VAlley road

Parliament

Uhuru kenyatta wa hizo enzi

Source
#162 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 2:23:27 AM

Uhuru highway, look at how neat it was
Kihara joni
#163 Posted : Thursday, April 02, 2015 11:17:13 AM

That Nairobi was less dusty than it is today shame on city hall for letting telcos do a shoddy job after digging trenches, and I also note that the roads were much smoother, CBD roads are very uneven and could do with re-carpeting.
#164 Posted : Saturday, April 04, 2015 5:37:43 PM

Nairobi Primary under construction

British Military Hospital

#165 Posted : Sunday, April 12, 2015 4:49:09 PM

Today's Nation wrote:
Owners of buildings in Nairobi's Central Business District have been given one month to repaint them.

In a statement released on Sunday, the Nairobi County government announced that it had issued a 30 day notice beginning April 13, 2015 for city buildings to be repainted "with a view of improving the buildings' aesthetic value".

"City by-laws provide that every building in the city must be painted and decorated at least once every two years and must remain so without any defacing. Not to abide by this requirement is punishable by law.

Habari ndio hio
#166 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2015 4:02:57 PM

Route 11

#167 Posted : Thursday, April 23, 2015 4:18:49 PM

I miss Gakuo

#168 Posted : Friday, May 08, 2015 2:06:15 AM

Government Road 1961 now Moi Avenue

#169 Posted : Saturday, May 09, 2015 1:31:49 AM

MatataMingi wrote:
radio wrote:
MatataMingi wrote:
sqft wrote:
Ngong wrote:
kiash wrote:

Wow when was this? wish i could have known those times

Nice, which part of Nairobi is this?

I can see National Archives, Ambassador Hotel. That stage must be the area outside Hilton hotel.

The Hilton Hotel was built on that bus terminal.

What were those green buses called?

I don't remember who was running the buses. It think it was a British company,
before they were taken over KBS.

However, very fond memories of those times.Things were organized

- We used to live in Nairobi South, and there were no high schools nearby.
- Therefore,I went to the Duke of Gloucester ( called DOG ) from 1961 to 1964 for my O levels, and by that time
Highway Secondary had opened in Nairobi South, and so I went there from 1965 to 1966 for my A levels
- The transport to school was very organized. To go to DOG and other schools, the bus company ran a special
Double Decker service, subsidized, for school kids only . It used to leave at 7am from Nairobi South
and stop on the way to pick more kids going to schools in Ngara, Parklands etc.
- On the way home this student bus was not operational. The reason was that, whereas, all students had to go to school
at the same time in the morning, but they did not come back at the same time. This was due to fact that we had
extracurricular activities, like the photography club, different sports etc etc.
-Therefore, for the ride home I had to take a bus from near DOG, and change for the bus to Nairobi South at that
Bus terminal,that is now Nairobi Hilton.
- The bus fares were cents, not shillings.
- We used to have a hearty lunch of Githiri from Mama Rose, or a boiled & roasted corn cob from Mwangi, for 10 cents.

The school system at the time was no financial burden for my civil servant father.

You know what. Just writing this has brought tears to my old eyes.

Does were the days. How did we manage to mess everything up. ?????

Whoa! You guys had a life.

Unrelated, you must be above 65 by now. I never knew wazua is not only vijana.

Yes Sir, You are almost right. I am 67.
Wazua has to have some older people, not only vijana. We can give you guys some history
of how Kenya, and particularly Nairobi was and what a mess it became.

Much respect and admiration sir Applause by the time wazua reaches 67 there will be live video debates and video forums where instead of this pseudo names wazuans will be wearing masks to conceal their sorry selves .
Makali1
#170 Posted : Saturday, May 09, 2015 6:52:26 PM

It's sad to see how Nairobi was and how the passage of time changes things. Where are those people today? It really put into perspective that we're only here for a short while then we go and leave the earth to those who come behind us.

That was some 50-60 years ago. I doubt we have another 50-60 years to look forward to, given the rapid rate of decline of our moral, social and economic state. It is my hope that the Lord returns soon.
#171 Posted : Thursday, May 14, 2015 4:55:56 PM

#172 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 3:46:42 AM

Then - Ottoman Bank Now CFC Stanbic
Then - Mobil Now Kenol Kobil
Then - Ford Now Hughes building
I see Cameo, EAA building

Nairobi Law court

River Road

CFC STANBIC HSE - Built with bricks
kiash
#173 Posted : Friday, May 15, 2015 11:35:00 AM

I miss Gakuo

Kwani its no longer like this? Thought Gakuo had been given the same kind of job by Qdero? Read an interview of how he worked with Michuky ,was great to see they even hired street families do to the watchmen.
#174 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 3:50:30 AM

Nakuru race cars

Biashara street

Along City Hall

Nairobi Motorcycle Trials

UON
#175 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 7:19:25 AM

Nakuru race cars

Yeah the place we now call 'Race Track/Course' and they used to stop at the place is called ...LANGA LANGA MWISHO or for the lazy LANGA!

Another interesting piece of trivia was Rhonda...was "Kwa-Rhoda" where Rhoda was a mzungu lady who had a huge sisal farm.
chikonde
#176 Posted : Tuesday, June 23, 2015 10:24:53 AM

Bazaar Street
#177 Posted : Thursday, July 09, 2015 4:51:00 AM

KICC under construction in 1968

#178 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 6:58:29 AM

Kidero wrote:
Going forward monies allocated to Nairobi City County government by the National government will go towards Development of the City. I have also directed my staff to ensure heightened collection of revenue as this is what will be used to pay for salaries and other operational issues in the county. It saddens me that so far we have only managed to collect 33% of what we used to collect in the past. In 1964 the City Council would loan the Government money while in 1968 it loaned foreign governments money, what has changed? With hard work and determination we can collect Kes 100B effectively and not look up to the National government for any financial assistance.

How true is that?
marko
#179 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 8:45:17 AM

What a beautiful city it was? We could have still maintained the awesomeness even with "development".
WHO DARES WINS
marko
#180 Posted : Thursday, December 17, 2015 8:55:21 AM

Moi Avenue 1910....

Is that an 'L' I see?
WHO DARES WINS