wazua Tue, Jul 22, 2025

9 Pages«<6789>
Pinch me hard. Is this still Kenya?
#141 Posted : Thursday, August 16, 2018 4:32:47 PM

livie
#142 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 7:21:34 PM

By law we are required to leave at least 6 meters way leave from the center of the river, but in our case, we have left over 10 meters. We also have gone ahead and reinforced the river bank with Gabions. - Sterling Partners, Riverpoint Development.
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#143 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 9:17:49 PM

Tajmall was to be demolished tomorrow

Some social media commentator bets it won't happen. Ni vitisho and the whole green sany project was a gimmick
#144 Posted : Wednesday, August 29, 2018 10:26:53 PM

Some social media commentator bets it won't happen. Ni vitisho and the whole green sany project was a gimmick

Suny was on location in Langata today.

"If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?"
livie
#145 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 9:42:40 AM

Suny was on location in Langata today.

"If a tree falls in a forest and no one is around to hear it, does it make a sound?"

What part of langata?
If you are going to be thinking only one thing, you might as well be thinking big. -Donald J . Trump
#146 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 11:19:48 AM

livie wrote:

By law we are required to leave at least 6 meters way leave from the center of the river, but in our case, we have left over 10 meters. We also have gone ahead and reinforced the river bank with Gabions. - Sterling Partners, Riverpoint Development.

Is the 6m supposed to be from the center of the river or from highest water mark? What if the river is 20m wide do they mean they will build 4m inside the river?
#147 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 11:34:16 AM

livie wrote:

Is the 6m supposed to be from the center of the river or from highest water mark? What if the river is 20m wide do they mean they will build 4m inside the river?

Aki some questions are funny.Ati 4 meters in the river.

Hi @Hardwood.
#148 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 11:49:12 AM

livie wrote:

That's a hard one 😂
#149 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 12:24:51 PM

livie wrote:

Aki some questions are funny.Ati 4 meters in the river.

Hi @Hardwood.

Hehe. That was their argument. Anyway riparian zone is defined here:

Also nairobians would be having walks, joggings, fishing and picnics in the riparian zones if they weren't grabbed.

#150 Posted : Thursday, August 30, 2018 12:52:40 PM

livie wrote:

Aki some questions are funny. Ati 4 meters in the river.

Hi @Hardwood.

Hehe. That was their argument. Anyway riparian zone is defined here:

Also nairobians would be having walks, joggings, fishing and picnics in the riparian zones if they weren't grabbed.

@hardwood, I am glad to see you woke up from sycophancy slumber. Your concerns should not only include riparian but also public lands.
#151 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 11:06:15 AM

Ohuru hataki mchezo...illegally imported cars crushed. Cartels have no where to hide.

#152 Posted : Monday, September 03, 2018 7:33:32 PM

Taj mall imeanguka ama bado
Tokyo
#153 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 4:18:15 AM

Haiwezi anguka
work to prosper
#154 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 8:48:32 AM

I'm wondering what will happen after the mall is brought down. The road is already built anyway.....mpango ni gani? Or is it to leave an ugly slab in its place akin to the Kileleshwa Petrol Station?
#155 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 9:13:24 AM

I'm wondering what will happen after the mall is brought down. The road is already built anyway... mpango ni gani? Or is it to leave an ugly slab in its place akin to the Kileleshwa Petrol Station?

@simonkabz you are so annoying. Who says that was the end of road building or correction. Mpango is to correct the wrongs done... Look at the mess below:
#156 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 9:41:05 AM

I'm wondering what will happen after the mall is brought down. The road is already built anyway... mpango ni gani? Or is it to leave an ugly slab in its place akin to the Kileleshwa Petrol Station?

@simonkabz you are so annoying. Who says that was the end of road building or correction. Mpango is to correct the wrongs done... Look at the mess below:

I shared that image ages ago, right here.

Nimeuliza swali, jibu swali. Na kununa ni hali ya maisha, nuna kabisa.

#157 Posted : Tuesday, September 04, 2018 11:56:09 AM

I shared that image ages ago, right here.

Nimeuliza swali, jibu swali. Na kununa ni hali ya maisha, nuna kabisa.

The road is INCOMPLETE, the service lane at Taj mall is missing
cd04
#158 Posted : Saturday, September 08, 2018 7:27:59 PM

I have never understood why people celebrate the demolition of buildings instead of taxing or taking over them... don't they see it as a loss to the collective? it's like killing a child who is a product of some bad sexual relation. Should the parents be punished - yes! I see people clapping when someone elses 1B goes down the drain instead of thinking... now this guy... tutafanya nini we profit from this thing?

instead of taxing or taking over them. = Legitimizing graft.

Promote impunitySad Sad Sad

No... it's waste... regardless of how you look at it! It's pitiful waste!

@Masukuma, you are over-valuing tangible things and under-valuing intangible things. The continued presence of these buildings on reparian land and road reserves is a visible sign of impunity to the masses, it is impretive they are brought down.

Their demolition is a great and lasting visual image to Kenyans of the futility of impunity and corruption. This has far great value to us as a country than a measly, Ill-gotten Ksh 1B here and there.

The truth is we cannot build a society with integrity, on a foundation that lacks integrity. All those things lacking integrity we built will have to go, be demolished to the ground and we start again. Entire suburbs like Zimmerman will have to be razed to the ground at some point, so a mall and there is peanuts.
deadpoet
#159 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2018 5:56:14 PM

I'm wondering what will happen after the mall is brought down. The road is already built anyway.....mpango ni gani? Or is it to leave an ugly slab in its place akin to the Kileleshwa Petrol Station?

I think @simonkabz is right. These demolitions are, for the most part, a capital destroying exercise. What was the point of destroying the kile station if there was no plan afterward? That was a business that had employees and generated GDP!

There are many other examples that don't really make sense. Methinks this whole 'Nairobi regeneration project' lacks real thinkers.
#160 Posted : Sunday, September 09, 2018 6:15:31 PM

Waititu spoke and Sany stopped.

When Waititu is done being Governor of Kiambu he will move to Nairobi and be elected Governor again.

This guy is powerful.