wazua Sun, Nov 17, 2024

Luo Nyanza, Wake Up!
Njore
#1 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:54:13 AM

It is high time our compatriots from Luo Nyanza emancipated themselves from Odingaism. It is almost a cult. You need to read the signs of time and realize that as an individual or a group, you do not benefit in any way by staking your lives for these leaders. It is an open secret that you swim in abject poverty and your region is pathetically underdeveloped. The Tujus of this world had a development agenda for you but you blindly rejected them. If you do not wake up today, you will be miles away in terms of development from other regions.
Ms Mkenya
#2 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 10:59:26 AM

Did you read Phillip Ochieng's article on the Sunday Newspaper?
....above all, to stand.
#3 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:14:33 AM

They are used poverty and being poor.
It doesnt harm them any longer.

#4 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:20:10 AM

This cuts across board.
#5 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:21:53 AM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

@MsKenya, IMHO, and with much respect and admiration for Philip Ochieng, what I make of his article on Sunday is that he is bashing RAO. Now the timing is curious, why did it coincide with the activities of the KANU orphans? I maybe wrong lakini Philip has a queer history of singing the tunes of the highest paymaster.
Ms Mkenya
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:08:53 PM

Rahatupu wrote:
Ms Mkenya wrote:

@MsKenya, IMHO, and with much respect and admiration for Philip Ochieng, what I make of his article on Sunday is that he is bashing RAO. Now the timing is curious, why did it coincide with the activities of the KANU orphans? I maybe wrong lakini Philip has a queer history of singing the tunes of the highest paymaster.

I was just surprised at how blunt he was.. However one thing i could not forget was the development in Tuju's constituency when he was the MP. Tribe aside, I couldn't understand why they could not re-elect him. They could still do RAO for Presi and Tuju for MP. His constituency stands out. I don't know how it is now.. I have not been there for a while. Anyone been there lately? I hope the current MP is development friendly too.
....above all, to stand.
#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:18:48 PM

.....now that agwambo is an 'international mediator'... Luo nyanza may not be in any hurry to wake up....
Mo
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:24:40 PM

I beleive with the county model it does not really matter where your political loyalty is at. Luo Nyanza will catch up with time and kudos for to the pple for believing and supporting the reform agenda all along!
Speak your truth quietly and clearly; and listen to others, even the dull and the ignorant; they too have their story.
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:37:03 PM

Mo wrote:
I beleive with the county model it does not really matter where your political loyalty is at. Luo Nyanza will catch up with time and kudos for to the pple for believing and supporting the reform agenda all along!

Not without a change in leadership no Kenyan County would develop by much. Probably have the same politicians or their clones running things at County level.
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:53:43 PM

@Mo, are you sure things will change? I seriously don't think they ever will. ROs footprint will be on all Nyanza counties and no one will do anything about it. Only governors allied to RAO will carry the day, same for MPs, councillors, headmen Etc

Dia
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:17:21 PM

Ms Mkenya wrote:

I did and was kinda jazzed that he would think that given he's one of them..
cmk
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:35:14 PM

Njore wrote:
It is high time our compatriots from Luo Nyanza emancipated themselves from Odingaism. It is almost a cult. You need to read the signs of time and realize that as an individual or a group, you do not benefit in any way by staking your lives for these leaders. It is an open secret that you swim in abject poverty and your region is pathetically underdeveloped. The Tujus of this world had a development agenda for you but you blindly rejected them. If you do not wake up today, you will be miles away in terms of development from other regions.

@bwana njore,
i beg to differ ..poverty is everywhere in kenya..even in central..we do have the poor of the world..go to gatundu,muranga,nyeri and some parts of kiambu...pls open your eyes..and being an outsider,your pushy comments may be mistrued to mean something else..just lay your cards on the table..
Every man is guilty of all the good he didn't do-
Voltaire
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:51:20 PM

some opinions are misguided and can only believed by people who are not widely traveled. poverty has spread throughout the country and if you think what i am saying is a fallacy, try thing of your grand mother's living conditions (wherever she is). our Nyanza neighbors may be having a problem that they hope will be solved by 'serikal' but there is development pia huko.
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:04:40 PM

Mo wrote:
Luo Nyanza will catch up with time and kudos for to the pple for believing and supporting the reform agenda all along!

hehehe.I don't believe Jengs or any community for that matter have supported reform agenda.Just look at how they trooped back to M01's side after the 1997 elections!

However we have different politicians/activists/clergymen from the community(and other communities too) who supported reforms on an individual basis but not as a tribe.

Hizi kabila ziko interested only in seeing a good number of their people in big positions and defending them regardless of their misdeeds.
raszag
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:35:03 PM

Poverty, disease etc is not isolated to Luo Nyanza but if you look objectively the underdevelopment of the area is something to be worried about given the number of professionals from the area before and after independence...my 2 cents
Hardwork, Smartness & Humility = Successful and Happy life...Jipange sasa hivi
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:36:03 PM

@Kadonye, hapo umesema kama watu 10...
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 3:42:20 PM

I think there is a ray of hope. With the new constitution, gava largesse will no longer be through the prezzo, but through the committee on revenue allocation. As such, some historical wrongs may be righted. That said, Luo Nyanza is the only place notorious for ignoring development oriented leaders in favour of Raila sycophants. It will take a very long time for Nyanzan's to change their attitude.
wakagori
#18 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 9:39:45 AM

I concur with Raszag. There is need to worry. Phillip Ochieng was spot on, and i dont think he's on anyone's payroll. based on available resources/raw materials. nyanza is the poorest (ex) province in Kenya. Why? well, refer to Ochiengs article. Which region in kenya hosts the largest NGO's per capital? need i answer?
whynow
#19 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:15:18 AM

I think part of it is cultural. Pride, penchant for politics and "Know it all" attitude is Luos biggest misgiving. Met a watchman in Kisumu who I greeted in swahili but he responded in english. Habari ? Am very fine . hehe
#20 Posted : Thursday, January 20, 2011 10:35:55 AM

whynow wrote:
I think part of it is cultural. Pride, penchant for politics and "Know it all" attitude is Luos biggest misgiving. Met a watchman in Kisumu who I greeted in swahili but he responded in english. Habari ? Am very fine . hehe

You should have written this post in swahili to show how down to earth and humble you are.