wazua Mon, Jan 13, 2025

151 Pages«<8788899091>»
Law Capping interest rates
muandiwambeu
#1761 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 3:43:26 PM

josimar wrote:
In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

That's untrue. And if it is, to mi and fellow wanjiku, its like preaching gospel to pharaoh. Eti 1% say per month and not per year.
,Behold, a sower went forth to sow;....
#1762 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 6:13:37 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
josimar wrote:
In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

That's untrue. And if it is, to mi and fellow wanjiku, its like preaching gospel to pharaoh. Eti 1% say per month and not per year.

Hii ndio ubaya ya kuishi Maragua au Yala and not being interested in global finance.. Its a fact that rates in Asia and Europe are at about 2 to 3 percent per annum with countries such as Japan having negative interest on borrowing!
https://mobile.nytimes.c...tive-interest-rates.html

HF 90,000 ABP 3.83; KQ 414,100 ABP 7.92; MTN 23,800 ABP 6.45
muandiwambeu
#1763 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 6:56:05 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
[quote=josimar]In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

Hii ndio ubaya ya kuishi Maragua au Yala and not being interested in global finance.. Its a fact that rates in Asia and Europe are at about 2 to 3 percent per annum with countries such as Japan having negative interest on borrowing!
https://mobile.nytimes.c...ive-interest-rates.html[/quote]

Yawa my lord. I said this person known as @obiero is a smart chap, but now look. Interest rates can be any numeral, but to a Kenyan, your figures would cause a bank run. Would cause small banks to be in for it. Does that make sense? It will kill the credit in this mugai's nation. It will leave your stocks seriously beaten.
Maragua people are very good potters and they know places.
#1764 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 8:32:16 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
[quote=josimar]In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

Yawa my lord. I said this person known as @obiero is a smart chap, but now look. Interest rates can be any numeral, but to a Kenyan, your figures would cause a bank run. Would cause small banks to be in for it. Does that make sense? It will kill the credit in this mugai's nation. It will leave your stocks seriously beaten.

Graham, Buffer's mentor did the study and found that no correlation exists between bank rates and the stock market.. The only positive correlation even applicable to Kenya is between the bills market and the exchange i.e higher Tbills, lower exchange prices and the inverse is true

#1765 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 8:52:30 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:

Do you understand the meaning of negative interest rates and why it's used? FYI it doesn't apply to borrowings but deposits and it's mainly used by central/federal banks to force banks to lend
#1766 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 9:09:33 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:

Do you understand the meaning of negative interest rates and why it's used? FYI it doesn't apply to borrowings but deposits and it's mainly used by central/federal banks to force banks to lend

@swenyani let me take you to school http://www.investopedia....-interest-rates-work.asp

#1767 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 9:25:21 PM

[quote=muandiwambeu][quote=josimar]In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

@swenyani let me take you to school http://www.investopedia....interest-rates-work.asp[/quote]

Asante sana

Negative interest rates are an unconventional monetary policy tool first deployed by Sweden's central bank in July 2009, when it cut its overnight deposit rate to -0.25%. The European Central Bank (ECB) followed in June 2014, when it lowered its deposit rate to -0.1%. Other European countries and Japan have joined the negative-rate club, resulting in $10 trillion worth of government debt carrying negative yields, according to Fitch

It only applies to deposit. Soma uelewe sio kumaliza.

From my limited understanding, negative interest rates apply when banks are not willing to lend to wanjikus and prefer "hoarding" or parking the money with central bank. The central bank then punishes them by charging the commercial banks(not wanjiku's) a negative interest rate on their deposits in order to encourage commercial banks to lend to wanjiku's like you but not at a negative interest rate ofcourse.

Investopedia is not an authority on such matters though!

#1768 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 9:46:59 PM

[quote=muandiwambeu][quote=josimar]In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

@swenyani let me take you to school http://www.investopedia....interest-rates-work.asp[/quote]

Asante sana

Negative interest rates are an unconventional monetary policy tool first deployed by Sweden's central bank in July 2009, when it cut its overnight deposit rate to -0.25%. The European Central Bank (ECB) followed in June 2014, when it lowered its deposit rate to -0.1%. Other European countries and Japan have joined the negative-rate club, resulting in $10 trillion worth of government debt carrying negative yields, according to Fitch

From my limited understanding, negative interest rates apply when banks are not willing to lend to wanjikus and prefer "hoarding" or parking the money with central bank. The central bank then punishes them by charging the commercial banks(not wanjiku's) a negative interest rate on their deposits in order to encourage commercial banks to lend to wanjiku's like you but not at a negative interest rate ofcourse.

New concepts are sometimes hard to comprehend.. We will take it slowly http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-32284393

muandiwambeu
#1769 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 9:58:51 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:

Graham, Buffer's mentor did the study and found that no correlation exists between bank rates and the stock market.. The only positive correlation even applicable to Kenya is between the bills market and the exchange i.e higher Tbills, lower exchange prices and the inverse is true

Wachana na graham, masomo yake ni ya kale. Let's look around here at home, pre-interest caps equity was trading at forties. Post caps, lower interest rates now trades at twenties.
Lakini nitakupea assignment ya Leo jioni.
Examine the impact of interest rates capping on kenya's top ten banks pre and post caps and give explanation to you observation. (Minimum ten pages) 1mark.
#1770 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 10:08:24 PM

[quote=obiero][quote=muandiwambeu][quote=josimar]In developed economies such as Japan , mortgage rates are offered at 1% and tenor is 30 Years .

Asante sana

New concepts are sometimes hard to comprehend.. We will take it slowly http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-32284393[/quote]

I asked you to read to understand the articles you are posting not to finish reading them. These articles are basically saying the same thing I'm telling you.

Perhaps the first thing worth stating is that negative interest rates are probably not coming to a High Street near you in the near future

As you can see, it doesn't apply to a wanjiku even in EU

One point worth spelling out is that we are not talking about negative real interest rates. That is where you have an interest rate that may be above zero but it is lower than inflation. That means that a borrower's total repayments have less purchasing power than the amount they first borrowed.

I hope this is not what you are referring to

That is not so unusual. As long as there is at least moderate inflation, central banks can get real rates below zero to stimulate economic recovery and there have been many episodes of that.
No. We are talking here about what economists call nominal interest rates below zero, making no allowance for rising (or falling) prices.
The reason it is so strange is this: normally a potential lender can choose not to lend and just sit on the funds. That is equivalent to getting a nominal interest rate of zero. Not great, but surely better than an interest rate of less than zero. That is the basic idea behind the concept of the zero lower bound.

Lenders refusing to lend to a wanjiku thus central bans introduced negative interest rates on commercial banks deposits held by central bank to force them to move money out and lender to wanjiku to stimulate economic recovery/growth

Some examples are central bank policies. In the eurozone, in Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland and Japan, central banks have decided to have a negative rate on commercial banks' excess funds held on deposit at the central bank. In effect, private sector banks have to pay to park their money

As you can see, the central banks are charging commercial banks a rate on deposit held with central banks aka negative interest rates on commercial banks deposits. So as-refer to above paragraphs -stimulate economic recovery...by encouraging banks to lend to wanjiku instead of hoarding the money with central banks

Some examples are central bank policies. In the eurozone, in Denmark, Sweden, Switzerland and Japan, central banks have decided to have a negative rate on commercial banks' excess funds held on deposit at the central bank. In effect, private sector banks have to pay to park their money

Low interest rates are of course unwelcome news to savers. Negative central bank rates have started to lead to some bank customers being charged a negative rate on their accounts, mainly businesses with large balances

Rationale is the same, the primary objective is to stimulate economic growth because a rational investor would prefer his money to be invested in other sectors of the economy than to be deducted charges on his deposits.

Now give me a link where borrowers(wanjiku's) have borrowed money and the banks keep on paying them an interest every month or year
#1771 Posted : Tuesday, January 24, 2017 10:12:43 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:

Wachana na graham, masomo yake ni ya kale. Let's look around here at home, pre-interest caps equity was trading at forties. Post caps, lower interest rates now trades at twenties.
Lakini nitakupea assignment ya Leo jioni.
Examine the impact of interest rates capping on kenya's top ten banks pre and post caps and give explanation to you observation. (Minimum ten pages) 1mark.

The current economic situation in Kenya is completely complex with billions being stashed in gunny bags by a corrupted lot

#1772 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 10:28:09 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
josimar wrote:

1% is given to the top 1% in society. The likes of Zuckerberg and crew! Even Obama's mortgage is/was at 4.xy%

Mortgage rates for Zuckerberg and the ultra rich!
#1773 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 10:42:43 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
josimar wrote:

https://mobile.nytimes.c...ive-interest-rates.html ^

Not true @Obiero!!! Negative interest rates are charged to banks by Central Banks not Banks to clients!!! The Central Bank charges banks an intrest when the bank keeps money at the Central Bank instead of paying the Bank interest. This discourages banks from holding cash (as opposed to lending).

Kindly post a link showing a bank ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD giving loans to clients and charging negative interest rates!!!
#1774 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 10:46:57 AM

@Obiero must be currently residing in "Maragua or Yala"!

Ngalaka
#1775 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 11:30:04 AM

Even good old common sense should tell us that its not possible that one can borrow money and then pay less than what they borrowed!
End of discussion.

Separately, an interest rate of 1% per annum with a 30 year tenor would mean - there shouldnt be any tenants, just take that house on mortgage and pay installments that are virtually equal to what rent would cost you.
Isuni yilu yi maa me muyo - ni Mbisuu
Metasploit
#1776 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 11:43:30 AM

muandiwambeu wrote:
josimar wrote:

Not true @Obiero!!! Negative interest rates are charged to banks by Central Banks not Banks to clients!!! The Central Bank charges banks an intrest when the bank keeps money at the Central Bank instead of paying the Bank interest. This discourages banks from holding cash (as opposed to lending).

Kindly post a link show a bank ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD giving loans to clients and charging negative interest rates!!!

He he he..Someone wants to insinuate that a bank will be paying you monthly for taking a loan with them..Interesting

“The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects it to change; the realist adjusts the sails.”
hisah
#1777 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 12:01:00 PM

muandiwambeu wrote:
josimar wrote:

Kindly post a link show a bank ANYWHERE IN THE WORLD giving loans to clients and charging negative interest rates!!!

Swiss alternative bank breaks negative rates taboo

German Bank Hits Rich Clients with Negative Interest Rates

Julius Baer splits negative rates between bank, clients and advisers

Danish bank charges ordinary customers for deposits as negative interest rates bite

RBS starts charging financial customers to park their cash

This is why I expect the euro to crash below parity vs USD unless they stop this negative interest rate policy lunacy!!!
$15/barrel oil... The commodities lehman moment arrives as well as Sovereign debt volcano!
#1778 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 1:25:46 PM

Wazua should pay me for the traffic I generate.. lol

#1779 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 1:28:38 PM

Wazua should pay me for the traffic I generate.. lol

#1780 Posted : Wednesday, January 25, 2017 1:57:37 PM

hisah wrote:
muandiwambeu wrote:
josimar wrote:

Swiss alternative bank breaks negative rates taboo

German Bank Hits Rich Clients with Negative Interest Rates

Julius Baer splits negative rates between bank, clients and advisers

Danish bank charges ordinary customers for deposits as negative interest rates bite

RBS starts charging financial customers to park their cash

This is why I expect the euro to crash below parity vs USD unless they stop this negative interest rate policy lunacy!!!

This is not different from what we are saying. In each of those links customers are being charged for DEPOSITS in the Bank!. Instead of being paid interest for their deposits, they are charged. And that is exactly what used to happen in Kenya (only that it was given other names like ledger fees, account maintenance fee bla bla bla). You could leave 30k for example in an account go to Kandahar and when you come back you find your new balance is 20k.

What we are telling @Obiero, no bank anywhere in the world will give him a loan of x and expect him to pay less than x (a negative interest rate on the loan). And one wazuan has made this very easy on everyone and referred him to something called common sense. Surely, why would any bank want to give you 1,000,000/= and you pay back 900,000/= over a period of time while they take on the burden of processing, follow up, logistics etc. and bear all the risk of default!!??