wazua Thu, Jan 9, 2025

10 Pages«<78910>
Goodness!!! Safaricom HY 2011-2012 RESULTS Down 50%
Aguytrying
#161 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 9:08:00 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
AGUTRYING: ....At my own expense?? Safcom is the most expensive provider around.Not using it saves me money.However,pls note that I didn't say Mpesa is bad or anything ....but its a more localized kenyan concept for solving kenyan problems than a world concept.Different countries have different situations.

ok. Maybe expense was the wrong word. i believe that mpesa will have a global impact. Even if not to all countries, esp developed. But it will be very successful on a global scale. And in the same vain, the future is still bright for safcom and mpesa
The investor's chief problem - and even his worst enemy - is likely to be himself
Jamani
#162 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:13:49 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: You didn't get my point.One reason Mpesa succeeds in kenya is because a lot of kenyans support lots of other kenyans.
Indians, Phillipinos, Mexicans, Brazilians, Chinese, Nigerians, Iranians, among others do support their people, its not peculiar to Kenyans, say these because i have either worked in these countries or people from these countries and I know this for a fact.

You say there is nothing wrong with this.There is.It means our UNEMPLOYMENT is so high we have to feed others. Yes our unemployment is high, this was not caused by Mpesa.....we still used to support our people without Mpesa being around, Akamba bus courier services, Nissans to central province, Securior courier services, Coast Malo, money order etc all these were used before Mpesa.

With low unemployment,there would be no need to Mpesa money around. wrong Mpesa is not only used for sending money to the unemployed read Gurus post #155
Also,the penetration of atms and visa cards lowers the use of Mpesa. wrong having access to these services in Kenya is not cheap especially the credit card and it not as easy to get one as it is to get in the developed world this is the gap Mpesa is filling.
Take a case of USA.Mpesa wouldn't succeed in a developed country. Well not only will Mpesa fail but look at GSM is widely used there? we cant compare apples to lemons
However,it may work for kenya.its working perfectly in Kenya thats the reason many operators are visiting safcom to understand how it works.
It has also been tried in SA,but its success is not like the kenyan one. i would just say SA is a peculiar market all their products fail in Kenya maybe this is failing because it works in kenya... maybe it failed based on how it was packaged remember your note above Mpesa serves the unemployed SA has a high number of unemployed people are yes they also do support their, i have lived there I know.
And one thing stands out.Mpesa is for less developed countries like Kenya. Maybe maybe not, I know for sure our banking system failed the wanjikus and the middle class, the cost of paying bills,sending money, etc was expensive.. a lot of time was wasted on queues etc.. Mpesa filled the Gap thats the reason it succeeded

Jamani
#163 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:19:55 PM

Jamani wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: You didn't get my point.One reason Mpesa succeeds in kenya is because a lot of kenyans support lots of other kenyans.
Indians, Phillipinos, Mexicans, Brazilians, Chinese, Nigerians, Iranians, among others do support their people, its not peculiar to Kenyans, I say these because i have either worked in their countries or the people from these countries and I know this for a fact.

You say there is nothing wrong with this.There is.It means our UNEMPLOYMENT is so high we have to feed others. Yes our unemployment is high, this was not caused by Mpesa.....we still used to support our people without Mpesa being around, remember Akamba bus courier services, Nissans to central province, Securior courier services, Coast Malo, money order etc all these were used before Mpesa.

With low unemployment,there would be no need to Mpesa money around. wrong Mpesa is not only used for sending money to the unemployed read Gurus post #155
Also,the penetration of atms and visa cards lowers the use of Mpesa. wrong having access to these services in Kenya is not cheap especially the credit card and it not as easy to get one as it is to get in the developed world this is the gap Mpesa is filling.
Take a case of USA.Mpesa wouldn't succeed in a developed country. Well not only will Mpesa fail but look at GSM is it widely used there? the answer is NO... we cant compare apples to lemons
However,it may work for kenya.its working perfectly in Kenya thats the reason many operators are visiting safcom to understand how it works.
It has also been tried in SA,but its success is not like the kenyan one. i would just say SA is a peculiar market all or rather most of their products fail in Kenya maybe this is failing because it works in kenya... maybe it failed based on how it was packaged remember your note above Mpesa serves the unemployed SA has a high number of unemployed people and yes they also do support their unemployed, i have lived there I know.
And one thing stands out.Mpesa is for less developed countries like Kenya. Maybe maybe not, I know for sure our banking system failed the wanjikus and the middle class, the cost of paying bills,sending money, etc was expensive.. a lot of time was wasted on queues etc.. Mpesa filled the Gap thats the reason it succeeded

Ali Baba
#164 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:33:30 PM

JAMANI: So,what's your point??I didn't say SAFCOM future is not bright.As a matter of fact I'm planning on buying some Safcon shares when it hits maybe 1.00 bob or 1.90....Its a good co.Only that Mpesa can work for Kenya and other countries but not all of them.And you concur with me that developed countries may not have a successful Mpesa operation.Those countries operate differently.You say it yourself:you can't compare an orange to a lemon.Lemon economies need Mpesa.Oranges don't!!!!Have a nice night!!
#165 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:53:45 PM

M-Pesa belongs to Vodaphone so even if it is used in 100 other countries... the beneficiary is Vodaphone not Safaricom.
Jamani
#166 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 10:57:44 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: So,what's your point??I didn't say SAFCOM future is not bright. Neither are we discussing its bright or lack of it.. we were discussing mpesa as a value added services
As a matter of fact I'm planning on buying some Safcon shares when it hits maybe 1.00 bob or 1.90....Its a good co. Good for you I wish luck... happy investing..
Only that Mpesa can work for Kenya and other countries but not all of them.
Thats right Not everything works everywhere,, e.g. Tusker is cherished in Kenya but not in Nigeria....
And you concur with me that developed countries may not have a successful Mpesa operation. Agreed but these doesnt rule out mpesa working in other countries as had been implied in your previous comments or only working because we support the unemployed

Those countries operate differently.You say it yourself:you can't compare an orange to a lemon.Lemon economies need Mpesa.Oranges don't!!!!Have a nice night!! True... banks failed us, couriers tried were expensive, time was wasted at on queues in paying bills, Mpesa filled this gap and provided convenience..... I read your post and i hear you, i also note you have traveled around, Mpesa will succeed in countries will similar cases developed or not believe me..
Dont be too hard ni mjadiliano tu si kwa ubaya, Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly Laughing out loudly , based on your statement above its night at your location so sleep tight...
Jamani
#167 Posted : Monday, November 14, 2011 11:06:32 PM

M-Pesa belongs to Vodaphone so even if it is used in 100 other countries... the beneficiary is Vodaphone not Safaricom.

Right VVS the question or the suggestion was not whom it belonged to rather it worked in Kenya because we only use it to support the unemployed and it cant succeed in other countries based on our P-habits.....
I beg to defer with you on the benefits.... benefits to safcom are many one of them is despite you having vuka-ed you hold their line for two reasons, one of which is mpesa...is this a benefit or not?
Ali Baba
#168 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 1:35:14 AM

JAMANI: I don't have a Safcon line.I thought I told you that.I had the line in 2009 lakini nikahama.I never looked back.And I don't miss them,though.But I will be one of their shareholders soon.
Jamani
#169 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 8:29:39 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: I don't have a Safcon line.I thought I told you that.I had the line in 2009 lakini nikahama.I never looked back.And I don't miss them,though.But I will be one of their shareholders soon.

Ali Baba, thats fine about having the line i was referring to @VVS. Yes you mentioned but safcom is working hard to have you back, by ensuring you look back at the value added services, improved network quality, LTE, among others..... and as shareholder you are very much welcome..
#170 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 8:43:54 AM

Jamani, do you see Telkom Orange as a serious threat to Safaricom on the data front?
Ali Baba
#171 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 8:48:14 AM

JAMANI: Right now I'm thinking about two things.(1)Buying Safcom at the "right" price.(2)When I buy into safcom,then I might do some kuhama back to Safcom.See as a shareholder,I don't mind buying the airtime at sh 4 per min.But for me to afford the shares I had to spend less(at Yu's,no monkey business stuff)!!!Yu get it????
Ali Baba
#172 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 8:50:42 AM

JAMANI: when you say that I'm welcome back,you sound like a majority shareholder or you work for them.Which is which???
Jamani
#173 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 8:53:14 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: Right now I'm thinking about two things.(1)Buying Safcom at the "right" price.(2)When I buy into safcom,then I might do some kuhama back to Safcom.See as a shareholder,I don't mind buying the airtime at sh 4 per min.But for me to afford the shares I had to spend less(at Yu's,no monkey business stuff)!!!Yu get it????

Before careful with the monkeys, you might miss important calls due to network coverage... and people might not take you seriously having that line.... its a teenys network waki-katiana... saving is good all the time but your image is extremely important..... Karibu uwe mwanahisi mwezangu.....
Sufficiently Philanga....thropic
#174 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 10:09:32 AM

Jamani wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

Before careful with the monkeys, you might miss important calls due to network coverage... and people might not take you seriously having that line.... its a teenys network waki-katiana... saving is good all the time but your image is extremely important..... Karibu uwe mwanahisi mwezangu.....

Below the belt...........@Jamani, you are yet to buy for your better quarter a YU line?
Make sure she doesnt VUKA!
@SufficientlyP
Jamani
#175 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 11:24:07 AM

Sufficiently Philanga....thropic wrote:
Jamani wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

Below the belt...........@Jamani, you are yet to buy for your better quarter a YU line?
Make sure she doesnt VUKA!

Nice one, it made me laugh...... though am a strict zero grazer with no time for side shows...... i leave that to the young and young at heart..... to add on it will bring my image down buying monkey lines.....and for her aaaiiiihh hapa she is special, if we need to chit-chat there are special romantic places and ways sio kwa simu bwana....niko na class kiasi.....
Jamani
#176 Posted : Tuesday, November 15, 2011 12:52:43 PM

Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: when you say that I'm welcome back,you sound like a majority shareholder or you work for them.Which is which???

hahaha, i dont consider myself anywhere near majority, though my holding in there is above 400k shares... i dont work for them....
hisah
#177 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 9:08:32 AM

Ali Baba wrote:
JAMANI: So,what's your point??I didn't say SAFCOM future is not bright.As a matter of fact I'm planning on buying some Safcon shares when it hits maybe 1.00 bob or 1.90....Its a good co.Only that Mpesa can work for Kenya and other countries but not all of them.And you concur with me that developed countries may not have a successful Mpesa operation.Those countries operate differently.You say it yourself:you can't compare an orange to a lemon.Lemon economies need Mpesa.Oranges don't!!!!Have a nice night!!

Someone is about to eat their words...
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
Jamani
#178 Posted : Thursday, May 10, 2012 9:22:09 AM

hisah wrote:
Ali Baba wrote:

Someone is about to eat their words...

Hisah...thank you... now they know i dont need to rub it in...numbers are out for them to see...
tony stark
#179 Posted : Friday, September 25, 2020 4:22:19 PM

youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Other than Michael Joseph, another person who seems to have had perfect timing in jumping ship is Paul Wanderi Ndung'u, who moved his mobile phone dealership business to Telkom Orange from Safaricom

Wazua never forgets. This seem like wisdom when it was typed out a decade ago!! d'oh! d'oh!
NewMoney
#180 Posted : Saturday, September 26, 2020 12:22:49 AM

tony stark wrote:
youcan'tstopusnow wrote:
Other than Michael Joseph, another person who seems to have had perfect timing in jumping ship is Paul Wanderi Ndung'u, who moved his mobile phone dealership business to Telkom Orange from Safaricom

Wazua never forgets. This seem like wisdom when it was typed out a decade ago!! d'oh! d'oh!

Yeah, I never take any advice from here seriously coz most of it is naive and outright wrong, but still I like to know what that most clueless of us are thinking