wazua Wed, May 6, 2026

11 Pages«<7891011>
Ban on Night Travel Coast Bus Behaving Badly
#81 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 6:43:30 AM

@Mukiha hapo umenena that clause is unreasonable...
#82 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 7:43:57 AM

mukiha wrote:
I should buy a bussmile

You can if you are a co-orporate body but not just washiku. May be washiku express smile

law wrote:
A vehicle shall not be licenced as a public service vehicle unless the owner or operator of the vehicle is a corporate body whose principal objective is the operation of public service vehicles and which meets minimum conditions prescribed by the Authority.

. A corporate body desirous of operating public service vehicles shall meet the following minimum conditions:

(a) Be the registered owner of a minimum of 30 serviceable vehicles licensed as public service vehicles or in respect to which an application for a licence has been or is to be lodged with the Authority;

Someni sheria jameni

So I form "Mukiha & Wife Ltd", buy 30 buses with some 100m bob; then apply for PSV licence.... what if they say no? isn't the risk too great?

Perhaps one should be expected to "show evidence" of financial ability to buy 30 buses then get a provisional license for, say 180days to actually buy the buses and get them inspected and certified and then get the full license upon presentation of the certificates of inspection.

Nonetheless; the idea of saccos should be discouraged kabisa! Saccos are no better than individuals in managing their fleets, and then there is the issue of whether you can withdraw Mukiha's PSV license because Kamau-wa-Njoroge's bus was involved in an accident.

Finally; the requirement of the operator being a corporate body is unnecessary. It is much easier to punish/reward and individual than a corporate body. And we all know that company files can be made to disappear!

The aim should be to ensure that only serious businesspeople get into the PSV business. It's a matter of life and death and leaving it at the hands of any Mukiha who comes along with one rickety jalopy is just too reckless!

Indeed; I suspect that this particular regulation can be challenged in a constitutional court.

Indeed si pata potea--> Get rich quick schemes
#83 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 9:12:52 AM

Been using our 3 Hearses day and night ferrying 'mourners'. Eng. Kamaa akae ngumu!

#makingmoney2014
#84 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 9:13:36 AM

Been using our 3 Hearses day and night ferrying 'mourners'. Eng. Kamaa akae ngumu!

#makingmoney2014

http://www.the-star.co.k...ies-ban-psv-night-travel
#85 Posted : Thursday, January 09, 2014 9:17:35 AM

#makingmoney2014

smile Innovative kenyans!!!
#86 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 7:21:39 PM

@Maka the courts threw out the case
#87 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 8:50:28 PM

Here's the rink.
#88 Posted : Tuesday, January 14, 2014 9:22:14 PM

Rankaz13 wrote:

Here's the rink.

Going through the comments section you will be amazed at how much misinformation is circling around. There is no ban on night travel per see only a license for which certain conditions must be met for PSV's to adhere too. The media is enjoying the circus since they provided the fuel and box of matches!

#89 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 10:26:58 AM

mukiha wrote:
Ole Lenku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
I should buy a bussmile

You can if you are a co-orporate body but not just washiku. May be washiku express smile

law wrote:
A vehicle shall not be licenced as a public service vehicle unless the owner or operator of the vehicle is a corporate body whose principal objective is the operation of public service vehicles and which meets minimum conditions prescribed by the Authority.

. A corporate body desirous of operating public service vehicles shall meet the following minimum conditions:

(a) Be the registered owner of a minimum of 30 serviceable vehicles licensed as public service vehicles or in respect to which an application for a licence has been or is to be lodged with the Authority;

Someni sheria jameni

So I form "Mukiha & Wife Ltd", buy 30 buses with some 100m bob; then apply for PSV licence.... what if they say no? isn't the risk too great?

Perhaps one should be expected to "show evidence" of financial ability to buy 30 buses then get a provisional license for, say 180days to actually buy the buses and get them inspected and certified and then get the full license upon presentation of the certificates of inspection.

Nonetheless; the idea of saccos should be discouraged kabisa! Saccos are no better than individuals in managing their fleets, and then there is the issue of whether you can withdraw Mukiha's PSV license because Kamau-wa-Njoroge's bus was involved in an accident.

Finally; the requirement of the operator being a corporate body is unnecessary. It is much easier to punish/reward and individual than a corporate body. And we all know that company files can be made to disappear!

The aim should be to ensure that only serious businesspeople get into the PSV business. It's a matter of life and death and leaving it at the hands of any Mukiha who comes along with one rickety jalopy is just too reckless!

Indeed; I suspect that this particular regulation can be challenged in a constitutional court.

It is in court already.

I meant the clause about corporate bodies. The operators are challenging the one on night travel, I suspect they will lose than one because it is not a ban!

My thinking was right....

Now will some one go back to high court and challenge the regulation banning individuals from getting PSV operation license? It is unconstitutional and does NOT make PSVs any safer!
#90 Posted : Saturday, January 18, 2014 4:55:23 PM

mukiha wrote:
Ole Lenku wrote:
mukiha wrote:
I should buy a bussmile

law wrote:

Someni sheria jameni

It is in court already.

I meant the clause about corporate bodies. The operators are challenging the one on night travel, I suspect they will lose than one because it is not a ban!

My thinking was right....

Now will some one go back to high court and challenge the regulation banning individuals from getting PSV operation license? It is unconstitutional and does NOT make PSVs any safer!

My exact thinking @múkiha! Who will bell the cat? Mind you, the currently existing SACCOs and companies wouldn't coz the current arrangement benefits them.
11 Pages«<7891011>