wazua Wed, Mar 18, 2026

10 Pages«<678910>
Safaricom results-what's your take?
stockyt
#71 Posted : Tuesday, April 28, 2009 8:48:00 PM

@Pablo,if what you say about mpesa is true,then MJ should expect proper grilling at his first shareholder agm bec it rather smells of underhand vodafone exploitation. if anything they are the ones should be paying safcon for testing the 'invention'. At any rate i just dont see any major cost of operating mpesa.
novestor
#72 Posted : Wednesday, April 29, 2009 8:48:00 AM

They usually announce their results at the same time with vodafone UK and use the same language,i guess the same auditors. Last year results came 29th May 2008. My take; Vodafone UK will decide how to play this one,MJs hands are tied,but Vodafone is actually showing Kenyans some madharau here and there like snatching M-Pesa and forcing safcom use its proceeds to buy equipment and expertise from/through Vodafone itself. Share seems to be picking up

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#73 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 8:26:00 AM

Ati,vodafone should pay safaricom for 'testing the invention'... LOL... get serious... even if they 'paid' safcon,the bottomline is that safcon licenses M-Pesa from vodafone.

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
jerry
#74 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 1:13:00 PM

@VVS. May be you can remind us the ownership structure in Safcom. I'll sell all my Safcom shares at current rates.

Ecs 11.2 Give portions to seven,yes to eight,for you do not know what disaster may come upon the land.
The opposite of courage is not cowardice, it's conformity.
#75 Posted : Saturday, May 02, 2009 6:13:00 PM

Vodafone (not PLC but thru another 'offshore' entity) = 35%
mobitelea (moi,biwott,wako & thieves) = 5% (thru the offshore entity)
Public (foreign + local) traded on NSE = 25%
GoK = 35%

Greedy when others are fearful,Very fearful when others are greedy - to paraphrase WB
njamba
#76 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 7:56:00 AM

media briefing tomorrow at 7.30am meaning 10% rule will be waived tomorrow
mozenrat
#77 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 9:36:00 AM

Mobitelea is not a shareholder of Safaricom.... It owns shares in Vodafone Kenya (a private company) which in turns owns shares in Safaricom... I know you'll rain hell on me lakini fact remains,thieves or not,you have no say in the shareholding of a private company (Vodafone Kenya)...period!
fullmwejoyo
#78 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 9:56:00 AM

I had some argument with an informed team and it looks like we should expect something unusual.........watch out
novestor
#79 Posted : Wednesday, May 20, 2009 11:00:00 AM

Vodafone UK gives a 6%(results out today as per prediction below) dividend yield despite fall in profits,their policy on dividend:
1. Increase shareholder gains,currently pay 60% of profit payout. This amounts to a 6% dividend yield against share price.

So if vodafone is influential in safaricom dividend policy,expect a dividend of at least 13bil* .6= 7.8bill payout,per share 0.195 cents per share.
Disclaimer,i am no guru

Learn something new everyday
Learn Something New Every Day!
#80 Posted : Saturday, November 25, 2023 10:14:35 PM

I wonder where most of these heads went

KQ ABP 4.26
10 Pages«<678910>