cycling to work on your own?
Mwafrika31 wrote:Seeders wrote:inferiority complex galore. the man is asking a question. whether he is reddish-purple, yellowish-green or an oga don't matter. reverse racism. unless he asks you to lend him your bike... @ seeders I'm lowering my dignity just to respond to you. Its impossible for an African to be racist. If a criminal steals your tv and you take it back, are you also guilty of theft? Your psychotic statement has mortified me & exposed a deep fissure of undiagnosed dementia in you. Mwafrika.. It is entirely possible for an African to be a racist. Ask me. For the longest time, I'm ashamed to say, I was one.. Couldn't stand being in the same room with, let alone talk to, a white person or an Indian... Especially after visiting the Ghana Slave castles... but dude, I've learnt that just like with the PEV proponents, I was wrong.. there are only bad people (Rain-bugger, Hitler, our MPigs etc) and good people. I will concede, however, that a lot of whites do think they're superior. Notwithstanding the fact that I've beaten every one of the ones I've encountered in my areas of expertise.
Mozenrat, much respect for admitting that! I hate racism, I get really angry if a white person says anything in my country but luckily there aren't many! I like your statement about the justification of not being a racist there are 2 types of people, good people and bad people, very profound if someone thinks they are above me, I don't retaliate, I just feel sorry for them as they have no clue about life and the lie they believe in hate breeds hate, racism will make you a bitter person Apparently, I'm a Nigerian scammer :( feel free to ignore any business propositions
Mr Davies...I have not the time to read all the posts but I will venture some advice since I surmise none of the previous posters is posting out of experience. This comes from someone who HAS cycled to work - both road bike and MTB - 40 kms per day - Thika Road near Kasarani up to Ngong Sarit Hyper or thereabouts...brag brag....and has also cycled to Lake Magadi half a dozen times...and was an amateur cyclists for quite a while.
I'd say as long as you are bold...even on narrow roads...make your intentions clear...don't allow room for overtaking cars to try and squeeze by and clip you with side mirrors , etc...ANY road is good. Even Waikayi Way, Langata Road (that road I am very familiar with...all the way to Ngong Town to Kiserian, Rongai, etc). This has to do with safety in the sense of NOT becoming a bonnet ornament or shattering someone's windscreen.
There is just ONE road that really freaks me out - Jogoo Road - on account of the matatus pulling in and out of stages, pedestrians, handcarts, other cyclists laden sky high with all manner of things, etc...you need as many eyes as a spider on that road.
Regarding safety in terms of theft/attacks...that can happen anywhere and I mean anywhere. I recall one sunday morning I was going to a cycling race that started at Nyayo Stadium...near the Nyayo House roundabout three guys jumped me...and tried to take my bike...strangely they were not aware that cyclists have pretty strong legs...so, balancing on cycling shoes with cleats and all I let them have it....I even threw my water bottle after their retreating figures...that was JUST after Grand Regency and just before the roundabout ....in broad daylight....but I did anticipate it as they looked suspicious...so, look ahead, try and read people's intentions, avoid deserted places and be prepared to go down fighting. People are awakening to the fact that a decent MTB can cost as much as US$ 1000...or a racing bike up to US$ 2000....
In Karen-Langata area you should be fairly safe...A good part of Langata Road has a pedestrian/cycling path....and I find it safer to ride in heavy traffic...so once you get to Nairobi West...if it peak hours, you'll be thankful to be riding and not sitting in traffic with the "I must drive my ex-japan Toyota to work" class.
Do it! Bonne chance!
oh dear, I am just now reading the preceding posts...how did this post creep into the gutter?  Seriously people! tut tut!
Djinn wrote:oh dear, I am just now reading the preceding posts...how did this post creep into the gutter?  Seriously people! tut tut! yes i'm guilty of getting carried away with this! sorry! Anyway, thanks for your advice, thats really really helpful! We dont know exactly where we are living yet, so I may have to figure it out when we are over, but I'm allowed to bring a bike with me on the plane, but i'm not sure whether to give one to my wife to carry over too (a crappy comuter bike) Cheers Mark Apparently, I'm a Nigerian scammer :( feel free to ignore any business propositions
real cindano wrote:nostoppingthis wrote:real cindano wrote:nostoppingthis wrote:@impunity raises a valid point here(i stand corrected), but studies have shown that boda boda men, hawawesmek kwa bedroom matters. The constant pressure from cycling on that ka-vein hapo in between (which controls alot of stuff when piloting) will have mama m.r.davites looking for alternative Which studies?? ..... Where is the link or who did the study?? .......... Don't try to lie........ and back it with "studies have shown" ............ Next time please say ............. In my uneducated and usually idiotic opinion ........... Instead of studies ............. Bitter individual real cindano...it is about frequency of cycling...when i come across a published paper on boda boda, i will sure present it here (problem is that publications in Africa are very limited despite members of sociey having the details) I refuse to lower myself to that level of insulting one another http://sportsmedicine.ab...s/a/BikingImpotence.htm
http://www.medicalnewsto....com/articles/62639.php
Read your first quote .............. Key words Boda boda men ........... Your links do not mention boda boda men .......... You extrapolated common facts ............ Lied saying studies show boda boda men ......... Kuwa serious ............ My point is still valid ............. Which studies show boda boda men ......... Wacha kujifanya ngombe unadhani nani atakukamua??.........
m.r.davies wrote:Djinn wrote:oh dear, I am just now reading the preceding posts...how did this post creep into the gutter?  Seriously people! tut tut! yes i'm guilty of getting carried away with this! sorry! Anyway, thanks for your advice, thats really really helpful! We dont know exactly where we are living yet, so I may have to figure it out when we are over, but I'm allowed to bring a bike with me on the plane, but i'm not sure whether to give one to my wife to carry over too (a crappy comuter bike) Cheers Mark i think this confirms the guy ain't from Brito after all! (or maybe you're just European, but not British)
Apple Bees wrote:m.r.davies wrote:Djinn wrote:oh dear, I am just now reading the preceding posts...how did this post creep into the gutter?  Seriously people! tut tut! yes i'm guilty of getting carried away with this! sorry! Anyway, thanks for your advice, thats really really helpful! We dont know exactly where we are living yet, so I may have to figure it out when we are over, but I'm allowed to bring a bike with me on the plane, but i'm not sure whether to give one to my wife to carry over too (a crappy comuter bike) Cheers Mark i think this confirms the guy ain't from Brito after all! (or maybe you're just European, but not British) why? Apparently, I'm a Nigerian scammer :( feel free to ignore any business propositions
mozenrat wrote:Mwafrika31 wrote:Seeders wrote:inferiority complex galore. the man is asking a question. whether he is reddish-purple, yellowish-green or an oga don't matter. reverse racism. unless he asks you to lend him your bike... @ seeders I'm lowering my dignity just to respond to you. Its impossible for an African to be racist. If a criminal steals your tv and you take it back, are you also guilty of theft? Your psychotic statement has mortified me & exposed a deep fissure of undiagnosed dementia in you. Mwafrika.. It is entirely possible for an African to be a racist. Ask me. For the longest time, I'm ashamed to say, I was one.. Couldn't stand being in the same room with, let alone talk to, a white person or an Indian... Especially after visiting the Ghana Slave castles... but dude, I've learnt that just like with the PEV proponents, I was wrong.. there are only bad people (Rain-bugger, Hitler, our MPigs etc) and good people. I will concede, however, that a lot of whites do think they're superior. Notwithstanding the fact that I've beaten every one of the ones I've encountered in my areas of expertise. @mozenrat Think about it, when you have righteous indignation in response to being mistreated, your sentiments and reaction cannot be racist. Racism implies initiative in creating offense, in other words a reaction to evil is not tantamount to that evil. Which is why if a cop shoots and kills a thug it is not murder, but if a thug kills his victim, it is murder. What you need to know is that those people do hate us, Indians mercilessly hate us and I've met many abroad who contemptiously derided me. One would not serve me in a computer store. Why they hate us is not because of us, but because of the evil that lurks in each and every one of them. Keep your resentment and don't feel guilty about it.
Mwafrika31 wrote: @mozenrat Think about it, when you have righteous indignation in response to being mistreated, your sentiments and reaction cannot be racist. Racism implies initiative in creating offense, in other words a reaction to evil is not tantamount to that evil. Which is why if a cop shoots and kills a thug it is not murder, but if a thug kills his victim, it is murder. What you need to know is that those people do hate us, Indians mercilessly hate us and I've met many abroad who contemptiously derided me. One would not serve me in a computer store. Why they hate us is not because of us, but because of the evil that lurks in each and every one of them. Keep your resentment and don't feel guilty about it.
Mozenrat - what you have done in letting go and leading a positive life is the right thing. Dont let anyone make you stoop so low as to hate them. If you have to, ignore them but dont use as strong emotion as hate on anyone who does not deserve the amount of effort and energy it comes with.... use that energy for more positive, fulfilling, peaceful living. Otherwise, you will become bitter and hateful to everyone else around you and you will never be able to fully enjoy your life. Life is too short to spend it on hate, bitterness, anger and vengeance. Enjoy every day of your life and this you can only do if you let go of such negative feelings and embrace positive attitude. Live the positive life that you have been leading, its the right thing to do.
cycling to work on your own?