Nairobi
23 The Presbyterian University of East Africa
Kikuyu
24 Adventist University of Africa
Nairobi
Sina Signature. NKT
#2 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 6:29:27 PM

where is ENORORE?? a very shenzi name for a university..
Mpenzi
#3 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 7:32:04 PM

[quote=vinii]where is ENORORE?? a very shenzi name for a university..[/quote

Probably you have no idea how deep the meaning of Inorero is.
#4 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 8:20:28 PM

Didnt know we have so many unis in Kenya!Watu wasome.Na hii Adventist iko wapi?
Apple Bees
#5 Posted : Monday, January 17, 2011 11:57:03 PM

kadonye wrote:
Didnt know we have so many unis in Kenya!Watu wasome.Na hii Adventist iko wapi?

iko Ongata Rongai, as you go to Kiserian. Offers postgraduate studies in Theology, Administration and Leadership. website www.aua.ac.ke
#6 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:28:46 AM

vinii wrote:
where is ENORORE?? a very shenzi name for a university..

Inorero university...what a name.
shenzi kabisa.

By the way what is the relationship between this university and Inooro fm?

#7 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 7:47:06 AM

Inororo = Shenzi name. Fully concur. Whoever picked the name should be caned.
oops
#8 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:08:10 AM

anyone with the list of unaccredited colleges? and what does inorore means?
Mpenzi
#9 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:21:04 AM

oops wrote:
anyone with the list of unaccredited colleges? and what does inorore means?

Inoorero is a Kikuyu word meaning “the sharpening place”. IU by concept positions itself as an institution that sharpens people’s minds, knowledge, attitude and skills. To achieve the vision and mission of the University, IU is guided by the following core values that guide our culture, programs, approach to learning, delivery and processes.....

http://www.iu.ac.ke/abou...story_and_philosophy.php
Tommy
#10 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:38:55 AM

@oops, Inorero is a kikuyu word which means a place of Sharpening. Initialy the institution was know as KSPS(Kenya school of professional studies) and the name of the centre was inorero centre.
Don't wait for the Last Judgment. It happens every day. ~Albert Camus, The Fall, 1956
#11 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 11:58:11 AM

how does a list of university got to do with "the best and the worst kenyan universities"...you have to draw a line..makelele mingi
#12 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:03:09 PM

Mpenzi wrote:
[quote=oops]anyone with the list of unaccredited colleges? and what does inorore means?

Inoorero is a Kikuyu word meaning “the sharpening place”. IU by concept positions itself as an institution that sharpens people’s minds, knowledge, attitude and skills. To achieve the vision and mission of the University, IU is guided by the following core values that guide our culture, programs, approach to learning, delivery and processes.....

http://www.iu.ac.ke/abou...tory_and_philosophy.php[/quote]
....having been enlightened on the 'deep' meaning of inoorero, my apologies for making the initial comments...watu wasome na akili zipate makali..
#13 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:35:16 PM

@vinii, still that name jameni...!!!!
#14 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 12:38:48 PM

Robinhood wrote:
@vinii, still that name jameni...!!!!

A few years down the line it will re-brand itself to IU University or something.
Bree
#15 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:38:57 PM

A while back I was having a general talk with friends when one of them said that graduates from uni no. 8 and 14 are given least priotity during job inetrviews and hiring process. Ati because the program and teaching methodologies are too 'light' and arent earned but bought unlike in other campuses.

I dont know how credible this is, maybe some one from HR induistry can enlighten us
#16 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 1:55:06 PM

Because of the courses it offers (mostly agriculture based), it may not be in the lime light, however EGERTON is much higher than the position its placed in.

Besides, its students always beat all others in that Zain/celtel/airtel challange every year.
Spend.thrift
#17 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:12:27 PM

Who has issued this list and what is the criterion.

I am surprised to see Strathmore at number two, and KeMU above Catholic University. Among the private universities, perhaps only three fit the bill of a university; Catholic, Daystar and Strathmore

Going by the style of university management and organisation. Institutional commitment to match market-economy needs, I would expect Strathmore to top the list followed by University of Nairobi. But again, the range of courses offered is not the same so that would be unreliable as a measure of better or worse.

My point is the university doesn't make you. Kama wewe jinga hata Strathmore awes saidia.

That said, I have reason to believe that the University to watch over the next few years is Kenyatta.

Lastly, the author of this list list should learn to distinguish between universities and diploma mills.

alikujia
#18 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:16:00 PM

that inororo name is unique, certainly can make it stand out but then can also be a put off. Being located, as of now in nairobi, i wonder if its not a disadvantage in its marketing because a name is important in branding.
alikujia
#19 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:22:57 PM

@spend, yes youve mentioned. how many courses does strathmore offer to beat giant univs like UON and KU. A country needs a well rounded learned citizenry qualified in many important fields.
#20 Posted : Tuesday, January 18, 2011 2:34:16 PM

Is the list from Best to Worst? If yes,i have iissues with it and can't help but wonder who came up with it,and what criteria they were using to rank the Unis...