Good people, I think mid life crisis is catching up. I cannot resist the urge to get myself a good motorbike. Those big fat ones with cc>250. Anyone out there with one? Do you guys think this is a good idea? I Think Therefore I Am
Welcome to the club of free spirits. I have a 600 xt (Yamaha) and 250 dr (Suzuki) and I would not trade it for anything. Ask my wife. As a man thinketh so is he As A Man Thinketh So is He
and your wifes contact / full style address is .............................
tuweke amani for all the people
My wife will see it when i park it at my place. By the way,why do chics hate bikes? I Think Therefore I Am
@mineral water ... that was a figure of speech bwana. Kwani now you are looking for another sort of ride? Si I thought we were on bikes. MYKuku. @bwenyenye .. cos bikes kill faster,stupid. As a man thinketh so is he As A Man Thinketh So is He
@poggie, I do not think that is the real cause. Si even pedestrians are knocked down? My old man had a bike. One time he kujad home with bandages on all limbs and he told us that 'he fell off a bicycle. maybe that is why I suppressed this desire for a very long while. Have you ever been in an accident? I Think Therefore I Am
Rank: Member Joined: 12/10/2008 Posts: 68 Location: Nairobi
@Bwenyenye & @Poggie check this out http://www.yikebike.com/
'If you are not living on the edge,you are taking up too much space' "We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
You are on course my friend,but unless you are over 6ft and over 75KGs,just try a 250cc first for the experience before you get something more powerful.
I just got a Yamaha XT660X which is superb!!
Sports Bikes
Before that I had a Honda CBR250R which is a sports bike - unless you want to ride weekend only and 100% on tarmac,avoid a street bike. They are fast and flashy,but that is the whole package. np comfort,no time to see where you are as u r zooming by all the time,cost too much to fix if u drop it etc
Trail Bikes
I then got a Yamaha TTR250,Fantastic machine,this one. The only way to kill this bike is to have it run over by a chain-type tractor. It will go anywhere you dare to go,it will carry your weight at fair speed and kunywas very kidogo. Very good for filtering in traffic too. No excitement,no major impressions,just a good,faithful workhorse.
Dual purpose (Supermoto)
Not very common around here,but very,very good,many are made for about 80% on the road use which is excellent for your daily commute. 20% offroad with good tyres,they can still be used for weekend adventures and those trips to remote places. Most ideal for nairobi pple as most supermotos tend to have an appealing look,and all round performance - great!
Engine sizes:
250cc - Bikes upto 250cc are great for a first bike. You will outgrow it quickly especially if you ever try something bigger. Recommended for nairobi to beat jam,but crap for long distances especially on good road where u want to cruise at fair speeds. Honda XR250,Yamaha TTR250 are your best bet.
350-750cc - Best range to settle at for life. No one really needs more that this amount of power. Currently the 600cc class is most purchased worldwide. Good power without being extra fast (unless it's an R6 or a ZX6). Try the trail or supermoto,best utility bikes ever! Honda XR or XL 600/650 and Yamaha XT660 or TTR600 are ur bext bet.
Makes
Yamaha - My fav. all good,hard to kill engines almost as good as Hondas. Trail TTR 250,XT660. Street - The renown R6,R1.
Honda - Legendary reliability. You wont go wrong. But i dont like 'em. Trail - XR250/650 and XL250/600. Street - The legendary CBR range of 250,600,1000
Suzuki - Nice and well built,no match for the top 2,but good. Trail/Supermoto DR250,DR350 and DRZ400 are worth a try. Sports/Street - GSX250/600
Kawasaki - Fast and ..??? nothing extra,parts not readily available,stick with Honda/Yamaha. Trail - KLE/KLR in 250,600. Street - Very fast ZX-6,ZX-12 etc..
KTM/BMW - Europeans can both afford to buy and run these near perfect bikes. Not worth the trouble unless u know kina Ian Duncan personally to benefit from discounts etc... If you go for a KTM,make sure it is a KTM 640 Adventurer,you can get 250 range if u want. BMW - F650 comes out on top.
-
Get yourself a bike,you will never be the same again.
Baraka za Mungu ni za Ajabu
@sigirigiri .. you sure are a road hog. you know your shit. The xt 660x is a bike I would love to lay my hands on. Now that's a ride. Can we hookup sometime and do some spins together. @bwenyenye .. Apart from the usual scraps [elbows,knees,knuckles],I have only had 2 major accidents that required hospitalisation and serious stiches to the skull area and limbs. But I was younger and healed quickly (1992 & 1994). I would hate to image having a serious fall right now. My wife will have the last laugh though. But easy on the machines nowadays,except for the ocassional brief burst of fistful throttles I am content to just cruise around leisurely. As a man thinketh so is he As A Man Thinketh So is He
Just from admiring my buddies Yamaha 750cc....he is willing to sell God for us all.... the rest of you pay cash  "The longer the fuse the mightier the blast!"
@Sigigiri and Poggie - any word on 250 off roads for sale? I may want to consider this insanity since I can't seem to resume cycling and need a similar thrill  And I am used to the road rash anyway (though falling from a racing bike and a motorbike are not quite the same thing) BTW an idea - content will be king in 2009-2010 - why don't the two of you join forces and set up a portal/website about mo-bikes - you can get advert revenue from bike distributors,spare dealers,motorsport associations,google,buyers/sellers classifieds,etc - all you need to is generate the basic content - articles,safety tips,etc etc. I know in Uganda people are totally nuts abt bikes... Just an idea - everyone is about to get connected. The problem with equality is that we desire that it be with those that have more than us rather that those that have less
a freind has put up for sale his 2008 black suzuki 900cc,its a serious cruiser.. done hardly 4000km,going for 1m negotiable.
penye wazee hapaharibiki neno
@singiriri your knowledge of bikes is impressive. I should buy you two of whatever you take. It seems that you can talk for hours about bikes. @poggie,You too seem alot interested in these rides. I like the way you make it look like some stitches in your skull were kitu kidogo. You must be obsessed with mobikes. This is my consolation theory that it is not that Mobikes are dangerous but that the riders cause harm to themselves invevitably due to speeding maybe due to the young age! I'm I right ? I Think Therefore I Am
@bwenyenye
Go for the bike! and i envy you. I love bikes and i had that weird 'craving' to own one some years back... but usual disagreements on how much 'madness' to expose the kid to got my plans shelved....
Am now looking for a quad bike. anyone who knows where i can get - and not the ones in nakumatt (too chinese). I dont mind a secondhand yamaha,honda,apache - anyone with info where someone can get this and price ranges?
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.
@wendz thanks for the cheer! I have had his dream for a while. It had lapsed until once when watching Natgeo I saw these guys travelling from Southafrica to Egypt by road on two mobikes and some 4X4s... Since then,the desire to do this is overwhelming. and guess what,I will do it maybe for the World cup. Anyone out there willing? @singiriri,when you talk about a trail bike,is that the one that looks like a horse( a bigger version of those 125cc of KPLC)? Is that the best for 'hitting the road' or is it ' chasing the sunset' I Think Therefore I Am
Trail is the one you are calling bigger version of the 125cc KPLC version. Those are best for off-the-road riding. Can do you loads of good on tarmac too,but are designed for 'beating a trail' if you watched the Natgeo thing,you know what am talking about.
If u wanna throw a round or two,am strictly alvaro coz bikes and alcohol,you got to be really careful trying to mix those.
I have had a couple of scrapes,but nothing that stopped me riding on to wherever! Right now,I really need a proper helmet,but getting the XT drained me fully,so riding with a chinese one until further notice. @Poggie,any hints on good helmets at fair prices? What about a yamaha Jacket - leather?
On bikes and cars,I can go on and on. Bikes r a favorite topic of mine anyway.
@Wendz,say what would your budget be,I bot my bike from London and shipped in myself,maybe ukifikisha pesa,I can hook you up! Yamaha have built a quad with the same efi 660cc engine as the Yamaha XT660 bike! It's called Raptor,check it up..
Baraka za Mungu ni za Ajabu
@Wendz..check your inbox 'There are plenty more fish in the sea,I just don't have a very effective net' Doors of opportunity don't just open , they have to be unlocked & it's up to you to turn the knob.
Rank: Member Joined: 12/10/2008 Posts: 68 Location: Nairobi
@all SK Bikers club ndio hii @Sigigiri for your biker gear try these guys http://www.bikes-kaishak...de%20-%20Catalogue.html
The gear is in the link below but same guys as above http://bikez4kenya-koe.blogspot.com/
'If you are not living on the edge,you are taking up too much space' "We do not inherit the earth from our ancestors, we borrow it from our children" Native American Proverb
@Kensaf By the way,will go to see the one you forwarded with a colleague
@sigiriri give me specs i make an offer - did you buy yours new or second hand?... By the way,do you pay for duty on them when importing? whats the percentage duty - roughly? Do i need registration if i want to have for off-road?
@JKmwatha ni ya ndeiya kurora ngombe cia mathaai initially and most importantly for kijana. But will need to get a road legal later for myself after i see how things go. Possible to get a second hand well maintained one - what is the range? Seen the ones in the website and they look great!
Experience is what you get when you don't get what you want.