wazua Sat, Jan 18, 2025

15 Pages«<7891011>»
Thika Road Expansion was a Mistake
#161 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 5:13:02 PM

Marty wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
When Jews were brought from Egypt and they'd no water in the wilderness,they started complaining to Moses saying following him was a mistake.
Binadamu hana shukrani kamwe!

Yep. I am a user of this road and I tel you that the kidogo jama we are experiencing at the moment cannot remotely compare to pre China Thika road. Of course the last few days have been crazy expecially when they were doing the foot bridge at Pangani.

..but I think with the growing population we really need to explore other forms of transport thats the only way out of this mess.
#162 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 6:28:08 PM

Marty wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:
When Jews were brought from Egypt and they'd no water in the wilderness,they started complaining to Moses saying following him was a mistake.

Yep. I am a user of this road and I tel you that the kidogo jama we are experiencing at the moment cannot remotely compare to pre China Thika road. Of course the last few days have been crazy expecially when they were doing the foot bridge at Pangani.

..but I think with the growing population we really need to explore other forms of transport thats the only way out of this mess.

No where in the world has expansion of roads reduced traffic congestion..
I was taught this from an archaic course outline.. from countries that have tried and tested..
but yet still in Kenya we are tackling only one aspect of the whole trasport ecosystem..

As with Thika road..Me thinks the Pangani Interchange.. which was the key point.. is screwed up already by design..
The number of pple who have moved up to live along Thika Rd. has increased exponentially and still will..
The road is only 30% effective.. in 5 years it will be as useless.. UNLESS the other trasport factors are rolled out
#163 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 7:36:58 PM

quicksand wrote:
ChessMaster wrote:
If it is this bad with the expansion,how much worse would it have been without it?

There is a bigger picture here. The expansion eased traffic on Thika Road, suddenly making that side of town attractive for residence. Hordes of people moved across, easing congestion in other parts of Nairobi, lowering rents even (or ensuring they held as opposed to the steady march upwards previously - where I live there are 5 vacant apartments with no eager takers). This is what many pundits are unable to see. A few expansions like these on all major arteries into and from Nairobi and things will be swell, but it will take time, planning and money

...I agree with you @quicksand let other areas also be opened up so that the pressure isnt on only one side of the city,atleast they are doing the bomas,karen,langata road junction that will definetly help a bit when its over come May...now imagine if we dint have the age limit rule for rides in this country,traffic would have been HELL...@mukiha who originated this thread 3years back was right after all

mukiha was wrong. Dead wrong. We need both road n rail, but first, road. I would advocate for a wholesome investment in transport infrastructure, not just railways. It should be a multi-pronged approach. Thika road was not a mistake, we had suffered enough. Now we must invest in other major arteries that feed into/out of the city, fully embrace overhead roads n bridges. I still wonder how outer ring n juja roads can still be narrow, filthy 2way roads full of potholes with all the traffic they convey. . Lets do the most obvious first, the basics. ......fix the damn roads. The issue of railways is a lingala song that ends with everybody collapsing. .... long n tedious. Its true, that the most developed nations owe their success to extensive railway networks. Maybe we Africans are allergic to rail.
#164 Posted : Monday, February 04, 2013 7:46:36 PM

You see outerring road...? Years ago it was what we now call the Easyern bypass... a smooth sail to the airport... so now we can do some maths and figure out how long before Kamakis is just another kiamaiko... we need an ecosystem.. not just good roads
ChumsQuest
#165 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 6:15:20 AM

mukiha wrote:
@yekeyeke;
Cool down bro/sis. The problem with insults is that they tend to cover the good points. And you do have some good points...

The people of Thika road can ride in Trains if the carriages are comfortable, clean and run on a reliable timetable. In fact, the trains don't have to be the "High Speed" kind in order to "out-run" the dilapidated Matatus that the people use. Don't forget that there are no traffic jams on the railway line - cars must stop to let the train pass.

Yes; I have ridden in a comfortable train. This was the "InterCity 125" of the UK way back in the 1980s. It had two claases [1st for the rich and 2nd for the common Mwananchi]. If you do go to the UK, try it... these days the call it "Class 43"

No; I do not feel that the bypass money should have been spent elsewhere.

No; I did not study economics in school at any level. However, I do know that the phrase "transport infrastructure" includes railways, airports etc. Oh; and roads as well!!

Amongst all these, roads are the most inefficient mode of mass-transportation of goods and people.

I agree with you Mukiha. No need for insults. Kila mtu has the right kutoa maoni yake and then we can discuss it. It's part of the Wazuan spirit...
#166 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 7:24:58 AM

A developed country is not a place where the poor own cars. Its where the rich use public transport.-Gustavo Petro
#167 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 9:27:33 AM

@Mukiha was right and wrong. The developed countries that have turned to rail transport for mass movements happen to have roads with as many as 12 lanes each way to compliment the rail transport.

Thika road was a damn good idea, what we need are similar developments to open up Mombasa road, Langata road and Nakuru Naivasha road.

We also need significant redevelopment of the roads in the city centre coz as it is now, Thika road pours tons of traffic into dilapidated city roads that have no way of handling them, case in point the Uhuru Highway at university Round about.

27B spent in 5 years from a 1.2 trillion budget a year is nothing.
#168 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 10:41:22 AM

Perhaps we should bury this thread for another three years and see what the situation will be...
#169 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 11:59:55 AM

Mkimwa wrote:
Bottleneck is at Pangani.

3. Current exit/entry from highway to/from park road should be made into an entry only.. Build an exit point some 100m away from that junction so that guys can use Desai road instead of park road.

Park road is being upgraded as part of the missing link roads. Soon mats will be able to access tearoom without passing via globe
Agra
#170 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 3:36:57 PM

I agree with Mukiha on railway system India's populous cities are powered by railway lines which helps millions of people in satellite town access the city daily.
The Bypass was very important i terms of opening up areas for housing and transport so they are important,
It's easy for investors to get emotional and prejudiced when trading, but computers don't
GGK
#171 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 6:32:15 PM

Am one those who joined the exodus from Eastlands to Thika Road after the upgrade. The ride was good! 20 mins from 25Kms away to CBD.

Then I realized I wasn't alone in my dreams. A big number of Nairobians moved to dormitory towns along the new road. The herd mentality is taking everyone to the new road. The net effect is that the traffic snarl-up is quickly coming back.

We need an efficient mass transport system in the mould of an efficient railway system.

I also think a policy on car pooling would weed-out a number of vehicles that just ferry 1 Kenyan to-n-fro every day.

What if cars with less than 4 passengers were forced to use the service roads rather than the express way?
"..I am because we are. "― Ubuntu, Umtu,
Mainat
#172 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 6:47:39 PM

It was obvious as far back as 2010 that Thika road expansion won't solve the traffic issue.
Nairobi is growing, so we need to expand all the roads leading to CBD.
And ofcourse, some joined-up thinking won't go amiss that is, railway, toll-roads even tram
Sehemu ndio nyumba
#173 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 6:54:03 PM

Instead of complaining why not start boarding the train? From Thika to the city is 30/- and it has several stop overs...

Anyone with info on when the toll fees will start being collected?
suba
#174 Posted : Tuesday, February 05, 2013 10:39:11 PM

d'oh! Let us not condemn the expansion of Thika road outright, it may not have solved the problem but has brought relief however shortlived. The good thing is we know what ought to be done but, who shall lead us to the promised lznd is the question?
#175 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2013 1:43:39 PM

My dream:

A six line railway; three to Thika and three to Nairobi.

From Nairobi:

Line 1 to be express, non-stop; stage ya kwanza ni Thika!

Line 2 to have one stop only; say, at Ruiru

Line 3 to have many stops; stage ya kwanza ni Jogoo Road, ya pili ni Mtindwa etc!
#176 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2013 2:57:18 PM

jguru wrote:
yekeyeke wrote:
@Mukiha. Wewe ni P***u. If you have a plane to take you to various places, why do you want us, wealth earners on thika road to use trains? Have you ever in your short life been inside a train?. Bure kabisa.

The KES 26B thats being spent on thika road is the best money ever to be spent on any road in kenya.

I supporse that you also strongly feel that the bypass money should also have been spent on a project of your choice?

Did you ever study ecomonics in school? Do you know the link between GDP growth and infstructure?

Wewe you need some serious prayers.

Trains and people of thika road do not mix. We are not cows!!!!!! to ride on trains.

Wewe nyamaza tu to see the road get completed and then you can move to thika road as well. We have seen property appreciate in nairobi, only in areas where there is infrastructure.

Kama Thika road inajaa, una shida gani. Kama umeona Green intashindwa kwa referndum, ulituletee sisi.

Wacha barabara ijengwe.
-How do you go shoping with a train?
-How do kids go to school in a train?
-How do you deliver produce in a train?
-How do you ask +80K cars users a day to use a train.
-Wewe ni P***u!!!!

@yekeyeke:

Not the way to voice your opinions. Shame on you

I disagree with you. A rail network, from Thika to Nairobi would have been a better idea. Safer. Surer. More economical. More intelligent.

Government planning is short-sighted. We build because we have a certain demand NOW. Instead of thinking about Nairobi and Thika in 2040. 26 Billion can go a long way in building infrastructure FOR THE FUTURE, not just 6 lanes of tarmac and a couple of fly-overs.

I said this in 2010. We were insulted. Welcome back to traffic jams on Thika Road.
#177 Posted : Wednesday, February 06, 2013 2:59:46 PM

jguru wrote:
Ephy wrote:
By the time they think of a railway,the economic activities on thika road will have increased,then there will be more cars,people and goods..so a railway link is MANDATORY.

Well said! Thika will grow and grow and grow. And soon, we will need 12 lanes at 50 Billion in 2015. If you build a rail network now, it becomes a viable option of travel for now and the future.

Railways are dominant modes of travel in China and India, as in most developed countries.

Only 3 years have passed. See now... d'oh!
Ngogoyo
#178 Posted : Monday, November 04, 2013 1:26:20 PM

Marty wrote:
mkeiyd wrote:

No where in the world has expansion of roads reduced traffic congestion..
I was taught this from an archaic course outline.. from countries that have tried and tested..
but yet still in Kenya we are tackling only one aspect of the whole trasport ecosystem..

As with Thika road..Me thinks the Pangani Interchange.. which was the key point.. is screwed up already by design..
The number of pple who have moved up to live along Thika Rd. has increased exponentially and still will..
The road is only 30% effective.. in 5 years it will be as useless.. UNLESS the other transport factors are rolled out

With traffic build up from as early as 6.30 and from as far as Safari park to town .....this thing was not a waste of money but there is urgent need for mass transport otherwise!!

I live in my house so i cant shift option is getting to work at 9.30, incidentally hakunanga much traffic past 8.30
#179 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 11:07:45 AM

Just a few years later....
#180 Posted : Wednesday, February 18, 2015 11:31:57 AM

Get rid of bumps on Thika Road - who does this on a (super) highway - and construct foot bridges instead and you will have dealt with the traffic jam.

Also sort out entry into CBD. The Koja round about entry is one hell of a nightmare. Also instal traffic lights - and trffic cameras if necessary - around Globe round about to control traffic into and out of the roundabout. That could ease traffic flow into the CBD.

But the bumps are the biggest culprits!!!