Culture
KCSE 2016 Results
cnn wrote:Lolest! wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:Impunity wrote:Is 60% pass in Chemistry the same as 60% pass in Home Science? Yaani is calculating the Avogadro's the same as ironing a shirt (or even boiling maize?) That's how kina Magoha did it. Hence the skew towards grade E The requirements say for an engineering course is not the same as for a catering course, why should we equalize the entry grades then, if a kid can not score, unless this kcse is just a popularity contest, whatever a kid scores should stick we are better knowing where we actually stand in terms of academic, than having a rossy picture of Nirvana, then start importing road engineering services from China. So we should get pupils who scored C+ doing Engineering and Medicine and those who scored A to be Social workers, coz we have As scored in humanity and Cs in Sciences? Either way the humanities students do not qualify for the science based courses, my personal keyboard opinion is, if we do not have intellectually qualified students to be doctors and engineers then wacha tuka bila, until that time when we get them, otherwise we end up having doctors who cant remove a bandage from a face, or engeneers who cant even handle the thought process of putting up a manyatta Your assumption is people fail only because they're not academically gifted What about how the exam was set? I wonder how the grades of wazuans would have been had this 'no moderation' method been effected back in their days If only we could get somebody to post the results for the first two KCSE's...the whole country produced only single A's in both exams, compare with the 141 people are complaining about last year...and the second exam had 53 candidates achieve the A- grade for the whole country and 350 B+ grade...i do not remember this moderation noise then. A- in English was by 5 students ,i do not remember a plain A,Kiswahili saw more achieve A plain grade.While physics,chemistry and Mathematics had a number of As,Biology was another monster.In the end a fair number of student's qualified for all the professional courses when it came to the respective subject clusters and the bar even then was high,Medicine got 160,pharmacy 30 and Dental surgery 15 which was about the capacity then. Matiangi and Magoha have just restored normalcy. I did this KCSE kwanza pure science, it was a very challenging albeit enjoyable course, after our group it was diluted, then C+ was an excellent pass! But after this, you would see several kubaffs with B, B+ A- A, until one time the cutoff for public spots was A-. A New Kenya
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:PeterReborn wrote:The exams are generally recycled from the previous years and there is no need to moderate just to get a normal curve. If last year the grade for A was 80 marks why should be change it to 50 marks this year just because the students have failed. Even in real life there is no moderation.A loaf of break that cost sh46 in december will not cost 40 bob just because it is Njaanuary and we are broke. The reality is that education cannot be compared with mkate. That analogy is faulty We need to every year get new students to be teachers, doctors, plumbers, engineers, mechanics, waiters, pilots, drivers etc How will we get a balance if we fail 300,000 students? For bread prices (if we were to admit that analogy) they're moderated by the laws of supply and demand That's the problem we have, the fixing mentality, I mean to be a doctor there are set requirements, the same goes to other fields, would you hire a driver who cant negotiate a corner as your driver just because he was the best ? He will kill you, surely if our kids can not meet those basic international standards then we need to look for the problem and fix it, be it teachers, or resources, not upping their grades. I mean why don't lecturers at the university standardize grades, ukipata f you either repeat or go. Even politically, we want to fit all tribal kings in positions despite having a constitution that lays out the laws in print. "There are only two emotions in the market, hope & fear. The problem is you hope when you should fear & fear when you should hope: - Jesse Livermore .
cnn wrote:Lolest! wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:Impunity wrote:Is 60% pass in Chemistry the same as 60% pass in Home Science? Yaani is calculating the Avogadro's the same as ironing a shirt (or even boiling maize?) That's how kina Magoha did it. Hence the skew towards grade E The requirements say for an engineering course is not the same as for a catering course, why should we equalize the entry grades then, if a kid can not score, unless this kcse is just a popularity contest, whatever a kid scores should stick we are better knowing where we actually stand in terms of academic, than having a rossy picture of Nirvana, then start importing road engineering services from China. So we should get pupils who scored C+ doing Engineering and Medicine and those who scored A to be Social workers, coz we have As scored in humanity and Cs in Sciences? Either way the humanities students do not qualify for the science based courses, my personal keyboard opinion is, if we do not have intellectually qualified students to be doctors and engineers then wacha tuka bila, until that time when we get them, otherwise we end up having doctors who cant remove a bandage from a face, or engeneers who cant even handle the thought process of putting up a manyatta Your assumption is people fail only because they're not academically gifted What about how the exam was set? I wonder how the grades of wazuans would have been had this 'no moderation' method been effected back in their days If only we could get somebody to post the results for the first two KCSE's...the whole country produced only single A's in both exams, compare with the 141 people are complaining about last year...and the second exam had 53 candidates achieve the A- grade for the whole country and 350 B+ grade...i do not remember this moderation noise then. A- in English was by 5 students ,i do not remember a plain A,Kiswahili saw more achieve A plain grade.While physics,chemistry and Mathematics had a number of As,Biology was another monster.In the end a fair number of student's qualified for all the professional courses when it came to the respective subject clusters and the bar even then was high,Medicine got 160,pharmacy 30 and Dental surgery 15 which was about the capacity then. Matiangi and Magoha have just restored normalcy. How many were you in total vs the numbers in KCSE 2016?
sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:Impunity wrote:Is 60% pass in Chemistry the same as 60% pass in Home Science? Yaani is calculating the Avogadro's the same as ironing a shirt (or even boiling maize?) That's how kina Magoha did it. Hence the skew towards grade E The requirements say for an engineering course is not the same as for a catering course, why should we equalize the entry grades then, if a kid can not score, unless this kcse is just a popularity contest, whatever a kid scores should stick we are better knowing where we actually stand in terms of academic, than having a rossy picture of Nirvana, then start importing road engineering services from China. So we should get pupils who scored C+ doing Engineering and Medicine and those who scored A to be Social workers, coz we have As scored in humanity and Cs in Sciences? Either way the humanities students do not qualify for the science based courses, my personal keyboard opinion is, if we do not have intellectually qualified students to be doctors and engineers then wacha tuka bila, until that time when we get them, otherwise we end up having doctors who cant remove a bandage from a face, or engeneers who cant even handle the thought process of putting up a manyatta Your assumption is people fail only because they're not academically gifted What about how the exam was set? I wonder how the grades of wazuans would have been had this 'no moderation' method been effected back in their days Exams are set from the curriculum, and the latter is designed with some parameters, unless you can show that the exam was set out of the same it's not honest to say that the way the exam was set caused students to fail. If the exam was set within the curriculum then we should look at what caused majority of the kids to fail not increase their grades otherwise we are just setting up a lazy educational system. I do not believe that our system is irredeemably flawed and that there's no teaching If our system was trash, our students who go for further studies abroad would find it much tougher. To the contrary, they find it easier! You get our C students going all the way to phd in UK, US... I always hear '8-4-4 is useless' and such other cliches and wonder all these guys doing well abroad and finding the system there child's play, didn't they go through 8-4-4?
There are 2 issues: 1. There has been rampant cheating. This has been sorted. Kudos to Matiang'i and team 2.The exams hurried grading have led to massive failure. The graph heavily leans on the lower side. People talking about high number of As should tell us how many Ds, D-s and Es were there in their era Were they 52% of all students? D+ and above is 48%
There are needs to do away with national standardize test, they disadvantage poor, underdeveloped schools.
Lolest! wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Impunity wrote:sitaki.kujulikana wrote:Lolest! wrote:Impunity wrote:Is 60% pass in Chemistry the same as 60% pass in Home Science? Yaani is calculating the Avogadro's the same as ironing a shirt (or even boiling maize?) That's how kina Magoha did it. Hence the skew towards grade E The requirements say for an engineering course is not the same as for a catering course, why should we equalize the entry grades then, if a kid can not score, unless this kcse is just a popularity contest, whatever a kid scores should stick we are better knowing where we actually stand in terms of academic, than having a rossy picture of Nirvana, then start importing road engineering services from China. So we should get pupils who scored C+ doing Engineering and Medicine and those who scored A to be Social workers, coz we have As scored in humanity and Cs in Sciences? Either way the humanities students do not qualify for the science based courses, my personal keyboard opinion is, if we do not have intellectually qualified students to be doctors and engineers then wacha tuka bila, until that time when we get them, otherwise we end up having doctors who cant remove a bandage from a face, or engeneers who cant even handle the thought process of putting up a manyatta Your assumption is people fail only because they're not academically gifted What about how the exam was set? I wonder how the grades of wazuans would have been had this 'no moderation' method been effected back in their days Exams are set from the curriculum, and the latter is designed with some parameters, unless you can show that the exam was set out of the same it's not honest to say that the way the exam was set caused students to fail. If the exam was set within the curriculum then we should look at what caused majority of the kids to fail not increase their grades otherwise we are just setting up a lazy educational system. I do not believe that our system is irredeemably flawed and that there's no teaching If our system was trash, our students who go for further studies abroad would find it much tougher. To the contrary, they find it easier! You get our C students going all the way to phd in UK, US... I always hear '8-4-4 is useless' and such other cliches and wonder all these guys doing well abroad and finding the system there child's play, didn't they go through 8-4-4? It's like saying since miguna or some other Kenyan makes a good mayor huko Britain, then Kenyan has superb political leadership. Do you know where Kenya is ranked on international age based literacy ? Hapa Kenya the teaching and the resources are non existent, a good number of class 7 and 8 kids can not handle 9/10 year old problems, so what we do to hide that we moderate those grades, it does not help. And on the foreign universities, there are Kenyans who drop out, some also fail, look at the international scentific papers, if our c materials can blaze through the international university courses with their eyes closed I would expect our A materials to dream those intellectual papers. Wachana na that lie that the 844 architect s came up with to make the same look good, ati an 844 guy who gets a C is the same as the A materials huko majuu.
Needs to be said, amidst all the trauma. Quote:I am not dismissing academic education but take this from my experience; any education/knowledge which does not add value to the capital markets is WORTHILESS! This is the reason I hardly bother to check who got what grade/marks or points or which school led in the country or a county. Success is not about examination results. It is value driven!
45 students 26 schools. Subject analysis for completeness sake.
ENG(45): 0A,4A-,11B+,15B,10B-,5C+ MAT(45): 43A,2A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ PHY(45): 41A,1A-,3B+,0B,0B-,0C+ CHE(45): 31A,10A-,4B+,0B,0B-,0C+ BIO(43): 27A,8A-,5B+,2B,1B-,0C+ GEO(30): 27A,3A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ CRE(15): 15A,0A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ KIS(45): 13A,13A-,13B+,6B,0B-,0C+ BUS(14): 13A,1A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ FRE(8): 8A,0A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ HIS(8): 8A,0A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ CMP(7): 6A,0A-,1B+,0B,0B-,0C+ AGR(5): 5A,0A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ GER(2): 2A,0A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ ART(1): 1A,0A- 0B+,0B,0B-,0C+ IRE(1): 1A,0A-,0B+,0B,0B-,0C+
TOTAL(359): 241A,42A-,37B+,23B,11B-,5C+
Rank: Elder Joined: 10/4/2006 Posts: 13,821 Location: Nairobi
muganda wrote:Needs to be said, amidst all the trauma. Quote:I am not dismissing academic education but take this from my experience; any education/knowledge which does not add value to the capital markets is WORTHILESS! This is the reason I hardly bother to check who got what grade/marks or points or which school led in the country or a county. Success is not about examination results. It is value driven! i think our premise of why people go to school is wrong! and thus it sets us up for disappointment after schooling - why? coz we listened to that song too much Quote:Someni vijana...muongeze pia bidii...mwisho wa kusoma...mtapata kazi nzuri sana the end goal of education is 'TO BE EDUCATED'. education for education's sake! we somehow changed that and used it as sieve/a filtering mechanism. A qualification to knock out people and 'grade' them and as soon as that happened we missed the whole point of education - GETTING EDUCATED! Education does not end in class - schooling does! people need to learn this and stop feeling entitled to stuff coz they passed their grades. The world does not give you stuff coz of who you are or what you know... it rewards you for value you add/create <-- that aspect is missing from our schooling! All Mushrooms are edible! Some Mushroom are only edible ONCE!
muganda wrote:Needs to be said, amidst all the trauma. Quote:I am not dismissing academic education but take this from my experience; any education/knowledge which does not add value to the capital markets is WORTHILESS! This is the reason I hardly bother to check who got what grade/marks or points or which school led in the country or a county. Success is not about examination results. It is value driven! Could this cert then fit here? >For purpose of this discussion, Assume the source of wealth is, you know, OK<
Rank: Member Joined: 8/2/2010 Posts: 480 Location: chokoo
An enquiry to those who might know. A KCSE 2016 candidate did not fill for their university selection, the school is not willing to fill for the them the university selection, how else can the application be done or it's just to wait for the revision period and apply? Might it be late and miss on the desired course since they will already have been filled by the early applicants.
Rank: Elder Joined: 2/22/2009 Posts: 2,449 Location: Africa
karqui wrote:An enquiry to those who might know. A KCSE 2016 candidate did not fill for their university selection, the school is not willing to fill for the them the university selection, how else can the application be done or it's just to wait for the revision period and apply? Might it be late and miss on the desired course since they will already have been filled by the early applicants. Has he or she visited the KUCCPS website? I believe the window for applying is still open
Shak wrote:karqui wrote:An enquiry to those who might know. A KCSE 2016 candidate did not fill for their university selection, the school is not willing to fill for the them the university selection, how else can the application be done or it's just to wait for the revision period and apply? Might it be late and miss on the desired course since they will already have been filled by the early applicants. Has he or she visited the KUCCPS website? I believe the window for applying is still open KUCCPS asking for some funny password, i have tried to register someone but it says only for already registered applicants Life is an endless adventure
Rank: Member Joined: 8/2/2010 Posts: 480 Location: chokoo
Shak wrote:karqui wrote:An enquiry to those who might know. A KCSE 2016 candidate did not fill for their university selection, the school is not willing to fill for the them the university selection, how else can the application be done or it's just to wait for the revision period and apply? Might it be late and miss on the desired course since they will already have been filled by the early applicants. Has he or she visited the KUCCPS website? I believe the window for applying is still open KUCCPS Isn't open yet for students its still schools who are allowed to update for their students.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Is that child from the 5th wife? I doubt the first wife could be having such a young chaold. Portfolio: Sold You know you've made it when you get a parking space for your yatcht.
Rank: Elder Joined: 7/28/2015 Posts: 9,562 Location: Rodi Kopany, Homa Bay
Impunity wrote:Is that child from the 5th wife? I doubt the first wife could be having such a young chaold.
Effort Grade Points (EGP)
To encourage broader learning and reward extra effort, all subjects sat by a candidate should be considered while computing the Mean Grade(MG).
A proposed 'Effort Grade Points' (EGP) can help in improving the MG.
The current Aggregate Grade Points (AGP) should also be retained.
The Mean Grade would then be determined by the better or higher between AGP and EGP.
Students who take only 7 subjects have EGP equal AGP.
EGP=7*candidate's average of all subjects sat.
The EGP is an 'every-subject-counts' mean grade tallying method.
If it were to be applied to 2016 KCSE results, both the best and worst performers would marginally benefit, just like in a Bell-Curve.
Average and slightly below average students have the highest chances of mean grade upgrade, depending on their 8th subject score or grade, which is currently unconsidered in computing the mean grade.
This is not massaging the Mean Grade since the candidates worked for and earned the 8th subject grades.
Selected examples (20 out of 137 yielding paths):
AGP plus 8th subject=$total points=EGP
80A- plus A = $92=80.5A
73B+ plus A- =$84=73.5A-
72B+ plus A = $84=73.5A-
66B plus B+ = $76 =66.5B+
64B plus A = $76 = 66.5B+
59B- plus B = $68 = 59.5B
56B- plus A = $68 = 59.5B
52C+ plus B- = $60 = 52.5B-
48C+ plus A = $60 =52.5B-
45C plus C+ = $52 =45.5C+
40C plus A = $52 = 45.5C+
38C- plus C = $44 = 38.5C
32C- plus A = $44 = 38.5C
31D+ plus C- = $36 =31.5C-
26D+ plus B+ = $36 =31.5C-
24D plus D+ = $28 = 24.5D+
21D plus C+ = $28 = 24.5D+
17D- plus D = $20 = 17.5D
15D- plus C- = $20 = 17.5D
10E plus D- = $12 = 10.5D-
AGP plus 8th_subject combination has 756 paths, 137 of them can yield a Mean Grade upgrade.
Here below are mean grades and their respective number of yielding permutations or possibilities or paths for upward upgrades.
A-(1/84), B+(3/84), B(6/84), B-(10/84), C+(15/84), C(21/84), C-(28/84), D+(29/80), D(16/48),D-(7/34), E(1/6). Total yielding paths(137/756).
If this EGP in conjunction with current AGP were used on 2016 KCSE, a fair number of students could be given a second lease of academic life, getting more advancement opportunities.
KNEC should atleast 'dry run' this proposal, even if as an academic exercise.
The earlier sampled 45 students had Mean Grades 19A, 23A- and 3B+.
After computing their 'Effort Grade Points (EGP)', 4 students with mean grade A- had a mean grade upgrade from A- to straight A.
B-, A, A, A, A, A, A, A = 80A- //80.5A
B+, B+, A, A, A, A, A, A = 80A-//80.5A
B-, A, A, A, A, A, A, A = 80A-//80.5A
B, A-, A, A, A, A, A, A = 80A-//80.5A
These are the 'high value' mean grade A-, with their 8th_subject score higher than their current mean grade.
Any other high value mean grade, with a higher 8th_subject score, can benefit from this EGP tallying method.
------------------------------
In this proposal, the Mean Grade is determined by the following AGP or EGP brackets, whichever is better or higher.
above 80 to 84==A above 73 to 80==A- above 66 to 73==B+ above 59 to 66==B above 52 to 59==B- above 45 to 52==C+ above 38 to 45==C above 31 to 38==C- above 24 to 31==D+ above 17 to 24==D above 10 to 17==D- 7 to 10=========E
Culture
KCSE 2016 Results