wazua Sun, Jul 20, 2025

BEST COUNTERS (ABOUT 6 MONTHS TERM)
Burning Spear
#1 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:17:03 PM

Hi good people.

Kindly advise me on the best counters to get a good chunk and dispose after six or so months to get the profits.
my guess is Centum,KCB,CO-OP,NIC and NBK based on the low P/E s and high % on earning yields.

NBK is also becoz this year they may declare a divinded for the financial period 2010.

Kindly help me to narrow to 3 good counters smile

Regards
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
bartum
#2 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:27:47 PM

go for kcb at sub 23 but dont fix your eyes to only six months you may get burnt
BGL
#3 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:32:50 PM

Ile kitu Stocksmaster amesema ndio hiyo.
History will not remember you for your IQ. It will remember you for what you did. “Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration.” Thomas Edison
ProverB
#4 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 1:53:19 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
Hi good people.

Kindly advise me on the best counters to get a good chunk and dispose after six or so months to get the profits.
my guess is Centum,KCB,CO-OP,NIC and NBK based on the low P/E s and high % on earning yields.

NBK is also becoz this year they may declare a divinded for the financial period 2010.

Regards

When do you intend to buy?
A share to buy today..is not necessary the one to buy next week..
Your above list..(except Centum whose results get released late May) is experiencing the upward momentum because within5-10 weeks results will be announced..after which a correction will happen to each to make the market valuation reflect actual valuation.. meaning the longer you wait to buy..the more expensive they become..

Past years have revealed a worrying trend..where prices of bank stocks drop immediately upon results announcements..albeit good results..case in point last april.. and the previous april.. and the previous april..use Wazua's stock profiler to confirm.. largely because of the rally up prior to March 31st..

question is do you want a share to buy today (on friday) or next week on monday, wednesday..friday..the other week?? coz everyday they change price..everyday trader perception changes..everyday market liquidity changes..

You might get a share now and 6 months down the line the disposal value just gives you back your capital and pays off the commissions.. at which point you wax philosophical and decide to be "long term" investor.. smile smile

PS..bytheway..there's always a low p/e & high % on earnings yield stock at any given time!..question is.. compared to what? industry average or similarly capitalized compeh? I suggest on banks.. add price-to-book value.. just me.
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
Billionaire
#5 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 2:07:56 PM

drop NBK, am not seeing is make such impressive gains for you despite the fact that there will be dividends.
Burning Spear
#6 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 2:22:01 PM

Thanks so much people,
@ProverbB,I intend to buy before wednesday next week ie between Monday and Wednesday.
"You're not supposed to be so blind with patriotism that you can't face reality. Wrong is wrong, no matter who says it". Malcolm X
ProverB
#7 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 2:30:33 PM

Burning Spear wrote:
Thanks so much people,
@ProverbB,I intend to buy before wednesday next week ie between Monday and Wednesday.

then you are likely to get valid input on monday afternoon or tuesday morning..apparently mondays are "Hongo" days..vultures stalking the bourse..makes it not wise to buy..lest you longterm or really risk friendly! ask Eaagards' fellows. smile
..Let your light so shine before men, that they may see your good works, and glorify your Father which is in heaven...Matt5:16
- 1769 Oxford King James Bible 'Authorized Version
young
#8 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 2:37:06 PM

@ProverB,

Permit me to digrace, is it true that you are @Jammo ?
The wazua spirit as members is to educate and inform and learn from others within the limit of what we know in any chosen area irrespective of our differences in tribes, nationalities, etc. .
the deal
#9 Posted : Friday, January 14, 2011 3:53:12 PM

Hahahahaha No wonder Safaricom never moves beyond 4.75 6 month is too short for shares unless u have insider info.
#10 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 3:49:13 AM

Burning Spear wrote:
Hi good people.

Regards

Invest in Jubilee, DTK, KCB or KPLC
#11 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:38:41 AM

Economy will grow by 7%, invest in any solid bank or consumer industrial stock
#12 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 1:57:11 PM

depends on the average return you want. For example if your aim is to get a 30% return using the current prices, it means
coop @ 26.3
centum @ 30.9
kcb @ 30.6
nic @ 63.7
nbk @ 54.6

according to me kcb is always full of praises, always the most expectant to give good returns but needs a lot of patience if it will deliver, perhaps not within a six months window. So what is your target exit price for each of these stocks?

qw25041985
#13 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 2:12:47 PM

just start forex trading how does 80k per week sound to you. By the way thats just for the average forex trader who trades very cautiously.Forex has money
Your future depends on your dreams so go to sleep !
#14 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 4:17:15 PM

Dear Ndugu @qw,

I thought it was lack of moolah [as is for many this time of the year] but I see you must have made 160,000 in these past 2 weeks. Surely, a few bottles of Sweet Nectars of Ruaraka is in your budget?

You brother from Ruaraka,

VVS
#15 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 4:20:55 PM

Jubilee sub 200 is a steal.
tony stark
#16 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 5:25:14 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
just start forex trading how does 80k per week sound to you. By the way thats just for the average forex trader who trades very cautiously.Forex has money

Pombe ya VVS, Haki yake
qw25041985
#17 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:07:10 PM

@ tony shark ..wacha upuzi wana... kwani una kulwa rasa ??????????
#18 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:25:31 PM

qw25041985 wrote:
@ tony shark ..wacha upuzi wana... kwani una kulwa rasa ??????????

its only fait you pay up!!
i still would go for KPLC
qw25041985
#19 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:29:59 PM

I cannot pay for a bet that wasnt worn fair and square...there's a clear line of division between OVERSUBSCRIBED and merely Oversubscribed......if grammar is a challange to some of you..I can tolerate that
bird_man
#20 Posted : Saturday, January 15, 2011 6:52:28 PM

This QW guy must be a big joke.I think nobody should take him seriously . . . .must be a cousin to YBC.
Formally employed people often live their employers' dream & forget about their own.