, it looks like most Kenyan's are a Stroke waiting to happen!!! How many things in this list apply to you?

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you ....number two hapana kabisa!!!
#12 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 2:40:36 PM

Symptoms of a stroke

1) Change in alertness (including sleepiness, unconsciousness, and coma).

2) Changes in hearing.

3) Changes in taste.

4) Clumsiness

5) Confusion or loss of memory.

6) Difficulty swallowing.

7) Difficulty writing or reading.

8) Dizziness or abnormal sensation of movement (vertigo)

9) Lack of control over the bladder or bowels

10) Loss of balance

11) Loss of coordination

12) Muscle weakness in the face, arm, or leg (usually just on one side)

13) Numbness or tingling on one side of the body

14) Personality, mood, or emotional changes

15) Problems with eyesight, including decreased vision, double vision, or total loss of vision

16) Sensation changes that affect touch and the ability to feel pain, pressure, different temperatures, or other stimuli

17) Trouble speaking or understanding others who are speaking

18) Trouble walking

If this doesn't make you quit drinking and smoking and start exercising, nothing ever will!
#13 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 5:06:19 PM

[quote=MaichBlack]To help prevent a stroke:

Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you Shame on you ....number two hapana kabisa!!!

What is two alcoholic drinks???

@mcdoba....hiyo watoe kabisa!!
#14 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 5:24:19 PM

7) Quit smoking.

You can do all these things and still get a stroke from work, spouse, family or financial related stress. And don't forget our polluted environment

#15 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 5:37:09 PM

kingfisher wrote:
[quote=MaichBlack]To help prevent a stroke:

@mcdoba....hiyo watoe kabisa!!

1 drink is equivalent to 12 ounces of <= 4% beer.
1 ounce = 29.6ml
Therefore 1 drink = 12 * 29.6 = 355 ml of <= 4% beer.

You are supposed to take at most 2 drinks per day.
That is 355ml * 2 = 710 ml = 1.42 [500ml] bottles of 4% beer.

Given that what most of you drink is > 5%, I guess you need to take a maximum of one beer per day!!!
#16 Posted : Thursday, February 10, 2011 5:41:50 PM

@McReggae & @Kingfisher - I guess you can use Pythagoras theorem: Drink as much as you want but eat boiled food and exercises 3 hours a day!

@2012 - The exercise takes care of the stress - from work, spouse, family or financial issues.
K22
#17 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 7:56:09 AM

1 drink is equivalent to 12 ounces of <= 4% beer.
1 ounce = 29.6ml
Therefore 1 drink = 12 * 29.6 = 355 ml of <= 4% beer.

That is 355ml * 2 = 710 ml = 1.42 [500ml] bottles of 4% beer.

Given that what most of you drink is > 5%, I guess you need to take a maximum of one beer per day!!!

so does it count if I dont drink the daily 1 or 2 beers recommended but combine & down all (7 to 14) on saturdays?smile

callaspade
#18 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 8:11:52 AM

[quote=kingfisher][quote=McReggae][quote=MaichBlack]To help prevent a stroke:

.........even one drink of a JD bottle or a famous is ok,we dont always have to agree with my doctor even after consultation

#19 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 11:27:27 AM

Symptoms of a stroke

1) Change in alertness (including sleepiness, unconsciousness, and coma).

2) Changes in hearing.

3) Changes in taste.

4) Clumsiness

5) Confusion or loss of memory.

6) Difficulty swallowing.

7) Difficulty writing or reading.

9) Lack of control over the bladder or bowels

10) Loss of balance

11) Loss of coordination

14) Personality, mood, or emotional changes

17) Trouble speaking or understanding others who are speaking

18) Trouble walking

I am finished. I get all these symptoms when am BROKE. Naomba serikali iingililie...Sad
Mo
#20 Posted : Friday, February 11, 2011 1:30:28 PM

wacha stress, kaa karibu na Mungu. saa zingine kula gin na tonic for the heart!
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.